We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel near Ko San Road”
Review of Green House BKK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green House BKK
Ranked #62 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Bangkok
1 review
“the best hotel near Ko San Road”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place is great! room is 490 bat cold as F air con, need to bundle up haha, Free fast internet , staff is really helpful and kind, Food amazing and i have strayed almost every place in or near Ko San and this one i keep coming back to, Travel booking center is covenant , ask for ma man Sahar at the travel booking desk and he will hook you up! Happy Travels in the land of smiles:D

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    167
    127
    56
    63
See reviews for
23
165
104
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights at this hostel after hanging out here last time we were in Bangkok.

They have doubled in size since then and we stayed in the section that they took over from a hostel next door, which doesn't look like the pictures on the website and are much more hostel like.

We were really pleased with our stay, three of the four receptionists were lovely. The fourth must have taken unhappy pills! The other three were constantly smiling and making us feel welcome.

The room was small and basic, but it was exactly what we paid for (after finding 50% off online - absolute bargain) and the bathrooms were clean and had toilet paper but no soap. The beds were comfy and we had ac. The wifi worked well in the room. Given the price we paid, it was amazing value for money!

The restaurant is slightly more expensive but the waiters are sweet, attentive and helpful and the food is good. This is down a quieter street and the bar has not succumbed to the 241's, the buckets or live/loud music, the nearby bars have this covered meaning it can be empty at night. The location for a base you can't fault.

The one thing missing at this hostel is a chill out area. There is a room on the back with a pool table and a tv that plays HBO movies (where the bakery used to be) but the tables and chairs make it feel like you can't relax here which means the hostel loses its social vibe. It looks like the computers have also been removed, instead putting them where the tour operator sits...I don't know if you are allowed to use them as we used our phones on wifi. I've heard/seen other people mention this and the owners want to make money from the restaurant and it would certainly suggest this but given the competition around the area I fear they will lose customers this way.

Overall an excellent stay for the price we paid, we just chose to socialise elsewhere!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taking-a-year-off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadir Z, Front Office Manager at Green House BKK, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Customers,

Thank you so much for sharing this review . We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And I really apologize for one of my reception staff that had an impolite behave.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back Green House Bangkok in the next time.
Have a great day,

Best Regards,
NATTHIDA KLUMJAIBOON ( NATT)
Front Office Manager at Green House Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hostel was a great find and a great place to stay. The rooms are cheap compared to many other hostels in Bangkok, however, they are clean and comfortable. The hostel is only a couple of minutes walk from Khaosan Road and it's a little quieter than actually staying on Khaosan Road, meaning you're likely to get a much better nights sleep. The staff at the information desk are friendly and helpful and more than happy to answer any questions you have and give you advice about the city. The food in the restaurant is lovely, and guests of the hostel get a small discount as an added bonus. If you're looking for somewhere firnedly and cheap in the heart of Bangkok then I would highly recommend Greenhouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiad, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've traveled through Asia for 8 months, and every time I was in Bangkok I chose to stay at this hostel.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and very welcoming, the staff is always so nice and smiley.
The hostel is located right in the heart of the city, but in a more quiet zone, so you can enjoy the kaosan-road's loud parties and bars with just a 2 minutes walk.
Highly recommended for backpackers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've been in bangkok more then 5 times so far, if you look for a relatively cheap and clean place to stay in kaosanroad area that's the place for you (especially if you are a backpacker) ... is getting a bit more expensive every year but i've seen the big renovation they done in the past few years...it worth a stop here

Room Tip: first floor you have less stairs to do but is more noisy as is closer to the street...further up you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71LND25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My daughter just traveled for 1 month through Vietnam, Cambodia, and Thailand, she stayed at this hostel on her last night, before her flight she asked if she could store her Backpack in a locker, they told her they were full, and said a back room was safe, when she returned later that day it was gone!! her camera was in the bag with all the photos she took on her first overseas trip, and all her souvenirs, clothes etc etc, there was nothing she could do, as her flight was in a few hours......the girls at the front desk said somebody maybe took by mistake, possible but probably not!, so be very careful with this hostel, this is a scam in other parts of Asia, your bag disappears just before you are due to fly out!.....make sure your bags are locked to something if you can't get a locker, as you can tell Dad is furious about this!

Shane.... Australia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank shane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadir Z, Front Office Manager at Green House BKK, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Miss Shane,
Firstly , I am really apologize for the situation that happen with your daughter. I am not sure where your daughter put the bags. As our policy if our locker was full and customers really want to keep the bag with us. We will have only public area to put .
We will always suggest that the guest should keep important things with you because it is public area . I know it can not compare about your feeling and your value stuff that has been lose . But we are really apologize again for what happen.

Best Regards,
NATTHIDA KLUMJAIBOON ( NATT )
Front Office Manager at Green House Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights. This place is all you need for a basic accommodation with no flares. The guesthouse had tasty food (more expensive then street food, but good quality and tasty). The room was clean and smelled nice. The double bed and pillows were quite comfortable as well. This is a good place to stay if your looking for budget ( we got a.c. And a double bed for 440 baht, just over 14 usd) but your not willing to stay somewhere that looks scary or smells bad. If this place isn't nice enough, check out some of the boutique places nearby that will run you between 600-1500 baht per night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#48 of 641 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House Hostel
Green House Hostel
#627 of 1,193 in Bangkok
113 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#89 of 1,193 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#93 of 1,193 in Bangkok
52 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#34 of 641 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#44 of 641 in Bangkok
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House BKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House BKK

Property: Green House BKK
Address: 84 Rambuttri st | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green House BKK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREEN HOUSE is a guest house and restaurant next to the world famous Khao San Road. Conveniently located close to a local landmark, the Viengtai Hotel on Soi Rambuttri, the 80-room guest house is open to all nationalities and offers clean, functional budget accommodation with a wide range of options of rooms including single, double, twin and triple fan or air-conditioned rooms and dorm rooms with en suite bathrooms or shared facilities. GREEN HOUSE offers one of the best restaurants in the area. A full international menu with great middle-eastern and Thai food is washed down with a full wine list, a well stocked bar including cocktails and a good range of cold beers! Now with Free Wi-Fi!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Green House BKK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Bkk Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing