We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first visit to Bangkok, and we are so glad that we booked at the Focal Local. I wont write a lot but all i will say is that i couldnt recommend it too much! admittedly i have nothing to compare it to, but this great little guesthouse accomodated our every need and we really couldnt of asked for anymore after our exhausting trip from heathrow. Karan the proprietor was incredibly helpful and the free tuk-tuk ride a day is an added incentive. It was great to have a clean and friendly place to stay and the breakfast was great :) thank you Karan, we may stop over again after we have been through Laos,cambodia and Vietnam.

Honestly book your stay in this guest house! Especially if you arent interested in the overcrowded tourist spots. There are some lovely little street food sellers locally as well, recommended by Karan :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local to be your first stop. We really appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay here and also little charm of local lives in this area. We'll look forward to seeing you again...Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

This little Bed and Breakfast is perfect! Talk about hospitality! Karan and his staff are extremely helpful. He really helped us plan our day and gave us tips here and there. The breakfast is awesome as well. Also, you can't beat the daily complimentary tuk-tuk ride.
The location is not very centralized, although it is not that far away from the BTS station. Thank you Focal Local for making our stay enjoyable!

Room Tip: Clean rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you very much. We're glad to be a part of your memorable trip in Thailand. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Focal local is a lovely little B&B off the main drag and tourist trail, but within easy reach to the Skytrain and River ferries and free local tuk tuk is provided daily. Like others I decided to book after reading all the rave reviews here and truly wasn't disappointed! I stayed in 'Simply Gorgeous' and it was just lovely decorated in the style of an English B&B, making me feel very much at home! The accommodation was spotlessly clean, comfortable and inviting, with a unique decor. Karan is a wonderful host doing his utmost to ensure you get the most from your stay. Both he and his staff will answer any of your questions and help in any way they can. Oh and he cooks a mean Thai breakfast! If I return to Bangkok I will definitely be staying with Karan and co again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you so much. It's our great appreciation knowing that you enjoyed your stay here. We'll look forward to seeing you again....Take a good care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Focal Local for 3 nights, March 31st-April 3rd, when we visited Bangkok and we absolutely loved it! Karan, the owner, was super helpful and kind. His breakfast was amazing…wish I could cook like that. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. I highly recommend this B&B.

It is a little away from the center of Bangkok but we didn’t have any problems getting around. Plus Karan provides a free tuk tuk to take you to the train or boat station/stop. We liked the fact that we were not in the center of the city. We will definitely stay there again if we go back to Bangkok.

Thank you everyone at Focal Local for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fan_ch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We'll keep it up and will look forward to seeing you again...All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Was very happy reading all the reviews on this so I went ahead made a reservation. It was truly a Bangkok's Best kept Secret !! Our flight got a mechanical cancellation so we had to push back our arrival date by 1 day and I emailed Karan and he took care of it with no problems. He arranged a transportation from the airport and we had no problem finding the driver, either.

Throughout our stay there, we were very happy with what we booked. 3 days 2 nights for THB4000 that included a transportation from the airport to the hotel, 2 hrs massage for 2 people, and one way transportation each time to the nearest sky train station.

The only draw back is that it location is rather far from the train station so coming back from the train station you have to either take a taxi or a tuktuk. But all in all we were very satisfied with this little B&B ... Karan & Soon are very good with accommodating their guests... a very obvious 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: You must prepay 10% of the entire stay through pay-pal before bookings can be confirmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you so much. It's very nice to hear from you and to know that you loved our little B&B and this hidden part of Bangkok. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were collected from the airport by a driver organsed by Karan at Focal Local, an easy start to the holiday. The accomodation was great couldnt be faulted. The advice was incredibly helpfull, would reccomend to anyone and are going back there on our way back to uk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We'll look forward to welcoming you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent two lovely nights at Focal Local and would absolutely recommend it. We've spent a lot of time in Thailand over the years; Focal Local exceeded our expectations on all accounts. After a long journey to Bangkok from Krabi, we were greeted with smiles and delicious iced tea. The room was beautifully decorated and had a rainfall shower (with a shower curtain!), very soft sheets with duvet, minifridge and TV, and a great AC unit. The bed in particularly was a nice feature after a few weeks in a much less comfortable setup in southern Thailand.

Karan is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and is clearly gifted in his ability to accommodate guests. Breakfast was great as well.

Focal Local is located in the Thonburi area, a bit off the beaten path but easily accessible by taxi, tuktuk, sky train, and ferry. We used all four over the three days we were there and did not find that the location was a problem. My husband is accustomed to staying in the Khaosan Road area and even he was happy to be in the more residential area where Focal Local is located. There are numerous food carts just up the street where we found delicious options.

Overall, Focal Local offers far more comfort and style than other hotels we've encountered in Thailand. Karan and his staff really seal the deal with their hospitality. We fully intend to return to Focal Local on our next trip to Bangkok and enthusiastically recommend it to our fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ColoradoGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you very much. Your reveiw would definitelt helps other travellers get the pictures of Focal Local. It's our great appreciation being a little part to complete your trip in Thailand. We'll look forward to welcoming you again...All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,472 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 885 in Bangkok
8,456 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 710 in Bangkok
558 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 710 in Bangkok
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £42 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing