We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place in Bangkok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 644 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oosterhout, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really nice place in Bangkok!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We recommend this small hotel very much. This hotel is located in a very nice local area near the skytrain. Everything you want to see you can reach from here. We’ve just stayed here for one night during our last night, but when we come back to Bangkok we definitely come back here. The staff is really nice. They help you with everything, even printed our boarding passes, and the breakfast is great too! The rooms all have a different style and are very beautiful, nice and clean. The bathroom is very luxury!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad to be the last stop for you to rest before flying back home. Your review brings a great power to our team. Hope to see you again next time. Kon Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
241
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is a nice small place to stay - excellent if you are fed up with the faceless hotels.

Things I liked - friendly and helpful reception / owners; good tasty breakfast; clean and comfortable rooms; good wifi; computer for guest use in the 'lobby'; interesting neighbourhood with a variety of restaurants a short walk (10-20 mins) away; toilet off the lobby which you can use if you arrive early (before check in), or if you come back later after check out; one free tuk tuk ride per day; free welcome drink.

Things which could make it a 5 star - hot water with tea / coffee available in the lobby; the TV channels were rubbish -maybe have a DVD library for guests?

Things that they can't change, but you should be aware about - while in the evening and at night the road outside is quiet, in the morning 'rush hour' there is quite a lot of traffic which can be noisy. The neighbourhood was a plus point for me,but for some people it would be too local with not enough English speaking friendly places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I love the way you put clear plus side and the drawbacks. It helps other travellers to picture Focal Local and the area. Your recommendations are very important for us. All in all, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again. Cheers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this B&B based on its ranking and other reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. It is in a perfect location, just out of the city centre in an area with a less touristy feel but is still just a short tuk tuk or taxi ride away from all the major attractions.

Karan was very friendly and helpful, giving us a map, tips on places to eat and things to do. A free tuk tuk ride is also provided each day with your stay, Karan will flag it down and tell the driver where to take you. He also gave us a piece of paper with the address on the B&B in Thai; very handy for non English speaking taxi drivers, and even the ones who did speak English!

The rooms are fairly small but are clean, nicely decorated and seem fairly recently renovated. The air con worked well which is more than some other places on our travels. Free wi-fi is also provided as well as free use of their computer with Internet.

For breakfast there were 2 options: Thai breakfast (noodles with chicken which doesn't sound like breakfast but was very nice) or a more standard breakfast of toast and eggs. Tea and Orange juice were also good.

We stayed for 2 nights either side of a trip to Koh Samet and were looking forward to heading back to The Focal Local after our first visit!

One thing I would say, when I booked the room online I paid 900 baht for a taxi from the airport to the B&B (around £18) which I thought was good as it was about an hour away but the taxi back to the airport after our stay was less than half that price so might be better to arrive at the airport with the address and possibly a map with the location marked and jump in a taxi. You must ensure that they start the meter running though else they will make up a fare which could be a lot higher! This is the case whenever you get a taxi in Bangkok. Karan will advise you on things like this and will also call a taxi from the B&B and make sure the meter is on before you set off.

Thanks again to Karan for a pleasurable stay and we will definitely be staying at The Focal Local if we go back to Bangkok.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review with useful information for other travellers. It was nice accommodating you here. We'll look forward to welcoming you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I do not use this term lightly, this B and B is amazing. The hotel staff were just fantastic and the rooms were gorgeous. The bed was so clean and comfortable (which is not easy to find in south east asia) in a quiet location of Bangkok.The room was kept extremely clean, you can tell the staff take and enormous amount of pride in their guest house.
Reasonably central to most of the sights and areas, the guest house provided a complementary tuk tuk every morning to either the train station or to the pier for a river boat ride.
The breakfast was amazing, yet one morning we had to leave at 6:30am for a tour to the tiger temples. The hotel staff said unfortunately we would miss breakfast due to how early we were leaving... to our surprise we found a bag packed with sandwiches and orange juice on our bed that night with a note saying 'enjoy your trip to the tiger temple, we have packed breakfast for you'
I have never experienced such hospitality and comfort as I have at the Focal Local.
Thank you so much for making our stay so special!
Love from Jonathon and Lauren

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local and for your review here. It's our pleasure to accommodate you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Focal Local. Your compliment is valuable and it keeps us moving. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

There are about 5~6 rooms in focal local, small but very cleaning, and each room has a subject and name. There is a small garden on the 2nd floor. It looks very beautiful. It will provide 2~3 breakfast options for your select. Although it is less choice, but it is very delicious, especially the tea. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only one defect is the location is not very well, it's not convience, although the focal local will provide free tuk tuk one time each day. Anyway you can choose it to live.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We're glad to be a part of your holiday in Thailand :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Karan and the team at Focal Local go over and beyond to ensure ones stay is comfortable and memorable. It being our first time to Bangkok, staying at Focal Local was a gentle introduction to the bustling city as we felt that all of our questions were answered and advice was provided in the most friendly / helpful manner. When we had questions about exchanging money in preparation for our trip to Cambodia, Karan even went ahead and called various banks in the city to provide us the best advice as to which bank to attend and the hours of opening etc. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and all the little touches added up to a great stay; the elephant slippers in the room, friendly smiles, complimentary tuk-tuk and fresh, abundant breakfast with local tropical fruits. The location was away from the busy backpacking district and set into a soi where the locals live, allowing one to observe and appreciate the local culture. We would not hesitate to recommend Focal Local and hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local for your first Bangkok visit. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here. Your happiness is a great motivation for us. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We had a fabulous time at Focal Local. We stayed 2 nights in January 2013. Karan and his staff are so friendly and helpful - they gave us great recommendations for restaurants, thai massage, floating market, and all the logistics like how to get to the airport and grand palace, etc. Breakfast here was delicious. Nice, clean rooms. They really did think about every detail in creating a fantastic experience for travelers. Though the location is farther away like other reviews mention, we didn't even notice. We figured out how to walk to the Skytrain, which was maybe 10 minutes away and they get you a Tuk Tuk each day as well. Taxis in Bangkok are so cheap if you don't get ripped off so just book this B&B. It was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Chic room was great! Just a double bed and a bathroom - not much more space. I wish we could have se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you very much. It's our pleasure having you here. We're happy to know that even though we're not in the center of Bangkok, but you didn't find that is a problem. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,123 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 644 in Bangkok
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 644 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing