We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place - beats any hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 733 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Had a wonderful time staying at Focal Local. Karan welcomed us warmly and was genuinely interested in ensuring we got the most out of Bangkok. He had lots of ideas and suggestions that one wouldn't necessarily find in a guide book. The location is great - in a local, non-touristy part of Bangkok with authentic kitchens to eat from outside. A great place to experience the local vibe! It is just a quick tuk-tuk ride to the Sky train or river boat (tuk tuk is compliments of Focal Local) and you can be in the main tourist spots within 30min. The rooms were neat, clean and spacious with interesting themes. Breakfasts are great - Thai style and filling. Hats off to Karan - he provides super-friendly service, and goes beyond the call of duty. Will definitely go back there if we're in Bangkok again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thanks so much for your review. It's good to hear that you had a great time in Bangkok, even though it rained a lot. Your enjoyable stay has been drving Focal Local to our genuine goal :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Arriving after a long flight we got to the hotel early morning to be greeted by Karen (owner) who did everything and more to make us feel welcome. The hotel is in a part of Bangkok i'd not been to but Karen was always on hand to help providing information and local tuk tuk rides to get to the river or the sky train. The hotel has a great feeling to it and you get real Thai hospitality from Karen and his family (his mum cooked us an amazing Thai breakfast even after getting up late!!) I would recommend this hotel to everyone it is still close to the center and is close to the sky train and the river. Thank you for our stay Karen - you made it a perfect start to our trip

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixonnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Thank you very much for your review. I wish you could stay longer and try more different Thai dishes for breakfast :) Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Thailand. You're always welcome at Focal Local...All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a gem! This is a great place to stay for independent travelers or those who want to get away from the Khao San or Silom (Business) area. In a local neighborhood with a fun morning market. Love being away from the touristy side of Bangkok but also just a ten minute ride to the sky train or boat landings (30-40 baht trip). Around 60 baht from Silom at night by taxi. The hotel organizes (and pays) for your trip to the sky train or boat landing so you just need to pay on your way back.

Most of all the hospitality here is amazing! Wonderful service and just so friendly. The breakfasts were great - western or Thai with freshly squeezed juice, coffee and fruit.

Beautiful rooms that are so stylish and well done! Loved it so much!

It is located in a local neighborhood so it may be a bit noisy at times, but where in Bangkok is quiet???

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank you very much for writing a review for Focal Local. It's great with details you've input. This really helps other travellers. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I was staying in Focal Local for 3 nights,in here I feel very safe,warm people and very helpful.Karan did really good job with breakfast and sharing the knowledge about Thailand and his father very friendly also gave lots of information here and there.This thing we might could not find it in 5 star hotel ,but in Focal Local I could get all from comfort and adventure being not local people

Room Tip: I like the pandan scent in the room,so I don't have tip about the room,perhaps need head cover i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you so much for your review Tarti. It's great to see that you enjoyed local life style here like local park and even a motor bike taxi :) wish you all the best, see you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Focal Local is a great experience and easy place to stay and enjoy Bangkok. You will experience the real Bangkok in this area with friendly smiling faces and helpful people. Access to area attractions and shopping are just a few minutes away and a free Tuk Tuk ride to the Sky Train that will take you close to almost anywhere in town. Any questions were answered by Karan and his staff about trips and tours and best times to go as well as scheduled and researched. The breakfast provided is amazing and some of the best food and a store are right across the street as well. Also with a short walk there are many more restaurants and access to stores and taxi's. You can not beat the massages right next door to the Focal Local and they are a great way to end the day. A welcome place for families or couples and safe for children. We will not stay anywhere else when we come back and look forward to returning. Dont miss out by not staying here!

Ryan and Kami S.
Guam

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjscalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you very much for a review. It's a great encouragement that keeps Focal Local moving forward. Thanks for being such an easy and lovely guests. Your stay also makes Focal Local colourful. Hope to see you all again...Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We are a family with 2 children who had the pleasure of being Karan's guests at Focal Local for 3 nights in July 2011. Karan took excellent care of us: cooking a delicious breakfast each morning, giving us advice and directions about places to visit in the city, preparing the takeout food we bought when we were too tired to go out to eat, and arranging relaxing thai massages for us right next door!

We stayed in 2 rooms right next to each other - Sea Breeze and Living Nature. The rooms were meticulously clean, very tastefully decorated, and quite restful. There is also a nice reading nook on the 2nd floor where you can relax and read on a bench next to a small waterfall around which Karan places candles in the evenings. A very pleasant atmosphere!

We would definitely stay at Focal Local when we return to Bangkok!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you so much for a review. We really appreciate hearing that you love Focal Local. We're glad to be a part of memorable moments of your family trip in Thailand. Hope you all have been fully charged your battery and get ready to work :) Take a good care and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Having checked out other places prior to staying at Focal Local for 4 nights, I am glad I took the decision to stay here for a multitude of reasons which can be summed up below:
a) The care and attention which Karan gives to his guests makes this a very special place indeed b) The home cooked breakfast is sumptuous and delicious and Karan accommodated my request for veg options as well. c) The The rooms are immaculate, brightly done, very clean and for the prices being charged, it's a real bargain. d) This place is a short distance away from the BTS Skytrain and the Central Pier which makes the rest of the city very accessible and easy to reach. If you are looking for a cosy, quite and homely place to stay in bangkok, Focal Local is hands down one of the best places to stay and I would definitely stay here in my next trip as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you so much for a review. I couldn't stop smiling while reading your review :D
We've also learned something useful from you like new approach of tricky people you've seen at tourist areas. I'll definitely pass on this to other guests. We'll look forward to indulging your stay again. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 733 in Bangkok
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Home Bangkok
#6 of 733 in Bangkok
383 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 733 in Bangkok
464 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#8 of 733 in Bangkok
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £43 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing