We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location/accommodation/room”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #27 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
“great location/accommodation/room”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This Lub d Siam Square was opened in Apr 2010 and relatively new when I checked in.
The hotel is next door to Siam Discovery, Paragon malls and near National Stadium BTS.
In the lobby you will be greeted by professional receptionist though group check-in may be a bit difficult. There are 8 public PC you can stand in front of and access internet as well as a couple of tables/sofa available.
On each floor, there are rest room/bath room complexes for gents/ladies. TOTO facilities with Kimberly Clark Professional wipes are impressive.
In the room, you will find electricity dock at your bed only working after inserting your room card, which is energy saving but a bit inconvenient too. Bed sheets are clean and bed mats are comfortable.

Room Tip: mixed dorm/girl dorm available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    363
    81
    18
    17
See reviews for
47
183
347
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Right at the foot of BTS station(National Stadium). 5mins walk to shopping malls & Siam Square night market. Many taxi/tuk-tuk drivers know Lub.d. Never a problem to get back at night.
Sometimes smelly at ladie's dorm. Public bathrooms are nice & clean, but don't know why they always keep the door open --not convinient for girls:-P
The price is more expensive than other hostels in Bangkok. Good for solo, not recommonded to couples or friends.
Staff are farely friendly to most guests, especially warmly to westerners though.
Nice yard for chatting & eating ^_^!! Cool door scanning system!!
Wi-Fi system sometimes sucks...

Room Tip: Ladie's Dorm is a little bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica880526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Lub.d was great, no superb. It was the first hostel I've stayed in as I've been staying in guesthouses so far on my trip.

I stayed in the female dorms, they are in a secure section on the ground floor and have their own female bathroom - which is lovely also. The showers have great pressure, perfect for long hair! And clean, so clean! There is a cleaning lady that goes in and out of the bathroom all day so it's super clean and the dorms are swept daily, only complaint would be there are no bins in the dorms.

The dorms are great, each bed has it's own nightlight, shelf and power-point. The bunks are high so if you're on the bottom bunk you can actually sit up without banging your head, something I found out where i'm staying now is actually quite nice...

The staff are friendly and helpful and you can buy food there through out the day, plus drinks. I highly recommend the food stall outside lub.d for dinner, it's to the left as you come out the hostel. You can eat here for around $1. There's also a 7-Eleven nearby.

There's free wifi and in the common area there are about 10 PCs for people to use. There's also a DVD room with bean bags and you can hire DVDs there.

The hostel is right by National Stadium which is basically Siam, Bangkok's upmarket shopping district. It's a safe area and as a solo female I never felt worried.

As hostels go Lub.d isn't cheap, the female dorms are around $16 a night however the mixed dorms are cheaper. But, you get what you pay for. The hostel is new, clean and has great facilities. Sick off washing your clothes in toilet sinks? There are washing machines and dryers you can use for $1 each.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Request a bunk away from the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Lub d was great, the staff are extremely genuine and helpful. i found out about it because a good Thai friend of mine recommended it and he had nothing to say but positive things about Lub d. He had told me that the rates were extremely cheap and that the place itself was beautiful with a great atmosphere. And when i arrived, i realized that he was not joking. They really made a point to make you feel welcome and to take care of anything that you needed or had questions about. And the facilities were extremely well kept as well. The location is great too because you are within walking and taxi distance from just about everything and anything that you could wish to do. I know that for future trips that i will be taking to BKK, i will definitely be staying at Lub d again and would always recommend it to anyone traveling to BKK. And it was great too because when i arrived there, they had a special contest going on for customers to win a free nights stay. Foreigners had to memorize and pronounce a Thai tongue twister as fast as they could and if you said it correctly like a native Thai speaker you won a free nights stay (which i did). They are always doing fun things like that so if you keep an eye out you can sometimes get some really great deals

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coreyjbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We all are elated by your comment. It made our day! Please stay in touch with us on our Facebook page. We promise that we will continue on improving our products and services since your happiness is our joy. Hope to see you on your next visit to Bangkok! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Very near to BTS National Stadium which is also just a stop away from Siam Square, the hostel is also just opposite another popular shopping mall, MBK!
Hostel has very friendly hosts, I remembered I was packing my stuff & had already checked out, and I found out that I forgot to keep my towel, so I asked the host to let me into the resident area & collect my towel, they were not hesitant and let me in!!!
Hostel has great security for left baggage & stay!! Great for backpackers!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lingzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I stayed there for one night.Locates at a good area,you can go to the siam centre ,MBK and more shopping malls just for 3-5 minus and the BTS skyline station "National Stadium" is nearby ,so you can go to the Train station or ariport conveniently.And people there is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack19840322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at Lub d for 6 nights in a deluxe double room. The hostel was very clean, rooms were serviced every day, air-con worked well, staff were very courteous and helpful. The place was very secure, with keycard entry system and cctv cameras.
Ok on price not great value for money.
The rooms had TV and safe, but CRUCIALLY they had no fridge, I'd expect this in a "deluxe" room, even in a hostel. They sell cans behind reception though. 25 baht each, do yourself a favour and buy them from the mini mart next door for 14 baht.
The hostel wasn't the most friendly I've ever been in, there were a group of about half a dozen noisy Americans/Canadians who seemed to be the core social group. When it rained they came inside and sat right outside the deluxe double rooms and made way too much noise, way too late into the night. Inspite of a house rule asking for no noise after 10pm staff didn't seem interested.
Maybe I'm just getting old!
People tended to keep to themselves and there was zero atmosphere going on.
A nice enough hostel but If you are looking for a friendly sociable hostel, look elsewhere....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markphillips72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments. Regarding fridge, we have thought about it when we built the hostel but decided against it but if guests have anything they want to keep in a fridge, our staff are happy to assist by storing them in our Café’ fridge. We should have made a sign in the double deluxe room. As for the atmosphere, we are happy to report that we have launched weekly activities led by our friendly & entertaining hosts such as 'City Stroll' on Thursday and Sunday, 'Yadong Party' on Wednesday and 'Club Crawl' on Friday. We update our activities regularly on our facebook fan page. Thank you once again for provided us valuable comments. We hope you will consider us on your next visit to Bangkok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#155 of 858 in Bangkok
1,439 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#101 of 858 in Bangkok
2,057 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#751 of 858 in Bangkok
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#120 of 858 in Bangkok
338 reviews
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#28 of 1,194 in Bangkok
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Property: Lub d Bangkok Siam
Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing