We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional Thai mansion on the river”
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #262 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A traditional Thai mansion on the river”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is on the river, and as advertised access is only by boat, from the ferry pier on the other side. The hotel have their own boat transfer available 24/7 so it wasn't a problem, unless you expect door to door limo service.

However we had a few issues that mean we would not stay there again, especially with so much choice in Bangkok.

First, the space around the pool is very limited. So much so that while having a drink on the terrace at 5:30pm, we were told the table was needed to set up for dinner. There is practically no where else to sit? Frankly even if 50% of guests wanted to relax by the pool at the same time, I don't know how it would be handled?

The following day, we had breakfast at the hotel and both of us had very bad stomach aches while we were out on a boat tour (we didn't eat or drink anything at all after breakfast). So we cut our river tour short to come back to the hotel hoping to relax in the room. Unfortunately, we were told by staff that our room was being cleaned and we could sit at the pool but then the staff said "oh you can't sit by the pool as we are setting the tables for New Year's Eve dinner tonight" ! So please be careful at what you eat in the hotel.

On departure we were told taking the hotel slippers would result in a Baht 1,000 charge ($30). From my experience, slippers are either disposable items that you use and throw away, or if chargeable there is a notice in the room saying so. The hotel confirmed there was not a notice in the room.....but the charge remained, so the motto is.....leave the slippers!

The hotel has its character and charm but it's not worth the price we paid, for example the bath towel was old and torn, the wall paint is chipped all over the bathroom, some damp stains on the wall (room 224). The floorboard makes a lot of noise when walking but it's an old building so I can understand that, however it disturbs us when people next door walking at night. For $15 extra you can stay at beautiful and practical, Siam Kempinski down town and take the slippers with you. No extra charge!


PS the scores on the fitness center and spa only reflect there were not any at the hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest the upper floor (we were in 224). The traditional wooden floors are very squeaky, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThailandinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    78
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
174
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent a long weekend at Praya Palazzo.
The building and our room were like the scenery of a movie set in the 1800's France. The staff was very helpful. They also provided us with a phone that we could use for ordering our boat transfer when coming back from the other side of the river.
The location is great for visiting the temples near the river, and there are plenty of simple places to eat at near the boat station on the opposite side.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_mesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We arrived in the middle of the night and the pre arranged taxi and ferry service to the other side of the river went like clockwork. Checked into our room and were astonished to find such a european french boudoir inspired room. After one day really loved it however, the lovely bathroom had a handheld shower in the bath only.
The outside of the Palazzo is truly beautiful and the staff were helpful and good hosts.
The restaurant food was expensive so, breakfast nice and set next to the tropical pool area.
You have to be prepared for an entirely different Bangkok experience with this hotel, it is oldy worldy but very charming and the four of us (adults) loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbados
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The staff are wonderful and caring but they alone cannot carry this converted, aging property. We arrived late in the day off a 10 hr. flight and were 'upgraded' to, I believe it was room 134. In the dark we didn't investigate just ate at the hotel and went to bed. We were the only ones eating, the food wasn't particularly good. With the morning came the realization we were in a dark room with hard to open windows, lots of mozzies when we managed to and no view whatsoever, all for the pleasure of paying U$150/nt. We complained and my wife fell for their most expensive 'suite' the living room of which was under furnished with one chair and a divan and a somewhat ratty carpet. Two bathrooms, a tub, a great view, all for the pleasure of doubling our cost. The mozzies moved with us and the tv improved but not much. When we wanted a bath the hot water ran out every few minutes as we tried to fill the tub forever. Shower pressure is wanting. The drains are slow and we had a clog or two. The beds have oversize wooden platforms that bark your feet and shins and the floors are polished to a dangerous level of slipperiness. Lighting either to shave by in the bathroom or to read by in bed was inadequate. Breakfast was usually good but don't have the poached eggs which are done in vinegar which soaks the bread. Yes there's something about taking a private boat across the river away from the maddening crowd but not when you're tired and just want to refresh yourself and head back out and certainly not when you're told there will be a 15 min. wait. Again the staff are pleasant and caring but it would be nice to see some further investment in their training and perhaps better english spoken. We have returned to BKK and staying on the busy side of the river at the Riva Surya and the difference is outstanding. Stay tuned for what I'm sure will be a very different review.

Room Tip: not 134 and preferably headed by a 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbadosBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Praya Palazzo is a hard one to review. For very similar money there are some nice “high end” hotels in the river area. Food and drinks and laundry service are great quality but also near-American pricing while other high quality establishments offered more for less. The first room we had was deluxe but was ground floor and smelled musty and was very loud with squeaky floors above. We were upgraded to a 2nd floor junior suite which was quieter but you could still hear neighbors and squeaky floors and doors. It’s an old mansion and claims 4.5 stars but it would benefit from some upgrades in this respect. The rest of the experience was awesome. Great staff who service you, food & beverage manager Sakon remembered our names the next morning and always came out to say hello and chat a bit. The only access is via the hotels private ferry which they operate 24 hours a day. They give you a cel phone to call and be picked up at a pier just 5 minutes away where you can access Khosan Road area or hop the river ferries to access much of the city. Again, service was exceptional and I’d recommend the hotel but if you are a light sleeper, you will definitely 2nd floor.

Room Tip: 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Commonly, I and my sister live in Bangkok. One day, we fed up with being in the city and spending weekend aimlessly as usual then we came up with the idea to find a serene place to stay and sleep-out on the forthcoming weekend. After we'd been searching for and considering a plenty of hotels via the information we got from the various websites, 'Praya Palazzo, luxury Bangkok riverside boutique hotel, was the hotel that we selected to relax and indulge ourselves at this place in order to escape the hecticness in the city.
After we'd decided to spend one night at here, we called to make a reservation for one-night superior room with a breakfast and extra dinner on the day we arrived. As the hotel located in riverside which's only accessible by ferryboat, that's not a problem because the hotel provided us a ferryboat service. In case of having a car, we can park at the temple which locates nearby the harbour. We arrived at the harbour around 8.00 pm, the boat was waiting for us. The moment we getting on the boat was incredibly amazing, we saw a lot of beautiful scenery all along the Chao Praya river i.e. temples, building and lights. We arrived at the hotel, the hotel's exterior was stunning. At night the building was decorated with lights which really impressed us. It's such a romantic place. Before we got into the room, we had dined at Thai's cuisine which has a reputation in traditional Thai food. As we're Thai food-lovers, we can definitely ensure that Thai food here is completely delicious. The room that we got, is broad, clean and calm. A little bit big for two persons even it's just a superior room but I like it. The room's interior's unique like Thai luxury modern style. I felt like living in the royal palace somehow.
The breakfast provided in American style, was good. We had breakfast nearby the pool. While I was having breakfast, I can also view the pool, the garden and the river. It's great serenity. Every staff had a good manner and satified us with good service mind.
The only unsatified thing was that I'd to wait for so long to check-out and the boat to pick us up to return back to the harbour.
To recharge myself, I had a wonderful rest at here. This place completely fulfilled my weekend. I love this place, especially Thai cuisine and I also have an intention to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maprangsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Bangkok is not one of my favorite cities, but staying just across the river out of the hustle and bustle makes it bearable. I discovered Praya Palazzo almost two years ago and just enjoyed my second stay.

You feel nothing short of luxurious being picked up in the private hotel boat and shuttled to this historic mansion, which is manicured to perfection. The staff, while struggling a bit with English, is very friendly and very accommodating. The pool is magnificent and while very pricey in comparison to other Bangkok restaurants, the food is simply 5-star. Breakfast cannot be beat!

My tips for future travelers:
- Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. This is an old house so the walls can be a bit thin and noise from the riverboats can sometimes echo off the mansions exterior.
- The mattresses are very firm. I've found this to be the case in most Thailand hotels, but if you think you won't be able to sleep, ask the hotel ahead of time to soften the mattress if possible.
- If it's in your budget, upgrade to the suite rooms as they are more spacious, which is nice if you've been running around the city all day and just want to relax a bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldHealthTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
1,678 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#175 of 858 in Bangkok
294 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#208 of 858 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#145 of 858 in Bangkok
1,507 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#292 of 858 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Ibrik Resort by the River
#286 of 858 in Bangkok
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#182 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing