We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights after coming back from Vietnam. This is a lovely thai guesthouse located within walking distance to the BTS (tuk tuk service is provided by the hotel). Rooms are spotlessly clean and you feel like being a local (breakfast is basically thai). Still the main asset is the friendly manager who will go out of his way to direct you and help you navigate around. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssafos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay here and felt like being a local. That's our core concept :D We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

we stayed there three times within 5 weeks. this b&b has 7 rooms, every room is different, very stylish and super clean. for the breakfast you can choose between western and thai. food was excellent. what this place really makes out are the people working there. karan and his team are very kind and helpful with everything. rooms streetside can be a little loud in the morning. if you can choose take a room at the backside. small familiar place with a lot of charme. Excellent price/performance ratio. this is for people who don't like mainstream. thanks a lot, was a great stay. nathan&simona

Room Tip: "rooms at the back are a bit more quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boni1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us 3 times during your trip. It's our pleasure having you here. You're always welcome here for your next holiday in Thailand. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

First off, Asok is great! Actually, all the staff was fantastic! The breakfasts are delicious (my wife and I had the Thai meals each day), and they will get you tea, coffee, and the fruit juice of the day.
The rooms are simple- we stayed in Splash, and it was very simple yet comfortable. They took care of the room each day, and everyday ensured our stay was pleasant. This hotel feels like it is down an alley, but it is off a busy side street.
The things that were most excellent about this place - and why you would want to stay, too - is:
1. Friendly and helpful staff
2. Location - you are around the Thai people and their everyday life, not in a 25 story hotel like you'd have back home. This IS Thailand.
3. Location again - a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride or 20 minute walk to either the BTS or the Water taxi. VERY convenient- no need to stay in downtown Bangkok.

We enjoyed it, and if you aren't expecting the Shangri-La, InterContinental, Hilton, or luxury hotel, you'll enjoy it too!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay in the Splash room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaGenester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed staying in our little B&B surrounded by local neighbours rather than big hotels in town. Hope you've gone back home with memorable experience. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very clean, quiet, and modern rooms. Hearty and tasty breakfasts cooked by Karan himself. Beautifully decorated place with a lovely sitting area on the 2nd floor (make sure to check it out if your room is on the ground floor). Interesting location in a non-touristy part of town. (Visiting the major sites by longboat required an extra cross-river boat hop, but this added to your overall experience of Bangkok.) A lot nearby including a great little massage place, markets, and local eateries. Above all, warm hospitality from the hosts and staff. Once we asked to borrow a knife after buying a large papaya from the market-instead, they offered to do it for us and had it sent to our room all neatly cut up and arranged on a plate with pick-forks. Thank you to Karan and his Dad and aunt, and all the staff at Focal Local for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeypapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having you and your family here. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed exploring Bangkok like locals. Hope you've arrived home with lots of memorable experiences. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Loved staying here :-)

Staff: the staff make this place! They are so helpful and willing to help you in any way!

Rooms: The rooms were nice and spacious. Large bed, hot shower, and AC!

Location: The Focal Local is pretty far away from downtown Bangkok. This wasn't a problem for us because we had a guide pick us up and drop us off. I think they give you a free tuk tuk ride to public transportation, so you can always use that. Also, we had a great time walking down the street visiting local massage places (1 hr for only $6) and wandering around!

Breakfast: Each morning we had a great breakfast! It includes coffee or tea, amazing juice, and your choice of a western or thai meal. I would def choose the thai breakfast every time!!! So delicious!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NextVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and found the location was not a problem. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It is one thing to say that the rooms at Focal Local were imaginatively decorated, the breakfast choices ample and delicious and the expert travel assistance readily available (all true!) but our stay was so much more. Focal Local was like being home. Karan, his Dad and his aunt and all staff truly cared for us during our recent 4 night stay. Smiles and help were always available in answer to our many questions. A birthday cake was prepared for my husband as a special surprise. Rooms were found for us when our flight home was cancelled due to poor USA weather. We loved the neighborhood location and found the commute to the river transportation or sky train to be a non-issue. This B&B is a first class operation. Congratulations Focal Local and thank you.

Room Tip: all outstanding- we stayed in 3- noise a non-issue with air conditioning running on low
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hovancsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you've arrived home well after unpleasant weather in the States. It's our pleasure having you all here. You made this little B&B lively. We'll look forward to seeing you again some day. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well, where do I start.. 
Karan, we are very thankful to you & your staff for making our stay in Bangkok a wonderful experience. Apologies for a late review though.
As usual, I booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews/rating & it was worth the research/reading!. Karan made our stay/travel in Bangkok very delightful & easy.
They serve breakfast every morning & that’s another “filling” experience in itself!. We were there for 3 days & enjoyed every bit of hospitality they could offer.
Karan/staff arrange a tuk tuk ride (one per day) to get you to either ferry/metro stations & it’s a good gesture, big value add
Make sure to ask Karan’s recommendations regarding sightseeing/ markets. We visited some of the places based on his suggestions & would have missed those if not him. So sit with him & plan you day trips.
It’s a small boutique/guesthouse, so you will get individual attention unlike a big hotel/chains. You will need this if you are a first timer or if you are travelling without any guide/group.
Highly recommended place & people, would definitely visit/stay next time in Bangkok.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, have a theme/color based
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shree81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's never too late, all reviews are important for us. Your enjoyable stay will keep us going. We're gald to be a part of your memorable trip in Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 885 in Bangkok
8,469 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 710 in Bangkok
559 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 710 in Bangkok
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £42 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing