We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Praya Palazzo
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$240
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
170
79
27
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
79
27
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate boatacross the riverboutique hotelhotel boatphra arthit piercell phone to callferry serviceboat transferspecial hotelbusy citybeautiful hotelswimming poolkhao san roaddowntown bangkokgeckosthailandretreat
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for one night, christmas day 2013. The place was not very easy to find but we made it with the help of the taxi card they provided and the very kind taxi driver who called them to arrange boat pick up for us.

The room (Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Free Wireless Internet,Breakfast for 2) was beautiful, the grounds were grand, the breakfast was great, and the staff were eager to please. The hotel is well located near a lot of the temples and sight seeing, yet out of the way enough to feel as though you are in your own private castle.

Lovely extras: They greeted us with a juice drink, the room included quality toiletries and lots of extras, and they were very accommodating with the use of their boat, taking us to restaurants along the waterfront for free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel and Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had quite an adventure getting to the hotel at 3:30am, with road blocks in Bangkok it was quite nerves wracking to arrive at the darkened locked alleyway that led down to pier 13. There was no need to worry, the hotel staff were waiting to greet us as the taxi dropped us off and had carefully guided him by phone to the correct pier. We boarded the boat and were wished across the river to the beautiful Thai Mansion perched the other side of the river. Greeted by the duty manager and settled into our room. The staff couldn't do enough to help us during our 3 night stay. They were cheerful and friendly and full of useful advice. The Hotel provides a mobile phone to call the boat and we never waited more than a couple of minutes. Pier13 closes around 9:30 so if you don't want to hang around on the street waiting for the staff to unlock the alley you can go through the hotel next door to access the pier- we found it a pleasant spot to have an Iced latte or nightcap on the terrace before retiring to our hotel. The Hotel ferry runs 24hours. The poor is lovely and refreshing and the breakfasts good. If you want to do a trip into up to the Bridge over the river Kwai I thoroughly recommend that you go to the Hellfire Pass, a little further it is really the best museum. We took our own car booked with oriental escape who were very flexible and didn't try to take us anywhere for unscheduled shopping stops!

Room Tip: Our room opened onto the pool and was super - not sure about the others!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Charming is a good word to describe this beautiful mansion and its grounds. The staff aim to please in every way possible. When I had an issue with my room, they promptly came in the middle of the night and upgraded me (free of charge) to another room so that I would be comfortable (the mansion is made of wood, and unfortunately when a storm rolled through in the middle of the night, water starting dripping from the ceiling and the window. The room I was moved to had no issues; it was also a suite more than 2x larger than the one I was in). The only way to get there is by barge. Once you arrive, they issue you a cell phone so that you can contact them when you need the barge to come get you. The hall outside of the dining room has plaques with history of the mansion. There is a pool outside surrounded by beautiful greenery and flowers. My trip was in October 2012 (so please disregard the travel date indicated by the website. The month/year of my trip was no longer an option by the time I got around to writing this, but this place is worth mentioning since I enjoyed my stay there so much, aside from the startling water incident, which they promptly took care of).

Room Tip: Suite 222.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is on the river, and as advertised access is only by boat, from the ferry pier on the other side. The hotel have their own boat transfer available 24/7 so it wasn't a problem, unless you expect door to door limo service.

However we had a few issues that mean we would not stay there again, especially with so much choice in Bangkok.

First, the space around the pool is very limited. So much so that while having a drink on the terrace at 5:30pm, we were told the table was needed to set up for dinner. There is practically no where else to sit? Frankly even if 50% of guests wanted to relax by the pool at the same time, I don't know how it would be handled?

The following day, we had breakfast at the hotel and both of us had very bad stomach aches while we were out on a boat tour (we didn't eat or drink anything at all after breakfast). So we cut our river tour short to come back to the hotel hoping to relax in the room. Unfortunately, we were told by staff that our room was being cleaned and we could sit at the pool but then the staff said "oh you can't sit by the pool as we are setting the tables for New Year's Eve dinner tonight" ! So please be careful at what you eat in the hotel.

On departure we were told taking the hotel slippers would result in a Baht 1,000 charge ($30). From my experience, slippers are either disposable items that you use and throw away, or if chargeable there is a notice in the room saying so. The hotel confirmed there was not a notice in the room.....but the charge remained, so the motto is.....leave the slippers!

The hotel has its character and charm but it's not worth the price we paid, for example the bath towel was old and torn, the wall paint is chipped all over the bathroom, some damp stains on the wall (room 224). The floorboard makes a lot of noise when walking but it's an old building so I can understand that, however it disturbs us when people next door walking at night. For $15 extra you can stay at beautiful and practical, Siam Kempinski down town and take the slippers with you. No extra charge!


PS the scores on the fitness center and spa only reflect there were not any at the hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest the upper floor (we were in 224). The traditional wooden floors are very squeaky, and may be annoying if you are on the ground floor with some-one above you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThailandinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent a long weekend at Praya Palazzo.
The building and our room were like the scenery of a movie set in the 1800's France. The staff was very helpful. They also provided us with a phone that we could use for ordering our boat transfer when coming back from the other side of the river.
The location is great for visiting the temples near the river, and there are plenty of simple places to eat at near the boat station on the opposite side.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b_mesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews