We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect B and B”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of November. It was just what we wanted. Small, friendly, personal and clean. Karan and all the other staff we saw were all very friendly and helpful. Karan told us where we could get a meal when we arrived quite late the first night. It was 5 mins walk away and was a local eating place. We had the best Thai meal from any restaurant we had when in Bangkok there. It was not fancy or posh but the food was delicious!
At Focal Local we had the Thai breakfasts which were lovely. The room we stayed in was individual. They are all decorated differently. We stayed in Siamese which is at the front. We liked being able to hear the local way of life outside and it did not stop us sleeping well. One night there was a huge thunderstorm which had us looking out the window at 2am! The ladies over the road outside the shop started cooking every morning about 6am for the locals to buy their breakfast. It was all fascinating. We will be going back in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annoee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you very much. We're so happy to know that you had a good time at Focal Local and enjoyed surrounding local atmosphere. We'll look forward to seeing you back in 2013. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    60
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
243
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed in Focal Local 3 nights beginning of December 2012. We can truly recommend this place! The staff is really friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable and very tastefully decorated, excellent breakfast, perfect service. The B&B is located in a residential area of Bangkok and very well communicated; guests get a free tuc-tuc ride per day to the nearest ferry terminal or skytrain station. Karan gave us lots of useful recommendations about what to see and how to move in Bangkok and he friendly answered all our questions about thai culture. A really nice Bed & Breakfast with an authentic local taste!

Bea & Holger, December 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Focal Local as well as your travelling in Bangkok. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and I am so glad I chose this place! This is the perfect B&B to go if you:

1. Want to stay away from the usual tourist traps and wish to explore Bangkok a little more, than just the usual shopping, eating and massages

2. Want to experience local lifestyle. (There is a local morning market and temple nearby which I recommend that you visit. It's a good walk and there is a massage place 400m away offering 1 hr body massage for only 200 Baht)

3. Do not mind travelling that little bit more from the main town shopping area (You get a free tuk tuk ride from them in the morning to the nearest BTS skytrain station or pier. Upon returning, you just get your own tuk tuk or taxi from the skytrain station - it's easy to find one - and you're back right at the door steps of the B&B. In all, it takes about 25-20min).

4. Love rooms which are individually designed and decorated (My room - Splash - was cosy and very clean)

5. Want yummy breakfast to start off your day every morning

6. Like friendly staff who suggest places for you to visit and explain to you how to get there (cut down on your own research)

Hope the info helps! For solo travellers, the location may be away from the main city, but I felt safe travelling alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you so much. Your review helps other travellers to have mroe pictures of Focal Local. We really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We got to Bangkok flying in from Phuket and a terrible experience with our bed and breakfast there, so we were very skeptical walking in to Focal Local. Luckily, our fears were curbed immediately after we arrived. We were greeted by friendly staff that provided us with cool lemongrass water which was SO refreshing in the heat of Bangkok.

Karan, our go-to man at the hotel was absolutely fantastic. He was warm and nice and extremely helpful. He helped us get familiarized with the hectic city of Bangkok and gave us directions. He also called us cabs that used a meter and were fairly priced, unlike other guesthouses we stayed at. The location is decent, although many taxi drivers will tell you "it's far." We paid about 500 baht to get to the airport including tolls, which I think was very reasonable. There is a 7-11 just up the road which is very convenient and there is a very cool riverfront mall called Asiatique about 10 minutes by taxi.

Focal Local also had an AMAZING breakfast. Hot coffee, cool water & delicious omelets/fried rice greeted us every morning. The breakfast was some of the best we had on our entire two week trip. Absolutely lovely.

The room had a great air conditioner, comfy bed and nice amenities. There were new bottles of water in the fridge every evening when we returned from tours or browsing the city. The laundry service was quick (same day) and very reasonably priced, compared to other guesthouses we dealt with around Thailand. Finally, Karan left us a nice note thanking us for our business and wishing us safe travels. It was something simple, but it sure was a nice touch.

Focal Local is absolutely what a Bed & Breakfast should be. It was customer-focused and truly a breath of fresh air at the end of our exhausting trip around Thailand. If we ever get back to Bangkok, Focal Local will be at the top of our list!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your friendly service and kind attitude.

Room Tip: We stayed in Siamese. It faces the road but other than an ambulance that went by (which will happen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Focal Local and for your review. It's our pleasure having you as our guests here. We appreciate being a little part of your memorable trip in Thailand and accomoodating you at the end of your trip. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

just perfekt if you really want to feel you are beeing in Bangkok. There are almost no tourist (apart from people living in the other few rooms). As already mentioned by others you get a daily tuk tuk to the skytrain, although its not far to walk, we did it twice. Everything is close by! Karan is most helpful with everything. Breakfast is very good, and I got a vegetarian everyday, which I apreciate a lot, thanks again to the team !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinaahimsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyr8603
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Quirky rooms. Individually styled. Nice and clean. Location is a little out of town, but close enough to not be a problem. The staff are great. So helpful and friendly. Delicious breakfast. Great value

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyr8603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure accommodating you here. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Have a safe journey :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a week ago and I honestly don't know how to start singing it's praises! This place was perfect for us in every single way.

To start, Karan, Sal and their team are the most wonderful hosts you could ask for. They are so friendly and helpful it makes navigating Bangkok a breeze. This was great for us since we have been traveling for a while and didn't have enough time to research and every day they helped us plan itineraries and transport. The day we arrived was early in the morning so we couldn't check in but they offered us toast and coffee and juice on the house before we started our day. Karan and Sal are genuinely very nice people that have your best interests at heart. This is the only place we would stay in Bangkok for this reason alone.

Regarding location, we thought it was great! You are away from the tourist areas which are often cheesy and have bad food and you get to stay in a local place where everyone is so friendly and the food down the street is amazing and inexpensive. They pay for one tuk tuk ride a day to the sky train or ferry and between these two modes of transportation getting around is a breeze.

The rooms are fantastic! We stayed in Yesteryears and Seabreeze and both were great and well decorated. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the bathrooms are completely spotless. We loved everything about the quirky decorations and the paintings of each themed room. They also have an excellent same day laundry service which was great!

I cannot think of one downside to this place! We will always stay here if we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikiandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for being our lovely guests. We'll look forward to seeing you again...Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,186 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 650 in Bangkok
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing