We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best for budget trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 631 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best for budget trip”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The place is in the residential area of Bangkok. You can easily find local food and living necessities. The room is not big, but just about the right size for two. TV set, fridge, hair dryer are all there. The hosts are very friendly and speak good English. Don't miss the wonderful breakfast! Transportation is a little bit tricky. But with the host will get a Tuk Tuk for you once a day to the ferry or the BTS station, which make the whole thing a lot easier. If you are looking for some luxury hotel experience, this may not be a good place for you. But if you are a budget traveller traveling alone or in couple, this is one of the best choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the lane on the second floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review here. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
239
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was our first trip to bangkok and we chose to stay at focal local because of the great reviews we found of them online. and suffice to say, we had no regrets staying there. as soon as we arrived, we were made to feel at home by the great service and friendly attitudes of the staff. the rooms were cozy and comfortable and gave us the feeling of a home away from home. i have slept in many hotel rooms and often have problems falling asleep but not here. the rooms felt so homely that i dozed off as soon as my head touched the pillow. i really recommend staying here if you are in bangkok. really great place to stay. the breakfast was awesome too, we missed the first day's breakfast as we got up late. but our second morning, we loved it. tasted of home cooking, made with care and love. i wouldn't mind coming back here just for r & r. don't have to go anywhere in the city but just stay in the hotel. thanks karan and the people working at focal local for such an awesome experience! all the best and keep it up!! hope to come back again someday if you have room for me!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad to be a part of your memorable first Bangkok visit and really appreciate hearing that you loved our homy B&B. You're most welcome for your next holiday here. Take a good care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for four nights at the end of May and really enjoyed this place. Karan is an excellent host, speaks really good English and was full of usefull helpful information. The breskfasts were superb and rooms have everything one needs. It's easy to get around on the Tuk Tuks
A great place to have a true Bangkok experience and we will sure to be back sometime :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having as our quests here. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again on your next Bangkok trip. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Focal Local for 2nights, and chose the Chic room. As mentioned earlier by other guests, the room was small yet beautifully arranged. You get all the possible amenities, like a mini fridge, TV, hair dryer in the room. Apart from the wifi, there is also a common computer in the reception which can be used to browing. The rooms and bathrooms are small, but then that is what a Bed and Breakfast is supposed to be!
The highlight of Focal Local is Karan's attention to minute details. He has chits ready with his address in Thai so that people dont face problems in locating the BnB. He also has maps with nearby places to eat. As a perfect guest, he keeps cautioning his guests not to fall for any scams by giving them the approx cost for taxi fares. He suggested us the river cruise to spend the evening and we were delighted to experience it.
The only thing I would like to highlight here for other guests is the location of Focal Local. It is about 1.5km from the Krung Thon Buri BTS station. We must admit that when the taxi driver drove us to this place through the narrow bylanes, we were unsure of our decision to stay here. Since we were new to Bangkok, we were not aware of the fact that it is close the main road - Charoennakorn road. But once we reached the place, we knew we were at safe hands.
For breakfast, you can opt for the Thai food, or go in for bread butter and Jam.

Kudos to Karan and his team, keep up the great work!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chic room which was small but cute !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you very much for spending time writing a review for us. We're glad that you loved our little homey Bed&Breakfast. We'll definitely keep up good works and will look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

After looking up over a dozen places in Bangkok to stay during our short 2 night stay, we finally settled on Focal Local, thanks to TripAdvisor and all the reviews.
We were in Thailand for a short 5 day trip for our wedding anniversary, and were travelling with our 2 and a half year old daughter.

Every interaction with Focal Local and their staff was perfect and we could not have asked for more. The B&B is small, clean, neat and very conveniently located near the central pier. It was easy to find considering we listened to Karans recommendation to carry a printed map of the location.

My wife and we were very happy to stay at Focal Local considering the experience was completely different from staying at some large hotel chain, we felt at home at Focal Local. We stayed in 'Splash' the room and bath was very clean and our room got plenty of natural light, my daughter loved the little open space and sitting area on the first floor.

I have made 3 trips to Thailand previously, however this was the first time I had Thai food for breakfast and all thanks to Focal Local, their breakfast was just perfect, including the glass of fresh juice and the Thai desert.

I would not want to end this review without thanking Karan and the entire staff, they made our stay special.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipdoesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Having your lovely family stay with us made Focal Local lively. We'll look forward to seeing you again for your 4th time in Thailand. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I had a great stay at Focal Local. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. I stayed in the Chic room, which was more than fine. The only disadvantage to this room is that since it's on the ground floor, you get to hear everyone who comes down for breakfast in the morning even if you want to sleep in. I am an early riser so it didn't bother me and who would want to skip that great breakfast anyway?! It's not that close to public transportation, but the B&B offer a complimentary tuk tuk ride to either the skytrain or the ferry, and the address of the hotel in Thai so it is easier for you to find your way back. I had an early bus to Cambodia in the morning so they packed me a little breakfast brown bag to take with me and arranged a taxi to come pick me up in the morning! Such a wonderful and homey touch. Would definitely stay here if I came back here.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in or are a light sleeper, request a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. We're happy to here that you enjoyed your stay and loved to homey touch at Focal Local. This little home will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I came to Focal Local at the end of May to stay, so this review is totally overdue.

The B&B isn't located next to a main road or BTS, so it may be a little quiet. However, there are several restaurants within walking distance, a 7-Eleven and many little old-school salons. The environment is very laid-back and relaxed, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I had the Chic room and my parents had Yesteryears.

Chic: deep wine red and grey themed, with a huge and comfortable bed. The bathroom may appear dark at first but I got used to it. They provided shampoo and bath gel. Everything was clean and neat, but you have to shut the curtains as the window opens into the back of another house.

Yesteryears: Deep yellow theme with many retro looking items, toy robots and this room gets a bonus point over Chic for having a full length mirror. Just the same as Chic, bath gel and shampoo are provided.

My experience was 95%, the last 5% being this cat that lives outside Chic room window and refused to stop meowing! It woke me up just when my dream was getting good, and that happened quite a few times in one sleep. Other than that, everything was great.

As some have mentioned before, Karan's an amazing host and chef! His cooking is excellent and the amount served was generous! My mum is a vegetarian and he replaced all the meat and seafood in his dishes with tofu.

On the last day of our stay, he brought me upstairs to show me the little garden he had designed on the 2nd floor! [See the pictures!]

I would definitely recommend this to people who seek a comfortable and reasonably priced location. The breakfast alone is worth the amount you pay and the trouble of finding your way back after going sightseeing/shopping!

Room Tip: Ask Karan to recommend a room! When I mentioned that my mum had weak knees, he recommended the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammyhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you very much for writing a review for us. We're glad to hear that you and your parents had a good time at Focal Local. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,033 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 631 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
W Home Bangkok
#3 of 631 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 631 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing