We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in a bustling city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“oasis in a bustling city”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at here for 3 night and the beginning of a 8week trip and ended with 2 nights before my flight home. It really is a wonderful place to stay. Great rooms with different themes, spotless, awesome shower. It is a short ride to the BTS station or sawthorn water taxis. I like using the motorbike taxis really quick and inexpensive. Everyone at the Focal local is smiling and helpful from the check in with the cool drink, to the terrific breakfasts, to the great advice on sites and ways to get around Bangkok. U should stay here! Thanks to Karan and all the friendly staff I'll see you again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulkvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It's our pleasure accomodating you at the begining and the end of your trip in Thailand. We'll look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
240
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My partner and I stayed at Focal Local for three nights from the 11th to the 14th of May 2012. Everything about our stay was perfect and looking back there is nothing we would change.

Despite being slightly outside the heart of the city centre it was only five minute (hotel subsidised) tuc-tuc to the passenger ferry terminal (Sawthorn Bridge) and sky train station. The benefit of being out of the centre in a more residential area is that it is very quiet at night. There are also lots of good eating places within five minutes of the hotel for dinner.

Our bedroom was spotless and like the rest of the hotel was finished to a very high standard. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious and rated amongst some of the best food we tasted in Bangkok. Karan and his staff were extremely friendly and attentive and were always on hand to offer help and advice.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok and if we go back any-time soon we will definitely try and stay there

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you so much. Your enjoyable stay is a great reward for us. we'll retain our good works and will look forward to accommodating you again in the future...Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Focal Local was a wonderful place to start our trip. My husband and I currently live in Vietnam. Asia is not known for their comfortable beds. It was such a treat to sleep in Focal Local's bed. It was even better when we took a shower. It had great water pressure, which is a luxury to us. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They wrote out all our destinations in Thai in case we got lost. They really did try to go above and beyond. Also, it was really nice to have a key to open the main entrance so you can come and go as late as you want.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much. We're so happy to know that the directions in Thai we wrote, has worked well with you and many other guests :D We'll look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Focal Local was an excellent place to stay. It has such a cute homey character and amazingly helpful and friendly staff. This B & B was just what we needed when arriving in a huge unknown city. We really appeciated Karan's advice each day, he pretty much planned our day with us each morning! We thoroughly enjoyed our tasty Thai breakfast each morning too! Loved the themed rooms, we felt very relaxed at the end of a busy day. Thanks again Focal Local, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaanandJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Our little B&B will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit...Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Focal Local is a relatively small B&B in the Thonburi District of Bangkok, out of the way of tourists, but quite well placed if you wish to get a glimpse of the Thai way of life. It's owner and manager, Karan is a young Thai, who is quite willing to take an active part in making your stay a remarkable one: he can arrange more or less anyhing from fetching a tuk-tuk for you or booking restaurants to getting a doctor. He also prepares the breakfast each morning, each morning something different, and invariably something specifically Thai.
The rooms are each furnished individually with a different style and they all offer a comfortable stay. You have all the basics of an excellent stay, you'll get to appreciate the airco, hot water and Wi-Fi after a few day's stay in Thailand. Do not expect luxury, this is a B&B after all, but the warm and personal service of Karan and his team make up for the missing spa, pool or whatever you'd fancy in an international hotel chain. We'd go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psz_trademarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you so much. We are glad to hear that Focal Local made your stay enjoyable. Even though we do not have a pool or luxury spa :D Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Focal Local has definitely got to be the highlight of my Bangkok trip. Located at Thonburi, it is very close to the well connected Sathorn Bridge from where you can take a ferry out to Bangkok’s main attractions. But more than convenience, the feel of this quaint Bed and Breakfast was what won me over and all credit goes to the owner Karan and his wonderful staff. The rooms, although smaller than usual, have all facilities you need for a pleasant stay. Each room has a different theme, creatively designed by the very talented Karan. We stayed in two rooms, Living Nature and Simply Gorgeous, and I must say both the rooms have left me aesthetically inspired! The complimentary breakfast is literally a feast to both the eyes and tongue as Karan conjures up the most beautifully presented breakfast of a main dish with juice, fruits and coffee/tea. I am definitely going to stay here when I visit Bangkok again!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelluster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll look forward to welcoming you again...Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Focal Local fills an important niche in places to stay: it allows you to escape the sterility and impersonal experience of hotels and brings the comfort, service, and sense of familiarity of bed & breakfasts without the premium. And really, after our days slogging through 35 degree heat in Bangkok, coming back to Focal Local each evening was like nothing short of coming home.

Let me get one thing out of the way. You can book this place just for Karan, Focal Local's owner, manager, host, and resident breakfast chef. Karan has tremendous insight into attractions, transport, safety, and other logistical issues you'd encounter in Bangkok. He would inquire about our plans and offer up recommendations where helpful. He was prompt in e-mail and phone communication, and we even called him from a taxi when needing directions to a church we were visiting. Even Karan's father would check in on us and share his tips on getting around the city. This kind of service is not widely available in places to stay, yet is of tremendous value--for if you're on limited time in Bangkok, making decisions on your own can be costly.

The place itself is located in the south-west part of the city, in an area well outside backpacker and touristy haunts and red light districts. It is, however, still abuzz with the scooters, bright lights, and street food that lend Bangkok its enthusiastic character. Stroll down to the boulevard at sunrise and see street vendors rolling in to set up shop, and before long you're surrounded with local fruit, steaming cakes, and viands spicy, sweet, and savory and whose names you've never heard before and may never be able to remember. Further down the street is a sweeping view of the main river of the Chao Phraya (within walking distance, but far enough for tuk tuk), which can be enjoyed by candlelit dinner at the open-air, modern, and well-served Princess Terrace restaurant (get there early).

Inside Focal Local, the rooms sport a fun decor. The beds are plush and the rooms cool perfectly in the air conditioning. What struck me was the ubiquitous, sweet scent of pandan in the rooms and how spotlessly clean, white, and well-lit everything was. There are reviews of scooters outside awakening guests at night, but I personally didn't notice; I'd be too spent from the day's activities not to be passed out. (By the way, Karan can remove the pandan scent if it's not your thing.)

One consideration from other reviews is the overall location of Focal Local. I did find that at night, I may have had to hail two or three taxis before one would take me back; however, I didn't feel inconvenienced, let alone feel it necessary to move to Siam Square or Khao San Road. Bangkok, particularly with the effiicent BTS railway, is very easy to get around. The only critique I can think of is that the plants in front of the inn can obstruct the view of oncoming traffic, so they can be a slight hazard when crossing the street. Of course though, this isn't a dealbreaker.

But at Focal Local's rates, this is an incredible value.

Congratulations to you, your family, and staff on getting number one!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate acommodating you and your lovely family. You're always welcome at our little B&B for your next visit....Take a good care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,106 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 641 in Bangkok
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing