We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quiet gem of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Parry Sound, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The quiet gem of Bangkok”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our first foray to Asia together and we were so very happy with the staff and accommodations at Focal Local. We were away from the noisiest streets but close enough to walk where ever we wanted. The room we had at Focal Local was beautifully done and very clean and our staff was more than happy to help with all our questions. Our breakfast of chicken, fried vegetables and white rice was delicious and more than enough to fuel us along for the day of trekking we had planned. We liked Focal Local's proximity to markets, ferry taxi's and the different palaces. Every day we were given one free tuk tuk ride and that helped alot.
Our room was the Seabreeze room and we are excited to see what our next room will be when we return to focal local next week.
If you want to feel like your at a home away from home, try Focal Local.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothyhanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your valued review. We appreciate making you feel like home at Focal Local. We'll look forward to welcoming again when you're back in Bangkok. Have a safe journey :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    60
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
243
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are staying in and out of Focal Local 4 times in our 2 month stay in Thailand/Vietnam. The staff there are wonderful and helpful. Karan will help you with whatever you need to know. We especially liked that it was in a residential area and out of the tourist chaos of downtown. We stayed in the Sea Breeze room which was small but very cozy and clean. The breakfasts that are included are wonderful, Thai not traditional western breakfasts but very delicious. Usually rice with a meat/veggie dish and always fresh fruit for dessert.

Every day you get a free tuk-tuk ride to the river or skytrain. Both are very easy to navigate and fun to do. We took the local boat downtown to the Grand Palace and not the tourist boat, much cheaper, look for the orange flags on the boat. It was raining one day so we took the skytrain to the Siam and the MBK malls. Siam mall is like any other modern chain mall. MBK was fun and has a really big section that is like a flea market with a lot of tourist goods.

We would highly recommend staying at this B&B....try it you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celina910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for booking with us 4 times. It's our pleasure having you here and showing you the non-tourist part of Bangkok. Looking forward to seeing you back. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We, a family of four, stayed at this superb B&B Sept' 2012. 5 nights
Everything was perfect and above our expectations. Wonderful hosts. Spotlessly clean rooms and lobby. Great breakfasts.
Even though not centrally located very easy to get to the closest sky train. The management orders, on their account, a Tuk-Tuk ride, which makes it even easier. Also always willing to suggest local sites and help with the maps.
To summarize, excellent value for money, without compromising on service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and found that our location is not a problem getting around Bangkok. We're delighted to let you enjoy another side of Bangkok. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It was my first time to Bangkok and I had no idea where to stay, so based on the reviews on here, I booked 4 nights at the charming Focal Local.
I was picked up at the airport, which I must admit I don't think I organised, but it seems it was all part of the service.
Focal Local is located in, I suppose what would best be described as, a local surburban area. Its quite a way out of the busy touristy stuff. But that is not bad, as its nice and quiet. Plus the Skytrain is not far from the guesthouse and they will organise a compliementary tuk tuk to the station. If you prefer to walk, its about 10 minutes by foot.
On the Skytrain, its 7 stops to Siam and then another 3 or 4 to Nana and Asok.
The rooms (I was in Chic) are clean, spacious, the beds are comfy and the bathroom all you need. There is also a fridge, television and safe.
I must point out, I'm a solo traveller, but I reckon there is a more than enough room for 2 people.
Breakfast is normally Thai, however they will make scambled eggs on request.Tasty and a great start to the day.
Karan and the staff are friendly and only to willing to help. I had an early check out (4.30am) and a breakfast bag was prepared and left for me in my room the night before.
Focal Local is great value, all be it a little far out, but it does give you a feel of being local, which just adds to the experience.
When I got home, I received an email postcard from Karan and staff thanking me for staying. Nice personal touch.
Fantastic stay and I would have not hesitation in recommending Focal Local.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local for your first time in Bangkok. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed expereincing local lives and busy city lives at the same time. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a really cosy, cute bed&breakfast in an authentic part of Bangkok. Clean, cosy, very delicious typical Thai breakfast - new, exotic fruit every morning. And Karan the owner is really halpfull and kind. Quite a few interesting sight seeing around. We would definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alesa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having you here. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. A great experience for us first timer in Bangkok. Karan welcome us with a warm smiles and provide us with a simple map around the hotel that we can explore. Local restaurant, market, 7-elevens, massage places, guide address in Thai language for taxi or Tuktuk to get back at the hotel, all within walking distance of 15mins. Thai breakfast was great with fresh dragon fruit for desert. The staff and even the hotel owner go out and find us a Tuktuk for the daily complimentary TukTuk to get us to BTS station or River pier was just beyond our expectation. The room was clean and comfortable. Karan also suggested to us which shopping mall to go for shopping. The boat river ride was exciting to cruise along the Chao Phraya river and only cost us 15 Bhat per person. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. A great stay for us and definitely a recommended hotel to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reekoazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip in Bangkok as well as your stay at Focal Local. This little B&B will always welcome you for your next holiday in Thailand. Take a good care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerhaven, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Focal Local is the perfect places for travelers, like my husband and I, that like to get a local feel of the places we go and not be in the middle of crazy tourists! Everybody working at the Focal Local is so kind and helpful--I couldn't have been happier about them! One of my favorite meals of all of Thailand was on the street nearby--we had such a great time going around the streets and trying different food. The complementary Tuk Tuk was really nice to get to the Sky Train station on our way out, and I just liked the feel of staying at this bed and breakfast. It was too bad there was a crying baby nearby all night during one of our nights, but hey you can find that anywhere. Great value and unbeatable service!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review. It's a great encouragement for us. We're glad you had a good time here. I'm sorry about crying baby next door and thank you for your kind understanding. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 861 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 861 in Bangkok
8,189 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 650 in Bangkok
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing