We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice restaurant, poor service at the reseption!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortville Guesthouse
Ranked #180 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our first impression about the place was really bad after the unfriendly service at the reseption; reseptionist was unkind, did not answer our questions properly and later sold us cupons for the internet for ridiculous overprice (next day there was a really helpful lady at the reseption who adviced us to buy wifi access at the coffeeshop next door and helped to book transportation to the airport).

Rooms were clean and nice though the bathroom smelled bad.

Best thing about this place is the rooftop restaurant! So much better food than at the restaurants in nearby Khaosan for the same price! And the views in the evening are beaufitul, peaceful athmosphere (nice but loud live acoustic music at weekend nights).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janne102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

A great place to stay, far enough away from the noise of Khoa San but close enough to enjoy the action. Less than five minutes walk to the Bars and stalls of Soi Rambrutti (so much better than the road). This place has a great bar on the roof with live music and decent food, and you can get proper draught beer not bottled beer. All in all a smashing gem of a place. I,ll be back there in August.

Room Tip: The Restuarant at the front of the building is excellent but it closes early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieron54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

have been their just recently, but only for dinner at the rooftop bar. so this review is only for the rooftop bar. its a nice spot near the famous kaosan road. but not as crowed. their have been many local people, which is always a good sign... very good price, food was pretty good. tom yum seefood... go for it. service is very nice, just a bit clumsy; they forgot one drink, but nothing you really could complain. they have live music from approx. 7pm till late. view to the west of the city. give it a try if you stay near kaosan. nice for couples as we were, or also for a groups.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nikolaus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Great Location&easy transport. I choose because it is near the chao praya river since this time I want to have tour to the palace and temples near the river. The transport to the palace is cheap. I go by taxi for 50 bath for 10 minutes(since it's very hot that day- 40c- even though it's 8 am). And when return I take the speed boat to Phra Atit pier for only 15 bath. It's only 5 minutes walk from pier to hotel and you can go to all the temples near the river from here. The room is simple but complete. It has hot/cold shower and toilet inside room and all room equipments you need (tv, Bed, bed side lamp,standing pole for cloths, small table). It has windows and elevator. Unique boutique style hotel. It's great for people who like simplicity with touch of etnic.

The bed is a bit hard and the hall way is lack of ventilation. So it's very hot when I was there with 40 c temperature. Better if the window near emergency stair are open so it bring some air flow to hall way. The receptionist area is very hot too. As South Asian people (and I stay there for about 45 minutes waiting for my departure time), I knew it was too much. Poor front desk personells, they only have standing fan for them. It's better if there is aircon too since the internet corner & waiting bench are also in this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HulupiBhadranti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights there. The room was very small, but nice and clean. The staff was friendly, but not too eager to help. Very nice rooftop bar and restaurant. About 5-10 Minutes walk to Khaosan Road, but not so crowded, which was nice. Be careful, people around who try to trick you into these "sightseeing tours" with a Tuktuk that end up at a tailor's factory.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KesroMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Close to Khao San Rd. (5Min on foot), but far enough to be quiet, close to boat/ferry pier (3-4min on foot) with easy access to the the Old Bangkok, the temples, Chinatown.
If going to Siam Sq., Silom, Sukhumvit - need to take taxi / tuk tuk.
Room was cleaned every day (with fresh towels & drinking water), helpful & friendly staff. It was also a bit small, with little room for our stuff (backpack & bags).
Design is minimalistic (which is ok) but be aware of the concrete floor that gives an overall cold impression of the room.
Anyway, great stay & easily recommended.

Room Tip: Try choosing one of the bigger rooms if you don't travel light - to make sure there's enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franky4Figz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I was very excited to return to Fortville again during this recent trip to Bangkok. The rooms are still the same and there is even a roof top bar that opens up in the evening and served great food. RPO coffee is still the best espresso I can find in the area.
The changes? The staff has changed and does not feel as friendly as when I first visited. Also, during my previous trip, I left a bag of random belongs in the baggage storage room. Everything was safe and fine last time, but I was not so lucky this time. A pair of jeans was taken out of my stored bag. It wasn't a huge deal except that it was the warmest pants that I had during my trip and was unable to explore freezing Seoul, KR during a 10+ hour layover.
Sadly, this will be the last time I choose to stay at Fortville.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adagio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#246 of 891 in Bangkok
218 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#334 of 891 in Bangkok
248 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#143 of 891 in Bangkok
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 891 in Bangkok
1,352 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#39 of 742 in Bangkok
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortville Guesthouse

Address: 9 Phrasumen Rd. | Pom Phrasumen , Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortville Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortville Guesthouse is a reasonably priced boutique guesthouse. It is the first and the only one in Thailand with a “FORT” designed. Not only the exterior is different, also the interior is charming.With a “FORT” theme, we concentrate on our guests’ safety as our number 1 priority since the fortress represents security and protection. We provide CCTV, 3 Emergency Fire exits (including the main stair), smoking detectors, fire alarm system, and fire extinguishers on every corner of each floor. With us, guests can be sure that they will be safe in the arm of Fortville.According to the research on our targeted guests’ demand, Fortville Guesthouse provides you Standard Double, Superior Double, Superior Twin, and Deluxe Balcony with in-room facilities such as LCD TV with in-house satellite, double layers curtain, double glasses window (for noise pollution), comfortable bed and mattress, water heater, refrigerator (Deluxe Balcony Only), and more. All the rooms are simply designed to offer you private comfort with heartwarming hospitality.That is not it. To kiss your butt, we also provide some more to excite and comfort you such as, Boutique Elevator, Luggage Storage Room, Safe Deposit Boxes, Canal Bank Garden, and Roof-Top Restaurant. Moreover, you can stay in touch with your families and friends by using our WIFI anywhere in the building.With all these, we are sure that you cannot find one like us in Thailand.Just come and Feel It Yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortville Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing