We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY WHILE IN BANGKOK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #30 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY WHILE IN BANGKOK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I recently visited Bangkok and I was really glad to stay at LUB D. Its close to BTS Skytrain station and that made it easy for me to move around. The staff there are simply great, they are so helpful and always smiled and said hallo to me. They especially were ready to show me directions on the maps whenever I wanted to go somewhere. Their warmth and friendliness made my stay there very memorable. Above all, it is a very clean place .
Nicholas Mokua Roy Nyabiage
from Nairobi, Kenya

Room Tip: very close to BTC, SKYTRAIN station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mokua n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    357
    77
    18
    16
See reviews for
44
181
341
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

It was more like a hotel-i had a phone I could call the front desk with. The staff was great, the security was fantastic, the place is social, clean, cordial etc and there's lots to do. If you strictly want kaosan experience or a super budget spot, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great place to stay. Very central and smack right near the MRT. Staff are friendly too. They did did a glitch on my arrival. Were supposed to be staying in the 4 bed all ladies dorm. They did give me and my friend the room but when we opened the door, there were already 3 other person in the 4 bed dorm. So we had to inform the receptionists area again. But they rectified the matter quickly but put us on the mixed floor but in an all ladies 4 bed dorm, which was ok too me as well and gave each of us one complimentary breakfast. Toilets were very clean. Most of the time dry. You get hot water shower and there's shampoo and soap as well.

They have great crowd of travellers. Quite a number of ladies travelling by themselves stay here. It's a pretty safe hostel to be in.

Great massage place just like 2 minutes away called Lek Massage. There's also some food stall outside the hostel, which you can get cheap food, like barbecued meat, fresh orange juice, usually rice and thai food.

Very convenient to all shopping location as well. MBK just at the opposite. You can walk to Siam Square as well and its surrounding. Also managed to walk all the way to Central World and Platinum Mall.

Overall, I will stay there again for its central location and convenience. Cleanliness is also a plus which I like.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asiatraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Lub D was a great experience, especially for someone going to bangkok for their first time. Being right next to the BTS SkyTrain was a big plus, also so close Bankok arts and culture center and all that Siam Square has to offer with shopping and street food. The staff were there to answer any questions i had and since i didn't bring a computer with me to thailand, having high speed internet in the A/C'd lobby was key. Very clean and modern rooms and bathrooms. Rooms have handy reading light and outlet (even for top bunks) as well. When I'm back in Bangkok, i'll be back to Lub D.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

PROS:
- BTS train station is literally situated just right outside of the building.
- Walking distance to shopping malls (Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery, MBK), Siam Square, Siam Vintage.
- Free computers with Internet connection in the lobby to use.

CONS:
- The dorm room is rather small and cramped but bed is comfortable.
- Constant construction noise coming from the next building.

a big shout out to their friendly cleaning staffs!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chunhien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed there for one night and I could hardly get shut eye due to the construction next door. Room was alright, highlight of the whole compound was the iPod dock in my private double room was a hit. Very convenient location to the malls and good food around the area too. Staff were okay, but could've been more welcoming considering I had came alone and spent 9 hours on the road prior to arriving. Bathroom staff were the best in my opinion!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I wanted something central handy for shops and MBK in particular plus convenient or the BTS train network. Lub D Siam Sq hit the spot. National Stadium BTS is right outside the front door so I could travel quickly across the city in comfort & cheaply. This is a funky upscale backpacker crash - not a hotel - more like a party venue/cafe/office area with computer access & free wifi - with the accommodation units built-on at the rear. Bright, open communal area acts as the focal point & great to meet fellow travellers, sit, grab a coffee or snack - the staff are very helpful & friendly and will assist in any way they can with your trip. There are also daily events - I totally enjoyed the Thai whiskey night (a bit random, messy & loads of fun for sure!) and then regrettably missed the Thai boxing event when a group went over to a ring near Siam Sq night bazaar to get a lesson with a trainer in a proper Muy Thai ring. I had a double luxe unit with shower & wc - the format is postage stamp sized, approx 20m2, most of which is taken up by the seriously comfy raised dbl bed. Shower & wc were each 1.5m2 so no room to swing a mouse let alone a cat but that was ok - sink is actually in the main room facing the bed - I was so busy daytimes either visiting friends in other parts of the city or shopping I only needed the functionality of the place, so all good. The bed was incredibly comfy - Thai beds are firm - without exception, and coupled with four fab pillows I was in dreamyland in no time. The unit has polished concrete walls offset by red gloss giving the room a bit of a cell-like industrial feel. It has free wifi, aircon & a flat screen tv wall-mounted facing the bed. Regrettably no mini-fridge or cooking facility which would've been handy (but you can get nibbles & drinks in the main reception area anyhow, and with so many good eating places within 10 mins walk this wasn't a problem) or fixed telephone/data line. I had a Thai sim which I bought from the airport & probably paid over the odds - head to the MBK & buy your sims there - much cheaper & a selection of carriers to choose from if you do. Staff were just fab - I had a really great time with them & a laugh - brilliant team. I'd definitely stay again if just me or 2 sharing but not a family joint - more singles & 2's travelling together (hence dorm accommodation as well as rooms with/without own wc & shower). One thing I did forget is that I booked directly thru Booking.com (as I always do!) but I'm also a YHA member - if you are too, get in touch with Lub D direct & let them know - they give a 10% discount for IHA members, so don't miss out on that. (I was very pleased to be able to introduce at least one staff member to Van Houtens hot chocolate with added Jack Daniels after a long day trogging thru MBK's retail jungle ... so left my mark I think.) Thank you for a great but regrettably too brief stay! ;)x

Room Tip: TIPS!: ROOMS! Standard rooms have shared bathroom facilities as does dorm accommodation, so if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#92 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#1 of 1,132 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#15 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Property: Lub d Bangkok Siam
Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing