We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Thai hospitality people fall in love with...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is the Thai hospitality people fall in love with...”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I traveled with my fiancé all over SEAsia- and when looking for places to stay in Bangkok, we were a little worried that this place wasn't in the "heart" of it all... We opted here though, for the price and the raving reviews.

The place is small enough and run by the owner himself and his parents- not outsourced. Due to this, he really does put his heart and soul into his work and is so unbelievably warm and hospitable- it truly is like staying with a friend. It's quiet- walkable to a small mall and little shops- They provide you a tuk-tuk ride once a day to either the river port or bts, I believe- although we just always went straight to the water taxi.

It is no giant hotel chain where you earn points and are treated with forced hospitality. It really is just a sweet little spot- truly in the "heart" of Bangkok. This experience is exactly why people fall in love with Thailand and its people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamies_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate knowing that you had a good time and felt like home at Focal Local. We'll do our best to keep it up. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
239
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Focal Local for 4 nights at the start of our trip and 1 night at the end. We had originally booked a room at a bigger hotel across the river, but we are SO glad that we ended up staying here instead (after reading the excellent reviews). This place certainly lives up to the hype. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - Karan responded promptly to our inquiries and made us feel very welcome, even over email! The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean (we stayed one night in the Yesteryears room and one night in the Siamese room), and the Thai breakfasts are amazing, always leaving us full well beyond lunch time. The wifi connection was also excellent.
As first-time travellers to Thailand we absolutely loved the location - a real Bangkok neighbourhood close enough to all the sights but out of the way of the touristy areas. We enjoyed strolling through the morning and evening markets in the local area and always felt very safe walking along the streets to come home at night. The free tuk tuk ride to the pier/train each day was also very handy.
We found that the map provided on Focal Local's website made it very easy for our taxi drivers to get us there - we had no trouble either of the two times we came by taxi from the airport.
Overall we had an amazing stay, and will certainly be back if ever we return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local instead of the big hotel. We're glad you were not disappointed and enjoyed your stay here. It's our pleasure being a part of your memorable holiday. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was so relieved to see this place, after a hectic morning in Bangkok it was exactly what I needed. The entire place is very cozy and quiet and the rooms thoughtfully decorated. It's located in a quiet alley in a part of Bangkok I would have normally skipped but would like to return to. The staff was extremely friendly and spoke great English, and supplied me with maps and directions to the local markets/shopping centers as well as anything else I asked about. I found my room to be very comfortable and slept well throughout the night. Breakfast here was delicious and one of the best I had on my trip!

One tip - be sure you are very thorough about getting directions or the address before you go to check in, my taxi drivers all had a very hard time finding it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeh50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local for your stay in Bangkok. We're really happy to know that you had a good time here and liked this part of Bangkok. Also thank you for the tip about getting the directions for taxi drivers, it will help other travellers. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are on our final day having stayed here just a couple of days but we could'nt have asked for a better place to stay. We arrived 2am and were greeted immediately with no fuss. Karan and his father Tom? both speak excellent English and were both extremely helpful and friendly. Being my first day ever in Thailand he gave us the information to confidently explore Bangkok by tuk tuk, ferry, boat, taxi and train. The thai breakfast is aroy mak (very tasty!) and cooked fresh. Karan even helped with having a shirt ironed before our night out. I would stay here again just because the staff are so welcoming helpful and friendly. 5 out of 5.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much. It's our pleasure having you here and knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. This little B&B will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived around midnight and were greeted at reception with tea and a smile. The front desk was fabulous about offering suggestions for places to visit, and areas to avoid. We felt like we were being wonderfully looked after at this guesthouse and are really glad we chose them as our guesthouse.

Room Tip: We were in Siamese room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad you were not disappointed and had a good time here. Hope you've arrived home with lots of good memories from this trip. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skofja Loka, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The managment and all another things like our Room "simply gorgeous"! Great people, great food, boat taxi and BTS are very clos. Managment werry helpful, arranged us a cheep Taxi to the Bus station for Kanchanaburi:)

Room Tip: Nice People and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sygmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed everything at Focal Local. We'll keep up the good works. Hope you had a pleasant trip through Thailand. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed as a group of 3 couples for 2 nights for our quick Bangkok visit. Everything was amazing - coordination with Karan was very easy (we kept changing, adding more people, etc), rooms were cozy and comfortable, shower great, breakfast fresh and tasty. He also gave us great info how to see the city quickest way, where to eat and how to get everywhere. Also area is very authentic, exactly how we wanted it, we felt in the middle of real Bangkok and not touristic areas. It is very easy to get to center by boat after nice short walk to the boat station. I also got food poisoning during the flight and had to lay down for a day, so Karan asked to cook me white rice and toast and suggested electrolytes, which I had with me but didn't think of it. Very pleasant stay, will totally come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella_g0ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. It's our pleasure having you all here. We appreciate knowing that you had a good time here and liked the area. I'm glad you recovered from the food poisoning quickly and still had time to explore Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,036 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
W Home Bangkok
#3 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing