We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, wonderful setting, very cool place”
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #245 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic, wonderful setting, very cool place”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Taking your own private lovely wooden boat across the river to arrive at this beautiful oasis amidst the bustling city is romantic, intriguing and rewarding. Nicely appointed rooms, great pool, friendly staff, and one of the best Thai restaurants we found. It's easy to get back and forth, and the area on the other side of the river is itself fascinating and fun to explore. We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Suite adds a little more space, but all rooms are charming. The air conditioner sensors are high up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qburto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    78
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
174
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay in a mesmerising atmosphere on the river banks in Bangkok. We spent 3 nights here, while taking the private boat up and down to the old centre of Bangkok from the hotel. It was a quiet haven in this hectic place. Guest services were absolutely out of the ordinary (thank you, Rachan!), but the place needs to beware of the maintenance. Aircon non-adjustable and freezinf, faucet broken, water leaks in bathroom walls. All in all I would definitely recommend the hotel for its beautiful surroundings, tasteful decor and super service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adriana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is extremely beautiful, packed with character. It was once a family home, then a school. The hotel has a lot of character and due to its location, only reachable by boat, it is a great escape from the hustle of Bangkok.

We were a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel due to the fact you have to call them whenever you want to come back so they can send the boat over the river to Phra Athit to pick you up, and we were only in town for a few days so we thought it would be awkward. However, when we arrived they gave us a mobile phone so we could get hold of them easily without huge international bills on our own mobiles, and the boat was always with us within 5 mins, any time of day or night. Crossing the river each time was really fun.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool, really very pretty and surrounded by flowers. The pool bar is very expensive, so we only had one drink there. There are sunbeds and towels are provided. Breakfast in the morning was by the pool, it was really tasty and fresh, although our orders were never quite delivered right!

The bedroom was beautiful and the ensuite had a very large bath and an extremely ornate, pretty sink. The only downside was that the floorboards for the room above us were extremely creaky, and the people staying in that room seemed to walk around 24 hours a day, was like having a pack of elephants above us. But then, compared to the bars etc in most places of Bangkok it was still a peaceful option and we were probably just unlucky with our neighbours!

Room Tip: If you're noise sensitive ask for a room with no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Praya Palazzo is about as far away as it's possible to get from faceless, cookie-cutter chain hotels and offers welcome respite from Bangkok's relentless hustle-and-bustle -- despite being remarkably central. The site is stunning and its rooms certainly don't lack the "wow" factor. The food is also fantastic (the grilled roasted duck curry was best dish I tried in two weeks in Thailand) but expect London prices. However, it's the outstanding service that really sets it apart. The staff bend over backwards to ensure your stay is special and every need met. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjag37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawi, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have visited Bangkok about a dozen times over the years and this time was the best. I credit this delightfully intimate hotel for this experience. Every time we returned on their regal boat, we were immediately transported from the frantic craziness of the city to peace and tranquility. Breakfasts were great ..some of the best coffee I had in SEAsia. Such service! After only one day there, they were anticipating our wants and needs. We initially planned to stay for only 2 nights and wound up staying for 4, wanting to stay longer. This gem is located on the opposite side of the river from the bustle of the city at Pier 13. It's no problem since they give you a phone to call when you are ready to return. The longest we ever waited for their boat was 7 minutes. Definitely 5* service!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is definitely the best. Worth the upgrade to honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 158JeanneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

All of the wonderful staff at the Praya Palazzo made our first visit to Bangkok and Thailand extra special. From the moment we arrived in the hotel's private boat we were made to feel very welcome by the exceptionally warm and friendly team, Each morning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast by Sakon and his team. Charan would then take time to ensure that we were comfortable and help schedule our day providing advice on places of interest and how to travel including detailed instructions for taxi drivers in Thai. He is a real gentleman and a credit to the hotel. Sai Jai was also very kind greeting us each day when we returned after a busy day sightseeing in the city and taking a real interest in what we had been doing. The staff made my daughter very welcome when she came to meet us at the end of our stay to travel to Kanchanaburi for the weekend. The hotel is a lovely mansion with an interesting history set in a peaceful setting on the bank of the river. We enjoyed having breakfast by the pool each morning before setting off on our daily adventure in Bangkok. Everywhere is easy to reach and it was great fun to set off up the river on the 15 Baht Ferry. We originally stayed for four nights but were so impressed that we went back for a further night when we returned to Bangkok later in our holiday. We would thoroughly recommend the Praya Pallazzo and hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This boutique hotel is in a beautiful setting across the river from the Phra Arthit (No. 13) pier; once you board the shuttle boat from the hotel, you leave the hustle and bustle of Bangkok behind. We made great use of the beautiful pool and enjoyed dinner on our first evening out by the river. All of the staff are polite and responsive but we particularly want to recognize Charan Maneesom and his associate, Sai Jai. Charan put a great deal of effort into researching destinations for us and suggesting restaurants and other excursions based on our interests. Sai Jai taught us how to say "thank you" in Thai and greeted us on our return from outing, always interested in what we had seen or done. Nice breakfast menu included in the room cost. It is a quiet and peaceful location but provides easy access to Bangkok via the Express boat (15 Bhat) or the Tourist boat (40 Bhat). Difficult to imagine abetter hotel or better value in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW7658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#187 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#71 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#292 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#407 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#174 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing