We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came back - above average for a budget hotel”
Review of U-Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U-Place
Ranked #170 of 670 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Came back - above average for a budget hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We've stayed ten nights at U Place, divided in two stays. In both stays it was great. The place is clean and the rooms are spacious with a simple and modern decoration. It's clean, more gray and white, what I liked very much- no carpets, no excessive furniture - but enough space to organize all of your stuff, chair, small table, shelf in the bathroom, closet, safe box. Small fridge, good to keep your food and water - they offer two bottles of water daily. Service was excellent, they give you maps and orientations in thai to taxi drivers, explain how to go around the city, explain about the scams in Khao San road. They arranged a cab for us to the airport and to the bus station (mo chit), the value was not abusive (of course it was more expensive than if you go by the meter), cabs in good condition. They are polite, nice and organized - we left our luggage with them for 6 days and it was ok when we come back.
it's a small place where you can also rent the room for a longer period - and the rates are better. It's near Khao San road and all main attractions of old town (around 40 minutes walking to grand palace), but in a quiet neighborhood, so it's quiet. There some restaurants around and 7/11. It's also near the river and easy to take a boat to siam area. Bangkok in general is safe and the surroundings are safe.
TV has all main international channels and air con is strong. The pool hasn't many sunbeds, but it's large enough to swim and refresh at the end of the day. Gym isn't very good (old equipment and very small), but you still can use the bike and some weights.
They cleaned our room everyday - just let the sign in your door or tell them. They even clean one day we leave after 3 PM. The smell of the towels were great - their laundry is cheap and one of the best we had in our 6 month trip. They also have a DIY laundry.
We didn't have breakfast there, so can't comment.
For the price and the service, this place is excellent. We'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with temple view (B side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days in January 2013. The place feels more like an apartment building for expats then a hotel. However, the building and the surrounding area are very safe and there is a security guard at night. Upon checking in, we were given an envelope with a map and some useful information about the area and Bangkok in general. The room itself was very big, clean and modern, and the staff was able to assist us when needed. The major factor to take into account for this hotel is its location as it will determine whether or not it is the right place for you. If you are looking to be at a relatively close distance to the main tourist sites located in the old part of town as well as Khaosan road but yet far enough from all the noise so that you can have a peaceful night, then stay here. However, there are no skytrain or subway stations in the area so be prepared to take a taxi and good luck with the required negotiations as most taxi drivers in this area will only take you if you accept their proposed flat rate instead of using the meter. The hotel is apparently new and accessible via an alley off the main road. As such, none of the taxi drivers we took knew the hotel by name and even the address was confusing to them. Also, unlike most if not all hotels, this one closes its lobby and reception every night at 9 pm. So beware if you are going to check in past this time as it is up to you to find the security guard who will give you the key to your room. This information was unknown to us when we first got there and created some confusion until we managed to find a member of the staff who was about to leave. Also, Wifi is only restricted to the lobby and breakfast area, although we had some reception in our room located right above the lobby (not sure if this is the case for all the rooms). Also, the taxi service provided by the hotel to any of the 2 airports is extremely overpriced (450 Bahts – flat rate) - so arrange your own ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardkingmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Serena, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

the place itself is ok, it doesn't have much ambiance but nice to be able to have a swim after a hot day Bangkok. too expensive for what it is though. I stayed 5 nights and they did not clean the room or change the sheets or anything while I specifically asked them to do so. I personally did not like the neighborhood too much at night and also saw loads of big rats around the backstreets there which the hotel can't help of course.it was nice to wake up with the temple sounds and the people that worked there were really friendly ( not the cleaning girls although they might have had instruction from the owners?) I guess it is a good place to go with little children

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013. We arrived very early in the morning (3am) and were a little concerned that we might not be able to locate the security guard to get our key. However, there were no issues and we were able to get our key with no issues whatsoever. You definitely need to print the directions written in Thai from the website before you jump in a taxi at the airport, most of the taxi drivers do not know where this place is otherwise as it is relatively new. Our room was clean and comfortable. The style is quite modern e.g. polished concrete etc but was perfectly adequate for our needs in Bangkok. The only thing is that the bed is very hard, I thought it would be uncomfortable but actually it was ok in the end. The rooms were not serviced unless you put the sign on your door asking for this to be done. However, they always left 2 bottles of water outside our room each day. There is a pool area and a gym if you feel the need to have a workout. Also a laundry service which we used, it was not too expensive but there is a place over the road for half the price, we used the U-Place laundry as we needed to ensure we got our clothes back the same day before our flight the next day. There are also washing machines so you can do your own laundry if you prefer. We didn't eat at the hotel for breakfast but we walked around a few blocks and went to Ricky's Coffee Shop which we enjoyed. The other great thing about this hotel is that they give you a lot of information when you arrive e.g. a local map with some recommendations for cafes and travel agents, an information sheet with some tips on how to avoid being ripped off in BKK and a big BKK map. We met up with some other friends who were staying at one of the fancy hotels in the city and they were really impressed about all the information we had been given from our accommodation! We also found the reception staff very helpful. Whenever we needed to get a taxi anywhere we asked them to write the address down in Thai, this avoided a lot of hassle as the taxi drivers do not seem to like looking at maps. The free wifi worked perfect and it was great to have this in our room to be able to plan the next stages of our trip. There are also a couple of computers in the reception with printers which we used to print boarding passes and maps for the next stage of our trip. U-Place is located down a few small lanes from the main road Samsen. It's about a 20 min walk to the action at Khao San Road but far enough away that the rooms are really quiet, we didn't hear anything at all. We were considering a few other hotels on the main road which I am so glad that we didn't. It was nice to return to such a nice quiet place at the end of each day after being in such a busy city. I would not hesitate to recommend U-Place to anyone who just wants a clean, safe and quiet place for a few nights in BKK.

Room Tip: We had a room on Level 5 on the A side. I would recommend the B side so you can get a nicer view ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Great pool. Quiet area 10 min walk from Kao san rd. Nice room, cable tv etc. Only issue was no WiFi. It doesn't work! But they let me use the PC. I would stay here again when I am in BKK again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

we really enjoyed staying here. It was a clean, affordable room in the middle of a quiet residential neighbourhood - we loved the wats and the neighborhood people. The pool is quite shadowy but great for cooling off at the end of the day. There were lots of families staying as well.
It is close to all the sites of Banglamphu BUT definitely a world away from Khao San rd which is only 15 minutes walk away. We easily walked to the palace and it was easy walk to the Pra Aphrit boat station - which we used to get to the BTS. Good vegetarian food is easily within walking distance at Jenny's (soi 4 maybe?) and Mai Kaidees. Great foot massages just down the street for 200 b.
we loved it and will be back indeed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trnava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel was just perfect! It has nice, clean, comfortable rooms. It is very affordable (cca 20€/person/night). It is very close to Grand Palace and Wat Pho (20 minutes walk)' yet it is very quiet. Seriously, you can't hear anything in the rooms. It is also at a convenient distance to both airports. I would say it is an ideal place for a budget orientd travelers who would like to get comfy after spending their days moving around jungles and islands.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matkooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#128 of 867 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Banglamphu
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
#226 of 867 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#407 of 867 in Bangkok
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#147 of 867 in Bangkok
1,824 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 867 in Bangkok
1,038 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U-Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-Place

Property: U-Place
Address: 105 Wisutkasat Road | Soi Wat Mai, Bang Kun Phrom, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — U-Place 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your U-Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing