We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place, great location but...”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #32 of 1,346 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed for three nights in the Delux couple room.
pros: the place is very clean and nice. the staff were very helpful and caring, near to the malls complex and a sky-train station.
cons: little over priced, the room we took cost us more than 60$ per night (in the weekend it was more than 70$).
there was a construction area right outside our window, and they work there until midnight!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words, especially regarding our cleanliness and friendliness. Love it! :)

For noise until midnight from the construction site next to us, we have sent a complaint to their project manager that it is not acceptable (and illegal). They apologized and promised that it won't happen again.

Thank you again for enabling us to make Lub d the hostel everyone wants to stay at. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Wimonrat Songkhwamjaroen (Pang)
Hostel Manager & The Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

The word "hostel" conjures up horrible images, especially after the movie...but definitely not Lub d Siam Square. The location is in the quiet side of Siam Square but the escalator to the BTS is right in front of the hostel entrance -- three minutes walk and you're in MBK (go try the food court!), Siam Square (for trendy cheap clothes and cute cafes) and all the other malls connected by the pedestrian walkway (which was really helpful because were still able to go out even if it was raining very hard). Right beside the hostel is the Bangkok Art and Culture Center, which may sound boring but it's really cool -- they have funky artsy installations on the street. It's worth a visit. The lobby is really cool with numerous computers for you to check email, etc. The rooms are perfectly sized, and not too cramped. The beds are really really comfortable, the upper bunk bed is fixed to the wall so the lower bunk bed won't get disturbed if the upper bunk bed is moving -- really smart. The storage facilities are also good in each room (bring your own locks!). There are two communal bathrooms in each floor, one each for males and females. Each bathroom has four shower stalls and four toilet stalls. Again, really well designed. My only complaint is that there is no full length mirror in the ladies bathroom. There was never a need to queue up in the bathrooms (I guess the hardcore backpackers don't really shower?! I don't know!). The soap and the shampoo in the showers smelled really good (I didn't expect hotel shampoos to be this great). For cleanliness, there's no need to worry -- everything is always being cleaned up by the staff. The staff are fun and very helpful. The breakfast at the lobby is good and filling. There are lots of activities available at the lobby (chess, guidebooks, guitar, movies, etc). We booked this hotel 3 months prior so we got the early bird promo...and this was really a steal!

Room Tip: Book three months earlier to get the early bird promo (30% off)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoenixmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hostel is very expensive for Bangkok. However, if you are not a20 year old looking for nothing but getting trashed, it's a very good place to meet nice people.
If you have already seen Bangkok it's in a handy location, if you are in bangkok to do tourism only i think it is better to stay in the khao san area.
Close to malls and easy to get to from the airport.
The common areas are very good but the rooms are tiny. The Bathroom is not inside the room, but it's very clean

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in one of the Double Deluxe rooms. The hostel has a modern and industrial look. This makes it easy to keep clean, which it definitely was. Upon arrival we received a very friendly welcome. The room was small but it had everything you could wish of it. It had a wonderful walk in shower, a separate toilet and a good bed. Towels were renewed every day and the airconditioning worked perfectly. Although located in the bustling area of Siam Square, it was not noisy at all. There were 8 computers in the downstairs lobby with fast and free internet for the guests.
Locationwise, it was connected with the skytrain grid via the "National Stadium" stop in front of the hostel. From there on, pretty much everything in the modern center of town could be reached. If you want to go to the old part, which features all the sights to see and Khao San road, the place to be for a good night out, you can easily grab a taxi (which cost anywhere between 60 and 80 baht, a ridiculously small amount of money).

If I had to fault it in any way, I would have to mention there was no place to put your clothes in the room ( we used the writing table and the extra space at the foot of the bed) and breakfast was rather standard.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at Lub d Siam Square and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyVrancken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way through Bangkok. I've stayed numerous places in Bangkok and this is certainly my favourite. Bangkok like most capitals is a bit expensive, but LudD is pretty good value for money. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and professional. The shared bathrooms were very nice (the nicest shower I've had in ages) and kept beautifully clean. The two minor downsides were, 1) the a/c unit in our room was very noisy and 2) a new building is being built next door - this was a bit noisy in the day time, but was fine at night time, and in the end I slept fine. It is a good location, very easy to get to, and the directions from the airport are very clear and easy to follow. Not the most amazing hotel in the world, but a great and reasonably priced place to lay your head in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Took the ensuite room and was very happy with it. Tho compact, it was very well laid out so i didnt feel it was cramp at all. Location is perfect, walking distance to all the great malls with the train just a minute away so its easy to get to anyone. Will definitely consider coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khavien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Everything summed up make this hostel excellent . The location is great, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly....only they're full sometimes! This hostel is located right next to the skytrain. It has a excellent cafe downstairs and a 7-11 next door. MBK and siam square are all 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124,567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#154 of 891 in Bangkok
1,558 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#18 of 1,346 in Bangkok
836 reviews
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#14 of 1,346 in Bangkok
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,346 in Bangkok
1,105 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,346 in Bangkok
724 reviews
Siam
Mellow Fellow Hostel
Mellow Fellow Hostel
#51 of 1,346 in Bangkok
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,346 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £13 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing