We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Comfortable Escape from Streets of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 707 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was led to Focal Local B&B by the reviews on Tripadvisor and it was everything, if not more, than advertised. It was my first trip to Bangkok and while the city was overwhelming at times, Karan and the staff continued to help me stumble through the adventure. From arranging tuk tuks and taxis, to writing down instructions and addresses in Thai for drivers, to helping us book our bus tickets out of the city, they helped at every chance with a smile. The Splash room had a very comfortable bed and was the perfect escape from the heat and chaos of the city. I haven't decided whether I like Bangkok or not, but if I do give it another try I will definitely stay at Focal Local.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando_DLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

We were recommended this guest house by a friend. We stayed 2 nights, our first night on arrival to Bangkok and our final night in the city after a trip to Koh Samed.

Situated in a local neighbourhood, it's a really nice building just down a lane with lots of small shops and people going about their daily lives. We stayed in two different rooms, the Splash and the Siam. Both rooms were fantastic; clean, very comfy with nice big beds and crispy white sheets. They have plenty of light, with really good curtains to block out the light in the morning if required ;)

We wandered the streets in the vicinity one evening and found some amazing Tom Yum soup that I will never forget, so I highly recommend checking out the local restaurants down the road Karan provides a map with these marked on them. He is super helpful and great for a chat, going that extra mile to help with whatever it is you need.

After zipping around the city for the day exploring, we enjoyed returning to Focal Local by Tuk Tuk; we crossed the river to the Thonburi side and saw plenty of things we had not seen before en route. Karan had provided a key for us to get in late at night, so we could come back whenever we pleased without feeling like we were disturbing anyone.

I would definitely go back to stay there and I highly recommend this guesthouse. I will be passing on info about this place to my friends when they are thinking of traveling to Bangkok.

Finn

Room Tip: I recommend the 'Siam' or 'Splash' room, both very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you so much. It's our pleasure having you as the guests here. I'm glad you enjoyed staying in this hidden side of Bangkok. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Lets face it: Its a B&B. Or let's call it hostel, but it's a fantastic one!
Rooms are clean, beds are big enough and comfy, it's full equipped with nice quiet AC, fridge, warm water, WIFI and nice deco. Best: the host. He knows everything, arranges everything and cares for everything. You will get tuktuks arranged and for free once a day, maps printed out, reservations made, tours arranged or he even has better ideas how to explore by yourself. Location is a bit off the typical tourist spots, but still next to the river, so stil fine. Neibourhood is very local, can get a bit noisy at times. Just one important note: DON'T walk from the skytrainstation with your luggage. Doesn't look far, but with a heavy bag in BKK heat it will feel far! I had a great time...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thanks so much for your review, especially at the point about the distance from the skytrain. I've mentioned this on our official websites. However, lots of guests still got it wrong :D glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again next time....Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Our third visit to Bangkok and finally we found this charming, small, comfy B&B to enjoy in a very different part of town. Karan, our host, was so helpful and welcoming. He cooked us a delicious breakfast each morning and always helped us to find a tuk tuk or taxi to take us where we were heading. The decor is tasteful and interesting and shows what a man of style Karan is. I look forward to spending more time at Focal Local in the future. Also really recommend the local Thai restaurants and massage spas. They were among the best we have tried. We strolled around the Sois and canal one evening and enjoyed the local neighborhood vibe. Overall a great experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Retro room. At back of hotel so less street noise. Firm but comfy bed. Small tv. Smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_Lam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you very much. We're so glad to make your 3rd time Bangkok visit different and memorable. We'll look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My daughters and I stayed here for 3 nights arriving very late the first night. Our host, Karan, met us at the door with a warm smile and cup of tea. Just what we needed after a long journey. The rooms are spotlessly clean and artfully decorated; the breakfasts were delicious and prepared by Karan himself(!) your stay includes a free tuk-tuk ride each day to the destination of your choice. My daughter had mistakenly left her carry-on bag in the plane in Hong Kong and Karan worked with Cathay Pacific to have it flown to Bangkok and delivered to the hotel. We returned to find the bag in our room with a sweet note! Focal Local feels like home in the middle of the huge bustling city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahDuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thanks a lot, It's very nice to hear from you. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again....Kob-Kun-Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

another boutique choice in BKK in a wonderful house just over the chao praya. cosy, very convenient to reach via krung thonburi subway station and in a quiet residential neighbourhood. the lovely decorated rooms offer everything u need though they´re not very spacious. the staff is super super friendly and the really fresh and homemade thai breakfast is simply gorgeous. banks, pharmacies, eateries, seven11 are all next by and to be reached within a 5 minutes walk. wifi & a free internet terminal make your online life easy.

what they could change: a safebox in every room might be a useful addition. the walls are also a bit thin if your neighbour next room starts snoring. the windows could be a bit more soundproof too, since the neighbourhood gets up at approx. 7am.

all together a splendid & highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellin_nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review and the valuable suggestions. We'll definitely take them into account and keep everything getting better :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed only one night in this B&B and the room was very clean and really stylish, delicious Thai breakfast and amazing hosts who left a strong positive impression. The hotel is located in a residential and more authentic neighborhood, with good access to the Central Pier on the Chao Praya river and to the Skytrain (40Bath tuk-tuk ride) and with many true Thai food-establishments within walking distance. Strongly recommended to anyone looking for a pleasant stay and an authentic experience while in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogdanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you very much. It's good to hear that you had a good time at Focal Local and enjoyed the local experience that the area got to offer. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,463 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 883 in Bangkok
8,445 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 707 in Bangkok
556 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 707 in Bangkok
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 707 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £42 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing