We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food but quite noisy”
Review of Green House BKK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green House BKK
Ranked #50 of 732 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

i am staying in green house bkk every year and it is good to see improvement, the rooms are becoming more clean and hotel is bigger and bigger, but you need to be prepared for noisy street below during your night,
they have one of the best restaurant in the area

Room Tip: try to ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

After looking around to find a new place to stay we found the Green House at the perfect spot, close to everything and offering different kinds of accommodations, storrage, a good restaurant with terrace, a movie room with AC in the back...
We picked a private room, share bathroom with fan. Well Bangkok can be hot so if you cannot support the heat, pick one with AC you will feel better. The window room was large, a comfortable bed, with a good fan, towels and soap, clean as was the share bathroom to. The WiFi is included but the connection can be hectical, I mean on and off most of the time. You can also use it for free in the restaurant.
In the average of Bangkok, for the price you pay this place is good. And you know there is so many choices and prices around, you don't need to reserve, you just shop for what is the best for your own convenience.. That's Bangkok! It change....and not at the base.

Room Tip: The street is north and parallele to Khoa San Road. From the bank on Rambuttri corner, you make a le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while travelling so knew the area which is good not too busy like khosan road but on arrival the lady at reception was soooo rude she wouldnt look up from her phone and grunted at us we went to our room which we prebooked and paid for a triple however it was two singles (we booked a bouble bed plus 1) so they brought the extra matress up but the room was so small there was no room for it so the grumpy woman came up and said put it down with the foot of the matress in the shower room so i complained and said no way...she couldnt have cared less but showed us a triple room (3singles) and said we could have this but a shared bathroom we agreed but she wasnt happy..we went and had food elsewere but decided we was disgusted so decided to leave (my friend was jetlagged) we went to check out knowing we would loose our money but she refused to give us our deposit back after an argument and explaining we havent damaged anything she reluctantly gave us it back...horrible member or staff (others were pleasant) but deffo wouldnt reccomend.




ne

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank SunandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place is great! room is 490 bat cold as F air con, need to bundle up haha, Free fast internet , staff is really helpful and kind, Food amazing and i have strayed almost every place in or near Ko San and this one i keep coming back to, Travel booking center is covenant , ask for ma man Sahar at the travel booking desk and he will hook you up! Happy Travels in the land of smiles:D

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights at this hostel after hanging out here last time we were in Bangkok.

They have doubled in size since then and we stayed in the section that they took over from a hostel next door, which doesn't look like the pictures on the website and are much more hostel like.

We were really pleased with our stay, three of the four receptionists were lovely. The fourth must have taken unhappy pills! The other three were constantly smiling and making us feel welcome.

The room was small and basic, but it was exactly what we paid for (after finding 50% off online - absolute bargain) and the bathrooms were clean and had toilet paper but no soap. The beds were comfy and we had ac. The wifi worked well in the room. Given the price we paid, it was amazing value for money!

The restaurant is slightly more expensive but the waiters are sweet, attentive and helpful and the food is good. This is down a quieter street and the bar has not succumbed to the 241's, the buckets or live/loud music, the nearby bars have this covered meaning it can be empty at night. The location for a base you can't fault.

The one thing missing at this hostel is a chill out area. There is a room on the back with a pool table and a tv that plays HBO movies (where the bakery used to be) but the tables and chairs make it feel like you can't relax here which means the hostel loses its social vibe. It looks like the computers have also been removed, instead putting them where the tour operator sits...I don't know if you are allowed to use them as we used our phones on wifi. I've heard/seen other people mention this and the owners want to make money from the restaurant and it would certainly suggest this but given the competition around the area I fear they will lose customers this way.

Overall an excellent stay for the price we paid, we just chose to socialise elsewhere!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Taking-a-year-off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadir Z, Front Office Manager at Green House BKK, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Customers,

Thank you so much for sharing this review . We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And I really apologize for one of my reception staff that had an impolite behave.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back Green House Bangkok in the next time.
Have a great day,

Best Regards,
NATTHIDA KLUMJAIBOON ( NATT)
Front Office Manager at Green House Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hostel was a great find and a great place to stay. The rooms are cheap compared to many other hostels in Bangkok, however, they are clean and comfortable. The hostel is only a couple of minutes walk from Khaosan Road and it's a little quieter than actually staying on Khaosan Road, meaning you're likely to get a much better nights sleep. The staff at the information desk are friendly and helpful and more than happy to answer any questions you have and give you advice about the city. The food in the restaurant is lovely, and guests of the hostel get a small discount as an added bonus. If you're looking for somewhere firnedly and cheap in the heart of Bangkok then I would highly recommend Greenhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've traveled through Asia for 8 months, and every time I was in Bangkok I chose to stay at this hostel.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and very welcoming, the staff is always so nice and smiley.
The hostel is located right in the heart of the city, but in a more quiet zone, so you can enjoy the kaosan-road's loud parties and bars with just a 2 minutes walk.
Highly recommended for backpackers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
New Road Guest House
New Road Guest House
#95 of 732 in Bangkok
255 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Bovorn Khaosan
Baan Bovorn Khaosan
#334 of 732 in Bangkok
37 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#54 of 732 in Bangkok
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluefin Guesthouse
#155 of 732 in Bangkok
35 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#162 of 732 in Bangkok
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House BKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House BKK

Address: 84 Rambuttri st | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green House BKK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREEN HOUSE is a guest house and restaurant next to the world famous Khao San Road. Conveniently located close to a local landmark, the Viengtai Hotel on Soi Rambuttri, the 80-room guest house is open to all nationalities and offers clean, functional budget accommodation with a wide range of options of rooms including single, double, twin and triple fan or air-conditioned rooms and dorm rooms with en suite bathrooms or shared facilities. GREEN HOUSE offers one of the best restaurants in the area. A full international menu with great middle-eastern and Thai food is washed down with a full wine list, a well stocked bar including cocktails and a good range of cold beers! Now with Free Wi-Fi!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Green House BKK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Bkk Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing