We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a little slice of heaven in the heart of a local Bangkok neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience a little slice of heaven in the heart of a local Bangkok neighborhood”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My daughters and I stayed here for 3 nights arriving very late the first night. Our host, Karan, met us at the door with a warm smile and cup of tea. Just what we needed after a long journey. The rooms are spotlessly clean and artfully decorated; the breakfasts were delicious and prepared by Karan himself(!) your stay includes a free tuk-tuk ride each day to the destination of your choice. My daughter had mistakenly left her carry-on bag in the plane in Hong Kong and Karan worked with Cathay Pacific to have it flown to Bangkok and delivered to the hotel. We returned to find the bag in our room with a sweet note! Focal Local feels like home in the middle of the huge bustling city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thanks a lot, It's very nice to hear from you. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again....Kob-Kun-Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
240
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

another boutique choice in BKK in a wonderful house just over the chao praya. cosy, very convenient to reach via krung thonburi subway station and in a quiet residential neighbourhood. the lovely decorated rooms offer everything u need though they´re not very spacious. the staff is super super friendly and the really fresh and homemade thai breakfast is simply gorgeous. banks, pharmacies, eateries, seven11 are all next by and to be reached within a 5 minutes walk. wifi & a free internet terminal make your online life easy.

what they could change: a safebox in every room might be a useful addition. the walls are also a bit thin if your neighbour next room starts snoring. the windows could be a bit more soundproof too, since the neighbourhood gets up at approx. 7am.

all together a splendid & highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellin_nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you very much for your review and the valuable suggestions. We'll definitely take them into account and keep everything getting better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed only one night in this B&B and the room was very clean and really stylish, delicious Thai breakfast and amazing hosts who left a strong positive impression. The hotel is located in a residential and more authentic neighborhood, with good access to the Central Pier on the Chao Praya river and to the Skytrain (40Bath tuk-tuk ride) and with many true Thai food-establishments within walking distance. Strongly recommended to anyone looking for a pleasant stay and an authentic experience while in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogdanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you very much. It's good to hear that you had a good time at Focal Local and enjoyed the local experience that the area got to offer. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Focal Local made my first solo trip convenient and relaxing. After a whole day of going around the city, going back to this B&B felt like I was coming back to my own home in Bangkok. The place is clean, artfully decorated and very cozy. It's a bit far from the main tourist places, but the free tuktuk ride to the BTS sky train or the river ferry makes going around easy. Plus, the neighborhood allows you to interact and live with the locals.

Karan is so very helpful! He helped me out plan my trips and recommended places to go. When I had problems with phone roaming, he offered his own phone so i can make calls/texts. He's also an excellent cook! I loved the Thai breakfasts he prepared. I also enjoyed our morning chats about food, scholarships, living abroad and on your own, taking risks, and life in general. Karan is a hotel manager, tour guide, chef and counselor rolled into one!

Thank you so much for making my Bangkok trip a great one!

Room Tip: Simply Gorgeous room really is one. Ideal for solo women travellers. Enough space to haul all the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vmco_mnlph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you very much. I hope you got lots of good memories about Bangkok and definitely Focal Local :) Also thanks for the seveniour from Philippines. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights (November 2011) at the beginning and two nights (December) at the end of our 5 weeks’ vacation. We decided to extend our stay in Vietnam and Karan went out of his way to make to accommodate our change of plans. On our request, he contacted our optometrist (Bangkok has very affordable prescription lenses and frames) to explain to her that we would only collect our reading glasses at the end of our trip. On our return, he arranged and received us in the very early hours of the morning. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in an authentic Bangkok B&B. The rooms were really very clean; the bed very comfortable, the breakfast is typically Thai with their personal touch and interpretation. My portion was far too much for me and I often felt like asking for a take away to eat later - it was so delicious! We had 4 different breakfasts during our stay, which introduced us to the Thai way of eating breakfast. The chicken fried rice was my favorite. The fruit platter at the end is a very nice touch; the service from the kitchen staff is great.
As this is not our first visit to Bangkok, we did not need to be close to the main attractions. We looked for something different away from the huzzle and buzzle from Bangkok. We loved his funky website and appreciate his focus on giving every guest his best service and attention. Karan pays for tuk tuk (trip is around 10 min) to the sky train and the business card with the Hotel address will assist in getting back to the hotel. It is a bit too far to walk. On your first arrival, it would be advisable to arrange a taxi (900 baht) to take you to the hotel. We will most definitely be back here next year!

Room Tip: 4 rooms on the Higher floors are more private. Beautiful mini quart yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandsOn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for choosing Focal Local and for your review here. we'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best to you and your Hands On :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in a really well run B&B away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The rooms were very clean and well decorated, the bed very comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was great. Karan really makes the place very special - he seemed to be a step ahead of us with planning. He would have tuk tuks and taxis waiting when we came down and when we were leaving he had arranged taxi pick-up at the right time without us asking.

The reason I only gave it a four star is the location. The hotel is a bit far from all the main attractions. The hotel pays for tuk tuk to the sky train one time a day. Once a the sky train, it took us 10 minutes via sky train to get to Saim Square, and it was a bit longer to the Sunday market and the other attractions. The riverfront attractions are very close. For us it was not a big issue on most nights, we did not mind the extra time getting from the B&B to the attractions around the city. And although the location is a little far, it was nice to come back to a peaceful area of town

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure to hear that even though we're not in the centre of Bangkok, but you still enjoyed the area with local touch away from hustle and bustle Bangkok. We look forward to seeing you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed in focal Local, in middle December for two days and we had a great time. the hotel is stylish, clean and the location is great. don't miss the breakfast and don't leave Focal Local without trying the great massage next door. Karan, thank you for everything, we are expecting you in Greece.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you so much. We really appreciate being a part of your memorable holiday in Thailand. See you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,107 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 641 in Bangkok
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing