We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Ranked #13 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gippsland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bargain hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

The hotel has a tiny road frontage, but opens into a four storey building built around an attractive open courtyard. Comfortable and clean accommodation at a very affordable price. Perfect location for sight-seeing . . . a couple of blocks from Royal Palace, Reclining Buddha etc . . . short taxi ride to Khao San Road. Breakfast was plentiful . . . al fresco dining. Service was excellent: helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms are of a muchness, but I don't remember seeing an elevator?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    234
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
91
230
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The room was large, clean and the aircon unit wasn't loud. Breakfast buffet was great with rice, fruit, eggs and meats. A 15 min walk to Kao Sahn Road, 10 min walk to grand palace and 10 min walk to the nighttime flower market. Staff were helpful.
A local market and 7 11 is nearby which was great! I would highly recommend. Tip: print out the taxi driver instructions in thai from the website as not many knew where it was.
WIFI was ok

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wuju187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights ahead of our trip around Thailand and enjoyed it so much that we rebooked for a night at the end of our trip - I had planned to try out a different area in Bangkok but we liked it there. It was a really interesting area to walk (beware of the Tuk Tuk drivers though - they tend to hound you if you have a map in your hand). The area feels really peaceful and suburban even but not in a bad way, Khao San Road is a short walk if that's the scene you're after and the river is also close by.

Taxi drivers do find it hard to find so after our first taxi experience we just asked to be taken to Khao San Road and walked from there rather than going round and round with a confused driver.

Staff are great, really friendly and helpful - we asked them to book us a couple of tickets on the overnight train south and went out for the day and when we came back they had been frantically trying to get in touch with us as the train was completely booked - they'd tried every option and also had flight and bus options available for us - we really appreciated the trouble they went to.

Breakfast is nice, simple but all you need to start your day.

Highly recommend - excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Appleetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My boyfriend and I booked our stay here when visiting Bangkok this May and could not find a negative thing about our stay. Near the Ko San road area of Old City but tucked away in a quiet road the location was brilliant for our itinerary, although the taxi's did not know where it was the hotel provide you with a pocket handy map to guide them!

Rooms were spacious and clean with complimentary toiletries and water, breakfast was lovely and with hearty portions. The hotel also offers day tours for attractions in and around Bangkok for reasonable prices and very well organised. Whilst staying here my boyfriend had an accident and hurt his ankle, Alec and his staff were very helpful helping us reorganise flights we had missed and were generally very attentive to our needs.

We would like to say thank you to Alec and his team for making our stay so lovely and stress free given the accident and for being so friendly and helpful! Keep up the good work.

Amy and Rob :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxylady1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazury, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nice, clean, new place just off the tourist areas but near the Royal Palace. Room large, very clean. No decor thrills, but ok. Look for the street vendor on the other side of the street for the best food in Thailand - no English though, but sign language helps :) One con - taxi drivers usually don't know where the hotel is. If you have problems, direct them to the Royal Palace or Wat Pho and give directions (turn left, etc) from there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

good service and clean. located in the old town. you have to walk a bit or take a tuk tuk to go to the fun area. but it's very close to the main monuments and attractions.

Room Tip: go if you want quiet and fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Feung Nakorn balcony is an excellent option for the budget traveler. The location can’t be beat – from the hotel, it is a short walk to the Royal Palace, Wat Pho, the river, various other temples, and the Bangkok flower market. Also, it is about a 10-15 minute walk to the bars and craziness of Khao San Road (the major backpacker party street in BKK).

The rooms are quite basic, but all the necessary components are there for comfort: A/C, a flatscreen tv, a room safe, showers with hot water, an armoire, a mini-fridge, etc. Also, the beds are very comfortable and there is free wi-fi.

The hotel building itself is not beautiful, per se, but the courtyard full of lush greenery and the fountain is a nice oasis during the day and night. The bar area near the koi pond also feels very luxurious and the second floor Café in the building facing the street is a wonderful, air-conditioned oasis with Lavazza coffee drinks!

My friend and I were also very happy with the food coming out of the kitchen; the prices were super-reasonable for hotel food and everything we ordered was really delicious (especially the Tom yum soups!).

The staff really went out of their way to provide great service, but in an unobtrusive way. For example, when we went to sit by the koi pond at night, the manager sent someone over to plug in a fan to cool us off right away! When we sat down for dinner, another staffer placed a citronella candle near our table to fend off bugs. The staff was also super-accommodating any requests that we had.

The only possible downside to staying at the Feung Nakorn Balcony is that it is not located on a major hotel strip, so some taxi drivers have a difficult time finding it. The owners of Feung Nakorn are well aware of this, which is why they have little hotel locator cards available for their guests. Really, all people have to do is to tell taxis and tuk-tuks that Feung Nakorn Balcony is right across the street from Wat (Temple) Ratchabophit. Even so, some taxi drivers might have some trouble finding it.

One additional little quirk is that the shower does not have a “lip” to catch the water, although the shower curtain helps. This means that the water goes right onto the bathroom floor. However, there was not water drainage problem, but having a some way to contain the water from the shower would have been nice.

Overall, though, I would highly recommend the Feung Nakorn balcony not only to budget travelers, but for those seeking a welcoming and lovely little oasis close to some of the major tourist attractions in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#86 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#36 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe

Property: Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Address: 29 Soi Feungthong Feungnakorn Rd., Watradchabophit | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the old neighborhood area with historical building and shop houses stand lively along one of the first road in Thailand. Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms and Cafe is a one stop heritage destination and is perfect for tourists searching for a nostalgic experience in old Bangkok. Standing right at the center, it is just a few steps away from many major historical attractions – 10 minutes walk to the Grand Palace and Wad Pho, 15 minutes walk to Khao San road and 10 minutes walk to flower market.Feung Nakorn Balcony itself boasts a mix of Thai and western designs, a 4 story building, which has been converted from a local elementary school but retains many of its classic structure and design. Here you’ll find the main reception area, a cozy open-air restaurant, and a peaceful landscaped outdoor garden. There are 4 suites, 30 standard rooms and even 4 shared dorm rooms to accommodate backpackers. The rooms are decorated with an eclectic mix of Thai styles for a different experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe Hotel Bangkok
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms And Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing