We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Great Restaurant”
Review of Himalaya Residence

Himalaya Residence
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Himalaya Residence
Ranked #329 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I was a bit leery when ‘bookings.com congratulated me on booking the ‘cheapest room’ at the place but I went anyway. I arrived a bit late and ordered food that I had never had before – I loved it! Try the Prince Henry curried chicken dish! Even the vegetables were strange to me I they were great. The restaurant sold me on the place.
My room was large and comfortable (with the ‘mosquito chaser’). The TV was large but received only 12 channels – I was stuck with the Al Jeerzera network but I really wasn’t there to watch television. The WiFi worked just fine.
The room itself was clean but even though I hung out the “Please clean the room sign.”. the next day – no one had cleaned it by the time I returned later in the evening. The bathroom was adequately large but… as typical with Thai bathrooms - not clean. Toothpaste splatter on the mirror and the tub hadn’t been cleaned in ages. In addition, the shower handle addition was mounted too low for anyone over four feet high and the hot / cold adjustment wouldn’t stay in one place.

The place is a bit tucked away (off the beaten path) but transportation was available.

All-in-all, for the off-season value, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: This is a "Residence" hotel, I don't think that there are that many transit rooms avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balls_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked a room which didnt exist, so we lost our money. Instead we got an overpriced oversized room that smelled fishy in the bathroom, with tv that you could hardly see anything on, for 900 baht because it was Off season (29 dollars) a night. It includes breakfast but ONLY BEFORE 9 o clock. - Dont bother - the breakfast sucks. The bread is soft although "toasted", the jam bad, small portion and 2 small pieces of melon and bad coffee. Not worth it.

Its a 10 minute (LONG and sweaty walk) to get to sukhumvit main road. Believe me its not something you look forward to when waking up. There are motorcycle-taxis closeby that you can take for 30 baht (1 dollar) if its a short trip like to the mainroad.

The staff didnt know any english and instantly thought that I was "Tommy" that had booked a room, although I am a girl. I tried to ask several people to make a LOCAL phonecall, trying to show with my hand, and pointing at their phone, but they didnt know what I meant, and started talking about passportnumbers instead.. And so on, you can imagine. They dont know any english what so ever, unless you gesture everything. The manager knows good english and is very helpful, but he is not always at the office, and it seems redundant to ask the head for simple things.

The day after we changed to a smaller room with kingsizebed for 600 baht (= ca 19 dollars, we got a better price since we bargained and it was off season) - in the seperate building ( = MUCH BETTER.) So make sure you get a room in the seperate building where they also have the designschool (very modern). The room we got didnt have a toiletdoor, only a curtain. So not for the shy one's..

But it didnt stop there: The bed broke. The handwash broke. The water broke. The fan broke. The wifi was most of the time not good... AND they started renovating outside our door.

Cleaning is very good, they come every day and try to get the room cleaned. Although we always slept late. Washing clothes is available, but pricy.

The food is mainly Nepal cuisine, and very bad. I tried the noodles, no taste at all, and it felt like i was chewing dough. The dessert, icecream, was sprinkled with jellycandy and sprinkles. (We asked for coffee flavour and got chocolate flavour).

Nearest trainstation is Prom Phong, 20 min walk.

All and all, this is not a place I recommend, as me and my partner got dissapointed time after time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelle_Zami_Carousel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I have been there several times in the last 12 months, staff is very friendly, location is very convenient and all in all is great value for money, not far from airport either and airport train.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Hoong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,627 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 890 in Bangkok
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalaya Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalaya Residence

Address: 235 / 5, Soi 31, Sukhumvit 31, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £16 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himalaya Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Himalaya Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing