We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #234 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We just completed a three night stay at the Praya Palazzo. The hotel is a great break from the hectic pace of Bangkok and provides great access to some wonderful parts of Bangkok.

The hotel is lovely, but what really made the visit exceptional was the staff and the service they provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    77
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
171
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and thought the hotel was lovely and excellent value for money. When in the premises you would never know that you were in the centre on Bangkok as its so quiet. The hotel sits on the river and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The hotel is not accessible by road, only boat and they give you a mobile phone to summon the boat to the pier when you need it (24 hour access). This was one of our let downs as the PAYG phone did not work on 2 occasions- First night we could not get through and had to get the restaurant opposite to phone. They gave us a replacement phone which also did not have any money on it and again could not phone to get the boat the next day! When it did work it was fine and the boat arrived within 5 mins of a call and was not at all inconvenient (in fact quite quirky!) There is also a restaurant in the hotel and my only other let down was that it didn't open very late. Food looked fantastic but just didn't get the opportunity to try it sadly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

first of all, this boutique hotel is beautiful in its simplicity. the room we stayed in was on the second floor due to one readers advice on squeaky floors on the first. apart from that, the room decor and the ambiance of the whole place was, in a word, charming :). i also loved how in the indoor dining area they had the story of the place. i find that history about a place you are visiting gives it more meaning, and it was beautiful that they share this with the people who stay with them.

getting to and from the place wasn't difficult for us. their private "boat" was very easy to call and only once out of the numerous times we required it, was it delayed (about 15 minutes) because it was out running errands :). otherwise, after just one call, the boat would be by the dock in less than 10 minutes).

the only problem we seemed to have was with wifi reception. inside our room, it was strongest right by the door. outside in the corridor was also very strong and good. but inside the room, it was a bit weak and would drop at times. i don't know if that had anything to do with the fact that we were in the last room at the end of the hall on the second floor? otherwise, in the dining area and in the common area, signal was good :).

the service was very warm and the staff were more than eager to help. from the front desk manager, our private butler, the boat drivers, to their waiters ... everyone served with a smile.

it was our first time in bangkok, and i was so glad that we decided to spend our special vacation at praya palazzo.

i would definitely stay here again :).

Room Tip: someone mentioned squeaky floors, and to be honest, our room did have a panel or two that squeaked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Julie L,
Warmest greetings from a sunny Praya Palazzo!

Thank you for writing such extensive and great detailed review and sharing your experiences and observations with other readers. You have gone to great detail and made lots of very valid and important observations. Thank you for this!

You have highlighted so many great compliments and we are very proud to read that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed yourself.

It is true that our mansion is a heritage building and although it has a breathtaking architecture and many details, it also has some constraints as a result. Because our building is a recognised preservation project, hence protected, we have many restrictions on what can be modified. The rooms can indeed be squeaky and although it does adds a nice charm to the place it can also be a distraction, especially if late at night. We acknowledge this issue and we have recently been advised by a expert in this in a possible solution without changing the architecture, authenticity or structure of the flooring, so we will try with one room and see if this helps.

With regards to the WiFi you will be happy to know that this problem should have been resolved. We have bought a new dedicated line and re-adjusted the wifi spots so the coverage should be a lot better now. Thank you however for pointing this out and it is a real pity that we could not improve our WiFi before your stay!

Thank you once again for writing such a great review and sharing your observations and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Warmest regards from our entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed at Praya Palazzo for only one night and wished I could have stayed longer. A lovingly restored historical building that used to belong to the Royal family, this is a unique place to stay. Terrific service, quiet and peaceful location and very good food. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Elfish,
Warmest greetings from a very sunny Bangkok!

Thank you for such kind words and your lovely description of your recent stay with us.
Also big thank you for pointing out the history of our mansion and for recognising our heritage cuisine.

We are testing a new collection of heritage recipes (as well as drinks) so we hope you will be back in a few weeks to sample these!

Once again, thank you for putting together such a lovely review and wish you lots of great travels ahead.

Warmest regards from the Praya Palazzo Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed at and by far the best hotel in Thailand. The service was beyond amazing and you truly felt at home. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bangkok. I was greeted by name with a fresh glass of juice and a cold towel. Room was beautiful. Breakfast was the best I had in Thailand. I can't say more great things about this hotel. I look forward to returning the next time I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JCKC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear JCKC12345,
Warmest greeting from Chao Praya!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review on your stay here at Praya Palazzo.
To be named "Best Hotel In Bangkok!" is most certainly a great compliment given that Bangkok has some of the best hotels in the world with most major top hotel brands represented here.

Our team is proud to learn that you had such a great time and enjoyed our mansion. We most certainly are looking forward to welcome you back here soon.

Wish you lots of happy travels.

Warmest regards from the Praya Palazzo Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We went to praya palazzo for my friend birthday diner. The boat will take you across the river. Arrived in an old palace in a quiet place, amazing garden. We decide to eat by the river they have indoor restaurant too, beautiful traditional colonial house. We had thai diner, very good and tasty food, spicy as you like, very good service and friendly. To recommend for nice relaxing evening time, will be back with friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelasia565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear TravelMarc76,
Warmest greetings from a very sunny Bangkok!

Thank you for writing such a great review, particularly about our cuisine. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed yourself at our mansion and we are very honoured that you choose to celebrate your friends birthday with us. Our mansion is particularly great for small birthday parties such as yours and with options to dine along the river or indoor with air-conditioning in a century old residence is quite nice and also a nice change from a typical hotel experience.

We hope you will be back many times to try more of our food and service. We indeed keep the spiciness level of our cuisine as original as possible and we encourage guests to tell us only if they don't like it too spicy so that guests can enjoy authentic flavour.

Warmest greetings from our entire team and again big thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

you will feel very exclusive since you arrive the sun pier. this small hotel in the rush city is very quiet and private. most of all, i like the tuscanian buildings. the food there is fair due to price and taste. i like the concept of food but it would be more perfect when they make in original thai taste. the service is good. swimming pool and the river view is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kharavas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear kharavas c,
Warmest greetings from a very sunny Bangkok!
Thank you very much for your great review and for sharing your experiences with the tripadvisor community. This is very kind of you.
We are delighted that you loved the architecture which indeed gives a tuscany feeling. This is one of the unique aspects of our mansion as it is one of the few Italian designs in Bangkok which is converted into a boutique hotel.
Thank you for sharing your advise on our food. We most certainly keep on innovating in this area as it is a very complicated and subjective subject matter. We decided to do an extensive research on the Thai palace cuisine served during the 1900's-1930's era as this is the time our mansion was build. Through our research at the National Library we discovered several recipes which have been re-implemented at our mansion. Some dishes have completely disappeared from menus in Thailand so we are kind of proud to feature them again whilst some other dishes are in its form of the early 1900's palace cuisine. These recipes are in most cases a much more simpler form of todays recipes as over the years Thai cuisine evolved by adding in colourful ingredients or more flavour enhancements like MSG etc. Not everybody will like our cuisine and this is the beautiful thing about food because there are so many possibilities. We like to be an inspiration to other chefs and cooks to re-discover some of the roots of Thai cuisine and bring back some long lost dishes.
On your next visit we will make sure to discuss with you much better to ensure you will have some delicious favourites during your stay with us.
Thank you once again for writing such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest greetings from the Praya Palazzo team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#23 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#184 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#293 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#403 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#170 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing