We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but in great location”
Review of Green House BKK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green House BKK
Ranked #60 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic but in great location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights whist in Bangkok.

We got a private room, which was very basic. A small square room with two beds and and window! But the room did have ac.

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, so we were able to sleep well here.

The location of the hotel is excellent, if you want to be close to the Koh San road. As the hotel is located just behind the main road.

I wasn't kept awake by noise at night, like some of the other reviewers have said but maybe that was luck on our part!

The WIFI wasn't good in the rooms, even though they have routers on every floor! But it worked well in the restaurant downstairs.

The restaurant was ok, serving Thai and Western food. They also offer a 10% discount on all food and drink if you are staying at the hotel which was a nice touch.

Overall, this is a good place to stay. It's clean and basic and in a great location. Most other hotels in the area are either expensive or really nasty!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    167
    127
    56
    63
See reviews for
23
165
104
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We didn't read great reviews about this place but at 6am in Bangkok you want to dump your stuff and sleep. We got the cheapest room which was four white walls and two beds, which is a little depressing but as I said you get what you pay for. Shared shower was clean, pretty good wifi connection, no noise disturbances and it a great location.

Main shocking point was the bugs we had in our beds which were small to medium sized bugs that were black and in our beds, when you squashed them they left blood red marks. We aren't sure if we were bitten by them or not.

I would either slash out and pay a little more or don't stay near Koh San road.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Confusedbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location snd also offers travel agency services which are great. Tom from the agency helped us arrange accommodation in our next destination. He also gave us great tips which saved us some money!!! We really recommend green house.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was really disappointed by how insanely loud the music is, especially when I realized it came from its own restaurant! I mean, who needs music blaring in a restaurant until the wee hours?!
I barely slept due to noise (even with earplugs), even though I paid for a nice AC room, and it was actually quite comfortable and clean. Service was ok, nothing special. Would not stay here again.
Super close to Kao San and the nearby Starbucks is nice.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay overlooking the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Warsaw
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

i am staying in green house bkk every year and it is good to see improvement, the rooms are becoming more clean and hotel is bigger and bigger, but you need to be prepared for noisy street below during your night,
they have one of the best restaurant in the area

Room Tip: try to ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After looking around to find a new place to stay we found the Green House at the perfect spot, close to everything and offering different kinds of accommodations, storrage, a good restaurant with terrace, a movie room with AC in the back...
We picked a private room, share bathroom with fan. Well Bangkok can be hot so if you cannot support the heat, pick one with AC you will feel better. The window room was large, a comfortable bed, with a good fan, towels and soap, clean as was the share bathroom to. The WiFi is included but the connection can be hectical, I mean on and off most of the time. You can also use it for free in the restaurant.
In the average of Bangkok, for the price you pay this place is good. And you know there is so many choices and prices around, you don't need to reserve, you just shop for what is the best for your own convenience.. That's Bangkok! It change....and not at the base.

Room Tip: The street is north and parallele to Khoa San Road. From the bank on Rambuttri corner, you make a le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kho Phangan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while travelling so knew the area which is good not too busy like khosan road but on arrival the lady at reception was soooo rude she wouldnt look up from her phone and grunted at us we went to our room which we prebooked and paid for a triple however it was two singles (we booked a bouble bed plus 1) so they brought the extra matress up but the room was so small there was no room for it so the grumpy woman came up and said put it down with the foot of the matress in the shower room so i complained and said no way...she couldnt have cared less but showed us a triple room (3singles) and said we could have this but a shared bathroom we agreed but she wasnt happy..we went and had food elsewere but decided we was disgusted so decided to leave (my friend was jetlagged) we went to check out knowing we would loose our money but she refused to give us our deposit back after an argument and explaining we havent damaged anything she reluctantly gave us it back...horrible member or staff (others were pleasant) but deffo wouldnt reccomend.




ne

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SunandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#47 of 641 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House Hostel
Green House Hostel
#570 of 1,194 in Bangkok
113 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#89 of 1,194 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#93 of 1,194 in Bangkok
52 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#34 of 641 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#44 of 641 in Bangkok
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House BKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House BKK

Property: Green House BKK
Address: 84 Rambuttri st | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green House BKK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREEN HOUSE is a guest house and restaurant next to the world famous Khao San Road. Conveniently located close to a local landmark, the Viengtai Hotel on Soi Rambuttri, the 80-room guest house is open to all nationalities and offers clean, functional budget accommodation with a wide range of options of rooms including single, double, twin and triple fan or air-conditioned rooms and dorm rooms with en suite bathrooms or shared facilities. GREEN HOUSE offers one of the best restaurants in the area. A full international menu with great middle-eastern and Thai food is washed down with a full wine list, a well stocked bar including cocktails and a good range of cold beers! Now with Free Wi-Fi!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Green House BKK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Bkk Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing