We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #246 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Bangkok is so hectic and full of life that a quiet but characterful riverside hotel is a real find. We loved this place, relaxing in its gardens between trips across the river to the old city. The access by shuttle boat is personalised and only takes a few minutes, and the staff were helpful and attentive. Although not many rooms have views, the gardens and terraces make up for this, and breakfast by the river is a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJack_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    78
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
174
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Yes. Bangkok might not be an easy City. Bangkok might seem to be busy, always and everywhere. After all, Bangkok is Bangkok!
And of course, Bangkok has an enormous choice when it comes to “where to stay”.
You can Lodge in one of the many International Branded Luxury properties, stay at some nice mid class Hotel or find even a nice Guesthouse.

Or, would you be able to find a hidden and romantic spot, in the middle of the city? It exists! It’s even quiet over there (Yes, Quiet in BKK). And although its near to the old town, you can get there only by the Hotel owned 24/7 boat service.
It’s the Praya Palazzo.

To get there, the first time can be tricky (as you never been there before).
You need to get to the right pier, call the Hotel and few minutes later, the Hotel Boat will pick you up. After this Adventure, all gets right and relaxing, starting with the short boat ride to the Hotel private pier, where nice Hotel Staff awaits you and shows you the way to reception. Only minutes later, Staff escorts you to your lovely room, in a Building that seems from other century, build some 100 years ago in Italian Palace Style. Yes. Italian.

It’s really a place for relax, enjoying the silence or watching over the River.
But, we are still in Bangkok, isn’t? Well, just walk to the Hotel Pier, and after a few minutes ride you will enjoy again the tumultuous Bangkok. The Hotel even gives you a phone, so you can call the Hotel Boat whenever you need or want get back to the “heaven of silent Bangkok”.

After enjoying your night, get your “a la carte” breakfast at the pool or in the dining room, before heading again into the noise of the City of Angels.

I never thought a City like this could have a so relaxing place.


The Praya Palazzo might not be the ultimate Luxury property, but it’s small size (17 rooms), centrally but “hidden” location, friendly Staff, nice views, historical building and “romantic setting” are values of it’s own. Everything it’s nicely designed, and while rooms are rather small, they are comfortable and with a touch of the past (while meeting with modern standards). Just don’t concern that a wooden floor makes noise when you walk. This is normal! (as it should be!)

Well, it’s just a lovely place, even more. A place to feel good. (Not for Backpackers or Party People)
No wonder I liked it! This is truly a Boutique Hotel.
For Mainstream, better book elsewhere (so I might still get a free room!).

I shouldn’t even talk about this place… ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OttesVanAken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

finding the hotel: access is only by shuttle boat from the jetty on other side of the river, we took a transfer which was totally unsatisfactory in as far as the driver was not in plain view, didn’t speak English and badly explained he would collect us at the front entrance. Fortunately we realise what we needed to do although we were kept waiting so long we began to doubt if we had understood him properly. He should have had written instructions from the hotel and make himself visible. The upside is that he takes you to the jetty to collect the hotel shuttle and phones them to let them know you have arrived.

parking: no parking.

reception (arriving): went smoothly on arrival, the hotel lent us a phone to ring for the shuttle.

room:
size: good, storage poor, no drawers, just large spaces in wardrobe and cupboard, no draws in bedside table - very irritating

noise: only from noisy animals and insects at night!

beds: - again a rock hard bed, why do hotels buy these? it was only bearable because we were there for only three nights, any longer would have been impossible, I would have tried the wooden floor!!

heating/cooling: good aircon, no problems.

Coffee/tea available in the room good quality.

bathroom: spacious but no shower curtain and no place to hang the shower, all the taps were loose and difficult to operate. No proper towel rails.

toileries: reasonable; pleasant perfume.

towels: a bit thin and small but the pools towels were full size.

water: attention: not always hot at the end of the day.

internet: good fast wifi.

dining room: we ate indoors one lunch - good. Breakfast was by the pool the cooked breakfast left something to be desired, not hot - and the sausages were tinned hotdog sausages uggh.

facilities:
swimming pool: nice outdoor pool.

entertainment: not experienced if there is any.

réception (leaving): reasonable apart from the receptionist rushing out to ask where the slippers were!! This is very bizarre because normally the slippers are one use only, I certainly would consider whether to use them here if I though someone else had used them with who knows what feet problems

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

When planning our visit to Bangkok, we spent hours looking for deals at all of the 'usual' large, hotel chains in the city. We discovered the Praya Palazzo by accident through google, looked it up on TripAdvisor, and decided to book with them based on the outstanding reviews. We were not disappointed!

The private airport transfer was smooth, the driver took us to Phra Arthit (Pier 13) where we were greeted by the friendly and welcoming staff who were on hand to help with our luggage. It felt rather exclusive walking past all the other tourist waiting on the pier for the next river taxi whilst we boarded our private boat to take us over the river to the hotel - a really special addition to our holiday!

Our personal 'butler' (their description not ours!) helped us schedule our itinerary to avoid the crowds and planned the best routes to travel to get to where we wanted to go. We were provided with a personal cell phone to call for the private boat to pick us up and take us back to the hotel when we were done exploring for the day, a nice touch. The boat pick up service was offered 24/7 so there was never a rush to get back to the pier by a certain time.

The hotel is unlike anywhere we've stayed before, the history of the Praya Palazzo is depicted in photographs throughout the hotel. The rooms were as expected for a old building, well equipped, tall ceilings, and a good bathroom. Being on the opposite side of the river from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok made it an ideal retreat in the evenings to refresh, relax, and enjoy a glass of something by the river.

We stayed in Bangkok during the Loi Krathong celebrations which was a brilliant bonus. The hotel put on a special meal to enjoy during the evening of celebrations as well as providing the materials for guests to make their own krathongs to float in the Chao Phraya as an offering to the water spirits. The krathong's floating symbolises letting go of hatred, anger, and defilements and placing clippings of your fingernails and hair on the krathong is a symbol of letting go of negative thoughts. This is an experience that we hadn't planned for, but will treasure forever.

Breakfast was lush, sitting on the terrace in the morning Bangkok sun, watching the river get busier and busier with Thai commuters hanging onto the river taxis and tourists preparing themselves for another exhausting day of sightseeing and adventures.

We will definitely be travelling back to Bangkok in the not too distant future and will not be needing to look further for a place to stay - Praya Palazzo, we love you!

T&H

Room Tip: Choose an room upstairs if possible, the floor boards are creaky in places and I can imagine that fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereAreTheWoottons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Being ferried across the river at night in the hotel's boat was a magical way to start our visit. We did this several further times and were enchanted by the exotic nature of the experience. The building is beautiful, authentic, romantic and well situated to visit the city and its sites by riverboat. This is certainly a much more interesting and efficient way of visiting the city than battling the road traffic. Service was excellent and staff helpful whenever we had a query. The limousine that they arranged for each leg of the airport trip worked really well and took the hassle out of a potentially painful situation. It was pricey but worth every penny.

The hotel has been created out of an older building which was a school in its most recent incarnation. The transformation has been tastefully and respectfully done. We were, however, underwhelmed by our room. We had paid extra for a junior suite. A suite in a palazzo conjures up a picture of comfort and ease, maybe even luxury, that was not delivered. The room was small and rather ordinary room with old fashioned fittings, a very high ceiling and bare, creaky (though original) floor boards. For some people this might be quaint and characterful. For us it was spartan, lacking comfort and charm--shades of a boarding school. There was no way that you could spend any time relaxing in it.

We ate dinner and had breakfast and in each case the food was fine without being exciting or distinguished.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It's an oasis in noisy crowded Bangkok. It's sort of like a B&B--I would not want to be there when all the rooms are full. since I'm a light sleeper. For sure, you could hear way too much. We had a room on the second floor, and the property wasn't full when we were there, so our floors could really creak and not bother anyone below us. The place needs some TLC-there is peeling paint outside but the grounds are lovely. The boat runs pretty regularly; it really is 24x7. We had a very early departure and the staff arranged for transportation that worked like clockwork. The staff even provided us a carry out snack since we were missing breakfast--a lovely touch.

Room Tip: stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmyturnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely staff, antique rooms, copper fittings in the washrooms.The private boat has an amazingly happy *snob value*! :) operates 24X7!

The complementary room upgrade made it even more awesome!

Praya Palazzo is 15 mins by boat from the grand palace, Wat Arun and most of the other attractions, Khao San is an easy walk from here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushilthaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#186 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#70 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#294 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#406 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#174 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing