We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely big beds, a tranquil retreat”
Review of U-Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U-Place
Ranked #162 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely big beds, a tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

A bit off the beaten track but this is a lovely hotel if you want to be slightly away from the madness of the khao san road. The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms are basic but spacious, modern and very clean. The beds are nice and big and it's exactly the type of place that you look for when you have had a hard few days of travelling. With it being 15 minutes away from the khao san road it's nice and quiet too. You pass plenty of lovely steers food travelling to and from this hotel too which is cheap and tasty and makes the walk that so much more interesting!

We have stayed here on 3 separate visits to bangkok and would do so again in the future. Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy Keane's Bea... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    39
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
torino, italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Don't go here!
We have been to U Place many times as we visit Bangkok for business regularly. Our last stay at U Place will definitely be our 'LAST'!!!
To be brief, we were there in sept (low season) and the hotel was almost empty. We had been there a few nights when we decided to leave some valuables in our room safety box. Not knowing how to get it open we called the reception and they send a staff member to show us how to reset the code. We then left for dinner for less than 2 hours, came back and went to bed. The next day we had breakfast and then opened the safe. All seemed normal until we went to change some money.
A very substantial amount of money had been taken from our money belts (consider we import from Thailand, so we aren't talking holiday spending money!!!)
It was clear to us that as no one had forced the hotel room door or the safe, it must have been a staff member.
U Place boasts 24 cctv and you can see the video cameras everywhere. Don't trust them!!! There were large sections of the recording missing, coincidentally the parts when the theft could have happened. They management gave no explanation for this and insisted it was impossible that a staff member could have robbed us. Consider also that all the safety boxes have a key in case you forget the password. The keys are numbered and kept behind the reception desk, in an unlocked drawer where anybody (ANYBODY!) can get them. Obviously for cleaning etc there are spare keys to all rooms too.
Obviously the police were summoned and we told them what had happened assuming it would all seem very suspicious to them too, being such an obvious crime covered up in such a ridiculously childish way (deleting the footage of the time the theft occured). After discussing with the suspecting parties in Thai for some time (we didn't understand a word!) we all went to the station and went over the finer details. At no point was the staff member we suspected, or any staff member probed for explanations. The police breezed over the fact that the recording of the video camera outside our room and the video camera in the lift skipped and jumped big sections during the time the crime must have occured. To cut a long story short we contacted our embassies who advised us to continue with the police report. We contacted a Thai lawyer/interpreter who told us we stood very little chance of getting the money back and to press charges would take 1 or 2 years. We don't live in Thailand and we had no time to follow this up. The money was the only important thing for us. Which we feel may have been possible to recover had the police wanted to investigate properly immediately. On the other hand they seemed too calm and relaxed considering the gravity of the crime against innocent tourists and didn't give any explanation as to why the obviousness of the crime wasn't relevant for them.
In conclusion. The day we discovered the crime the manager of U Place was having a 'day off'! She didn't even grace us with her presence. Even once the police were involved.
Your stay at U Place may be comfortable and problem-free, however, if anything should happen bear in mind that the CCTV doesn't work (or can easily be deleted/changed by staff members), The safety box key is accessible to all (NEVER use it), and if you ask the staff for help they don't care and have no regard for their reputation, your wellbeing or the law!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank DeeperBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-Place_Bangkok, Manager at U-Place, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
On behalf of the hotel we would like to clarify some details:

1. We have 16 security cameras in total, which are able to record all the public areas of our hotel. The cameras are from Sanyo (Japanese) and the recorder is from Eclipse (Korean). The products we use have been tested to a strict industrial standard, with the interface in English, so it is impossible for U-Place staffs who are not even well educated enough to speak, read or write English to edit the footage. Also from a technical point of view, the system has a fail-safe mechanism that would delete all recordings if any editing attempt was made. As the recording is still there, it proves by default that it was not edited.

2. We have recordings which show that no single U-Place staff was near your room at the time the suspected theft occurred. However, no matter how many times we tried to persuade you to look at the footage of the reception and staff areas you strongly objected and did not even consider taking a look at them.

3. Of course our staffs must be able to open the safety deposit boxes, as there have been many occasions where our guests forgot their codes, so were unable to retrieve their valuable from the safety deposit boxes. We have various guests from many different countries, some excel in English but some do not understand at all, so may not have understood the usage instruction for the safety deposit boxes. Others were in too much of a rush so they forgot the code, and some simply do not understand how to use them.

4. These guests are traders, coming to Thailand to select merchandise to import into their country. They are just one of several traders who selected to stay at our hotel because of the large and safe rooms, and this type of theft has never happened. We have had the pleasure on serving them many times before. They would exit and re-enter their room several times during 1 day, forgetting their room key inside the room on many occasions, and leave their belongings around in an untidy fashion, but there was no problem. We are extremely saddened that you would think that Khaosan road and Soi Rambuttri where to went to select merchandise for a considerable period of time before you realised the theft are much safer than our hotel with many security cameras.

5. Previously we have returned a diamond ring and a diamond bracelet, cameras and various amounts of cash to our guests. We could not return only 2 things, 1. an iPod, which the guest hid underneath the carpet and we were unable to find it for 6 months, and 2. some jewellery, which, after some investigation, the guests did take them home but has unfortunately forgotten where they packed them.

6. We have also contacted the police with regards to their reluctance to carry out a thorough investigation. They informed us that they get many cases to theft of cash every day, which, to their opinion, are tricks tourists use to commit insurance fraud, so they did not want to spend any more time on this case. We have quoted the police word for word and have no intention of being offensive towards you in any way.

7. The manager had a family emergency and had to go home on short notice. However the manager did talk on the phone with the guests and even suggested that they take matters to the police, as we have nothing to hide in the case of an investigation. If the police feel that there is enough evidence to press charges we would have co-operated fully, as we also do not want a thief hiding in our mists. The manager rushed back as soon as possible but unfortunately the guests have already checked out by the time she returned.

We are extremely saddened to has lost your custom, but we felt that we needed to give our side of the story for future guests to read and make their own decisions regarding this case on a fair basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at U-place for two nights and we were very happy with it. We had a standard room and it was very modern, with lots of space. A big bed and a table with lounge seats. Good shower and toilet. You have your own refrigerator and safety deposit box. Every day you get two bottles of water for free! Very welcome in this warm climate! The pool is a great bonus and quite big. It was a treat to gt in the cool water after the long and warm walks in Bangkok.
Staff was friendly but also kept a distance. I have had friendlier staffs in Thailand, but it was ok. Direction to this hotel is difficult so bring a description with you in Thai for the taxidriver.
The location of the hotel is good, about a ten to fifteen minute walk from Khao San Road. Great place if you want to visit the old town. Not too expensive, worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The room was more than adequate and the extra living room is great for families. The loaction is great, quiet in a local neighbourhood. The pool is an added bonus in the heat. However, the reception staff are sullen, verging on unhelpful which is the only thing that lets the place down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quagmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at U-Place for the last three nights of our month in Thailand.  I note that although U-Place is listed in the "Bed & Breakfast" category, in my opinion it is more of a hotel, as it is somewhat lacking in the character and personal service of a B&B.  Nevertheless, it is a comfortable place to stay.


ROOM:  My initial impression of our room was that it was very much a concrete box, but it grew on me during the course of our stay.  Whilst the walls and floor are concrete (albeit subtly stylised), the furnishings are new and quite elegantly tie into the overall room.

We stayed in a Queen Bed Studio room (1600 THB per night), which was spacious enough to allow me to roll out a yoga mat and practise without hitting anything!   The bathroom was small and clean. 


FACILITIES:  The pool, although on the smaller side, was probably one of the most pleasant we experienced during our month in Thailand.  It was spotlessly clean, shaded for most of the day, and as a result was superbly refreshing after spending all day exploring Bangkok in 39 degree heat.  Beware, though, the pair of dive-bombing bats in the evening!  

Free wifi was available in the lobby and pool area, and was of a decent speed, but unfortunately only wired Ethernet access was available in the rooms (cables supplied), which is useless if you're travelling only with smart phones and tablets.

Although we didn't make use of it, a laundry service was available, as was DIY with washing machine and dryer.


SERVICE:  During the course of our three night stay, the number of interactions we had with the U-Place staff could be counted on one hand - there rarely seemed to be anyone around except at reception.  That said, those staff with whom we did interact were pleasant enough, if a little reserved.

The hotel arranged an early-morning (4am) taxi for us to the airport, which was extremely hassle-free.

Be sure to leave the 'make up room' sign on the door handle each morning; we discovered the hard way that no sign equals no housekeeping.


LOCATION: U-Place is located in a very quiet little street, in the Old Quarter.  The hotel itself feels quite safe, and there is a security guard posted out the front 24/7, however had I been travelling solo, I (a small female) would have been a little wary about venturing out after dark.  

U-Place is a good 20-30 minute walk to the main attractions such as the Grand Palace and Khao San Road. In terms of transport options, the river ferries are also about a 20-30 minute walk, and unfortunately the rail system does not extend out this far. My partner and I prefer to explore new cities on foot, so the location of this hotel suited us fine, but if you're not prepared for some long, hot walks, then you'll need to factor in taxi fares. 

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, on the B Side of the hotel, for a view of the temple. We stayed in B404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aLissAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in november 2012. We printed the directions for the taxi driver in Thai, don't forget this because the hotel is not very well known.
The hotel is situated in a local, quiet area which is nice after exploring busy Bangkok. The room was big with two separate part and airconditionings, which worked well. Simple but clean bathroom. The building looks like an American motel, and had a nice, small pool. Staff was friendly; after 10:00PM the reception is closed but there's security at the entrance.
Some nice eating stalls about 10 minutes walk near the Nuovo City hotel.

Overall a nice stay in busy Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpongeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

U place
We booked this property due to location and value for money in this price range. It is around a 10-15 walk to Khaosan Road however away from all the noise. On checkin you are given an information pack on the area with maps etc which is very helpful and welcoming. This was the most comfortable bed I've slept in at a motel during my travels through South East Asia. We had a room on the A side which overlooked the temples which was great however their speakers were going all day which got annoying however wasn't late at night. We extended our stay and moved to the B side which was quiet however the view is into residents so we left our curtains shut the whole time. Good air conditioning and lots of channels to choose from. Washing machines downstairs available for use. There is a small shop with some supplies, no cafe or restaurant however they do offer a breakfast which we had twice and was great. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Pool area was nice, fitness room cramped but variety of equipment. Only wifi on common areas ground floor however is free. We stayed on the third level and could get wifi from outside our room. A few small cafe's nearby towards Khaosan Rd which were cheap. We would stay here again and had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samk645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS residence
#150 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Aravinda Living Home
Aravinda Living Home
#455 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#417 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#351 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#153 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#352 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U-Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-Place

Property: U-Place
Address: 105 Wisutkasat Road | Soi Wat Mai, Bang Kun Phrom, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — U-Place 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your U-Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing