We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - / poor +”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20
Ranked #533 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Trip advisors point system does not always allow to describe the fine details which can make a place become "poor" or "average". In this case, my rating is as in the header. At first, I thought to hammer them for their sloppiness in not providing really clean rooms (including bathrooms). Or for the lousy breakfast, the horrible aircond, the misleading word "suites", the lazy tuk tuk driver... But when I booked I had a choice and so I also blame myself for falling into the trap laid out in the form of trompe l'oeil photos on their web-site and the usual overselling vocabulary. I will not stay at this establishment again MAINLY because of it's location. If this would be a hidden gem, I would not mind the grueling walks from the BTS station after a day of shopping. But then, the mix of quality, price and location make me look for other options which suit me better.
PS: I don't understand how some fellow travellers write "great service" (what service?) and I would be curious to know what it takes to achieve this state of mind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stay this hotel on February 21 for 2 rooms. The rooms are clean and convenient. But shower curtain has a fungus.

P.S. please do not request for morning call because you will not receive that service. Our flight time is 7:00 a.m. so we must check out at 4:00 am. and request for morning call at 3:30. Good luck we wake up at 3:15. We didn't received any call both 2 rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After having my wallet stolen in Cambodia I was relying on using my mates account and getting cash transferred to it, When he went back home and I still didn't have a flight home after 10 weeks of backpacking I had to find somewhere that could be pre-paid while I frantically searched for a firm that I could fly back to the UK with without presenting my card at check-in.

Thankfully the Privacy Suites allowed me to pre pay and this was the reason I chose it. I got upgraded to a suite free of charge on check-in and the woman at the desk was great with me. I can imagine a 6ft 2 lad with 10 weeks worth of hair growth (due to not trusting a thai barber....never trust one believe me I have seen the results) a raggy beard and a dusty old backpack is the most welcome in a property like this but I wasn't judged and treated great. After a few days in some dingy guest house in Koh San road I felt like the King.

Roof top pool was quality, room was clean, spacious and had everything I needed. Was the first week of the Premier League and the room had the TV channel so I was in my element. Absolutely skint, couldn't get any money out so cabinned up in this place with pre paid takeaways and English football. What more coul I want? Bathroom was spacious, clean and very modern.

Only downside was location. if you can't get the golf buggy or your walking back it is an absolute trek down that Soi.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite where I was upgraded has an outdoor bath with plastic over roof. When the rain co...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DohaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Me and 2 friends visiting Bangkok early january this year and decide to try this
hotel when see this central adress.
Room was very nice also including a small (which we not use) kitchen, its was quiet there
but only 3 min with hotels tuk tuk to sukhumvit road for free. Tuk tuk also drive you free to
nearest shoppingcenter.
Free internet service also nice

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. It was a great exp. big and clean rooms. Good staff. Would def come back again.. Great location.. Very well connected to all the tourist spots.. Would recpmmend all my friends and family to stay at this hotel..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idWicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Hotel Name: Privacy Suites
Location: Bangkok Thailand -- Sukummvit Area -- Soi 20
Date of Stay: December 2012 (7 Nights) January 2012 (7 Nights)

If you like the review please rate it as "helpful".

Overall Rating 4 out of 5

Location: 3.5
Room Quality: 3.5
Ambiance Rating: 4
Facilities/Amenities: 2.5
Approach to Service: 4
Usability: 3.5
Value for Money: 3.5

Summary: Small hotel that is above average in charm. Appropriate for Single travelers or couples. A good value choice those who value personality and ambiance and want a bit of quiet while not being too far removed from all the action of Sukummvit, Asoke and Soi 22.

Detailed Commentary:

Positioning: This hotel seemed to target a wide range of mid-class tourists -- mostly younger from my observation. The rooms are too small to accommodate families (except for their one master suite) and most guests appeared to be single males or couples. The hotel is (I think) Indian owned but the guests I saw were either European, Japanese or Thai.

Location 3.5/5:
The venue is situated on a very small Soi just off of Soi 20 down from Sukummvit Road about half way between the Phrom Phrong and Asoke BTS stations. It is about a 20 minute walk to either station and a 12 to 15 minute walk to Sukummvit Road.. The venue itself is small and a bit hard to find if you do not know where it is; but is actually well situated. I would suggest having the address and directions in Thai for taxi drivers though. The location is a mixed bag. It is quite far down soi 20 but also situated in a very quiet place. Soi 20 is a busy and non-descript Soi housing some major Tourist class hotels like the Best Western, Windsor Suites, Rembrandt and the awful Royal Parkview. The Soi also includes many restaurants including one of the better known German restaurants in Bangkok (Bei Otto) and Sports Corner (a restaurant/pub that shows a lot of American sports rather than the European variety that dominate most sports bars). Should one prefer not to traverse Soi 20 there is very nearby a link to Soi 22 (3 minute walk). Soi 22 is quite a touristy area with numerous other hotels that cater primarily to budget tourists and tour groups. Thus, you get the benefits as well as the trappings of such an area. The street is littered with massage parlors and tourist amenities like currency exchange and convenience stores. A cluster of 20 to 30 pool/hostess bars sits a a few minute walk up Soi 22. Despite the overtly touristy aspects of Soi 22, I personally like the Phrom Phrong area because of the presence of Benjasiri Park which is a bit of an Oasis in the middle of the bustle and grime of Sukummvit road. It is about a 17-18 minute walk from the Hotel and is a great place for chilling out, seeing real Thai people (not just bar girls and those working in the tourist sector), and jogging. There are also basketball and futsol courts there, a skateboard park, numerous exercise stations and a small lake with fountain. There is also the upmarket Emporium mall adjacent to the BTS.

Room Quality 3.5/5:
The hotel is only six stories high with only 5 or 6 rooms each on floors 2-5. The top floor contains their top suite and pool. The bottom houses reception and a small eating area. The standard rooms are rather small and front facing over the Soi, so I went with an executive corner room. Which gave me a rear and side facing into some trees. All rooms have small balconies which is a nice touch. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the bathroom had a a tub/shower combo. Unfortunately the water pressure was somewhat problematic and probably the biggest weakness of the hotel -- not a huge problem but enough to make showering less enjoyable than it should be. The room I stayed in was a deluxe corner room and included a water heater, safety box, LCD TV, stove, small refrigerator/minibar, microwave, hair dryer and small sink. A small kitchen counter with two chairs was also present. The rooms were clean but did show some wear in terms of paint peeling on the walls.

Ambiance 4/5:
Noise was largely not an issue as there is hardly any traffic on the Soi; The rooms were also quiet in that you could not hear your neighbors at night. Unfortunately the door entrances are quite close together and on one night I had one idiot neighbor who seemed to slam the door every 20 minutes. The bed was comfortable. The overall feel of the room was : Personable, Comfortable, Clean, Airy, Cheerful and I did not have any negative feelings. In fact, I would say that ambiance is the biggest advantage of the hotel. The rooms were painted in Thai Purple and had some personality compared to so many hotels in this class that are generic and lifeless. I liked the small balcony and door opening to it, as well as the windows overlooking greenery that gave a feeling of openness even though the room was not all that large. The greenery and birds chirping was a welcome respite from gritty urban Sukummvit and the major Sois in the area.

Facilities and Amenities 2.5/5:
There is a very small outdoor pool on the top floor with only two seats next to it. Unfortunately the pool was under renovation during my stay. There is no fitness center nor any other type of facility. There is no cafe or room service but many dining options are only a 5 minute walk away. Free Wifi is available and worked well. There is a tiny breakfast area downstairs and they offer complimentary coffee and tea. I did not have breakfast in my package but from observing some guests downstairs who did, I think I would give it a miss. The TV programming was mid-range for English language speakers -- No HBO etc but a variety of football (soccer to Americans) oriented sports channels, bbc, and some channels like Fox etc. The programming seemed to have an above average skew of Indian programs, perhaps reflecting the hotel's ownership, although I did not observe any Indian guests at the Hotel.

Approach to Service 4/5:
The place feels like a small family run business. Very friendly, remembered me from my previous visit, took care of small problems like resetting routers very quickly.

Usability 3.5/5:
Usability concerns details that may not matter to many people, particularly those that are only staying for a night or two. However, since design and usability are of interest to me, I like to include it anyway. Some hotels maximize space with very intelligent room design while others pay no attention to usability and guest convenience.Privacy suites was slightly above average in this regard. I liked the ample power points and room layout, and lighting was also appropriate for reading in bed. The rooms are not that large, but the space is used quite efficiently.

Value for Money 3.5/5:
This is always subjective depending on what is important to most people. I booked directly with the hotel and paid a weekly rate which is discounted from the nightly rate. Overall I thought the hotel was a decent value although you can get larger rooms and more facilities elsewhere at around the same price point. It's real value is intangible --- for me the place just worked emotively -- comfortable, bright, cheery, relaxed and friendly -- a nice place to come back to after traveling around gritty Bangkok.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Wrldtrvlr-asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed only two nights here with a group of friends. All of us were given extremely spacious rooms, with great kitchenette facilities and a small balcony.

The location is okay, abit far from the main road but they do provide you with a tuktuk, to get to the main road which has busses/train services.

Communication can be abit of a challenge as not all the stuff can speak english but they were helpful and extremely friendly - even helped us to order home delivery from the local pizzahut/kfc!

Would definatley stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hessienoogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#292 of 880 in Bangkok
718 reviews
Sukhumvit
iCheck inn Sukhumvit 22
iCheck inn Sukhumvit 22
#372 of 880 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
House by the Pond
House by the Pond
#430 of 880 in Bangkok
102 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#401 of 880 in Bangkok
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20

Address: 140 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Privacy Suites)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as The Privacy Suites, iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 is located in the popular Soi 20 and has one of the best locations for a Boutique Hotel on central Sukhumvit road. The hotel offers comfort with creativity, service with style and function with form. The contemporary rooms at iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 are equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen cable TVs and private balconies. They also come with a kitchen and dining area. En suite bathrooms and a kitchen area are provided. The hotel offers a 24-hour front desk and laundry service. Other dining options are available at the nearby Sukhumvit entertainment area. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a small outdoor pool. Positioned just steps away from the city's renowned business and entertainment district, this vibrant residence offers a unique and charming place with serenity and exclusive privacy, created in a chic colored vintage style. With nearby bars and restaurants, the hotel is a stone throw away from Asoke and Nana Sky Train Station . Queen Sirikit Public Parks and shopping malls are also within a safe walking distance. iCheck inn Residence Sukhumvit 20 is about 20 km from Suvarnabhumi Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Privacy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing