We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #30 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed during the demonstrations against the government, which were happening outside all along the road, so this changed my experience I am sure. Because of this it was a bit noisy until late at night and the taxi drivers have difficulty getting all the way there. The sky train is right outside however which is very convenient.

The staff are great, speak good English and are very helpful. Everything is very clean and the facilities are extremely well maintained. Down in the lobby there are computers you can use for free, with the option to print. The wifi also works well. The bar outside was being renovated but you can still buy drinks and food from the bar, but if you're buying water it is much cheaper to get it from the 7 Eleven just outside on the left.

Some might consider it a little expensive but it is more a top-end hostel, with a price to match. Would recommend due to the great facilities and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try and be towards the back due to the noise from the demonstrations (if they are still happening)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    357
    77
    18
    16
See reviews for
44
181
341
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
St.Gallen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at the Lub d for 3 nights. The bunk beds are very comfortable and new, and they are also very steady, so if someone on the top moves you don't feel it so much at the bottom. Very nice bathrooms with plenty of space and showers. The bedrooms are a little bit small but there are very large lockers. I like the architecture of the hostel very much, because everything is so spacious and open. The location is great too, directly at siam square, you can walk to all the big shopping malls. The skytrain station is literally just above the hostel. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andywarhol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Clean, comfy, modern vibe and convenient to public transportation for getting around Bangkok. Good access to the BTS Sky Train and close to shopping mall. You feel safe even there are protesters outside. You may consider this hostel as an option if you are visiting Bangkok. ')

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyThatsJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have stayed at this hostel twice- one of the best in the world. Super friendly, really clean, modern, and a fun atmosphere. This is located in the new Siam Square area of the city with good access to the BTS and close to lots of shopping. Bonus: they were fully booked our last night and after a mixup with our other hostel (overbooking) they allowed us to store our bags, crash in the theatre room and use their bathrooms...all for free before we left for the airport for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I slept for 4 nights in Siam Square. Location is great and staffs are very helpful. The lady in the Travel Desk was awesome and was ready every time to help in any way.

I was on the time of Bangkok Shutdown. I was afraid but felt very comfortable because of easy access to BTS and friendly staffs on their guidelines,specially the lady in the travel desk.

Overall, I was very happy with the services and for everything.

Room Tip: Mix dorm is fine for the backpackers!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gopichandrabhusal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was a last minute decision to tag on another segment to include Bangkok at the tail end of my 2 city trip. When I checked in, I found the place filled with 20 something year olds who were all either surfing the Net or watching telly. I really liked the "open air" feel of the place. The staff all spoke good English although they tended to be more helpful to the younger crowd that those past 40! Come night fall, there were hawker stalls outside Lub d plying delicious food which they were happy to deliver to your door step. It's hard to feel alone here as people were coming and going all the time and it is relatively easy to make friends even if you are travelling solo, like I usually do. The proximity of the BTS sky train was a huge plus for someone with no sense of direction like me. Overall, this boutique hostel has a lot going for it, cleanliness, a very good ambiance and good value. On my last evening there, I met a group of 22 volunteers from (I believe) the Peace Corps who had booked several private rooms at Lub d so they could have a shower and a nap between flying back to the States. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Lub d ("good sleeps" was what it meant in Thai I was told) and would certainly choose this place again the next time I decide to hop on a plane to Bangkok without a hotel reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor quieter but there is no lift so you have to be prepared to climb up some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atomicbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent four nights at LubD at the end of my SE Asia holiday. The rooms are thoroughly clean and only hold four people, so there's minimum chance of being stuck with someone annoying (snoring, sleeptalking, calling home in the middle of the night). The staff are awesome and very helpful, they'll invite you to join them for a chat. Try the snake wine with them, it's a taste of Bangkok you won't forget.
The amenities are up to hotel standard, spotless toilets and showers and instant hot water. The tv room is comfy and there's at least a hundred dvds plus cable. The breakfast they offer is healthy and will set you back about $2. The wi-fi was available everywhere I took my phone and they have pc computers to.
It was great and if I tour Thailand it's where I'll start.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLPardey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#92 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#1 of 1,132 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#15 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Property: Lub d Bangkok Siam
Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,132 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing