We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Ranked #13 of 604 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent three brilliant nights at Feung Nakorn Balcony. In is in the heart of the old city and within walking distance to the major attractions (Grand Palace, Khao San Road, the Flower Market etc) yet the place feels totally authentic and is located in an “untouristy” street. The rooms all open out on to a courtyard with fishponds and greenery – beautiful. The front of house staff were brilliant (ordering taxi’s / tuk-tuks for us, recommending activities, giving us wake-up calls, offering to keep some of our luggage for two months whilst we travel around the rest of South East Asia and directing us to the best restaurant we have eaten at thus far in our travels). The rooms were clean, spacious and very quiet – we sleep superbly throughout our stay here. We have no hesitation in recommending it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    234
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
91
230
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I was being shown around BKK by a local Thai friend and her boyfriend. She is a wonderful person, very kind and wanted to take care of everything for me, so she phoned up front and asked for a room to be reserved for me.
She drove me there with her boyfriend, and upon arriving her boyfriend was parking the car while I walked in with her to ask about the room.
The manager behind the desk spoke quite rudely and abruptly to my friend, even though it was in Thai I could understand the mannerism, and consequent reaction of my friend. He then continued to be difficult and refused to let us see the room. My friend got very upset t and continued to confront the manager over the way he was conducting himself.
This went on for a considerable time and I was getting a feeling that something was a foot, even though they where conversing in Thai.
In the end I calmed her down as she was nearly in tears, and tried to end the whole matter.
Then when I spoke to her she explained that the manager had been insinuating she was a hooker and I was the client. When he later realised his assumption was totally wrong he refused to back down or apologise.
Shame as it is a nice place, but with a manager like that running it I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweeteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanya_Piam, Managing Director at Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Greeting from Feung Nakorn Balcony Room and Café’s Management

Hi my name is Thaya Managing Director of Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms and Cafe. I am very sorry to learn of this incident and I had called for an immediate meeting with officers involved in this incident. They have been reprimanded for their action and had admitted their respond to your lady friend was rather short, simple but definitely in a polite manner. They both, manager and a front officer on duty, deny any sort of instigation that your lady friend was a hooker and my apology again if their respond or action would lead to this misunderstanding.

The refusal to tour other rooms other than the one we have reserved for you was declined because of the high occupancy and a lot of late check in that evening. We would like to request your kind understanding if we fail to provide satisfaction service. We have always received the nice and friendly staffs comments from our guests and definitely we would like to welcome you back the Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms and Café and we would ensure you a very pleasant stay for your next trip in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Thanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalunya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful hotel with comfortable-clean-secure rooms. Nice staff, good breakfast and near the main sights of bangkok.
The only thing i notice is that there isn't an elevator, so if you are traveling with a disabled person you should know it.

I would go there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neguitosos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Others have aptly praised the quiet and comfort of the courtyard and the good breakfasts. The location could not be better: a short walk to Wat Pho and the river, not far from the Grand Palace and the flower market and Khao San Road.

They provide a helpful page listing highlights nearby, and we urge you to explore them all, including the canals and the flower market.

Not many restaurant choices nearby. If you are willing to splurge a little, try the Deck, at the Arun guest house. Great food and an amazing riverside view of Wat Arun after dark. It's near Wat Pho. We walked to the flower market after dinner and then back to the hotel, which made a pleasant evening.

We also urge you to consult them ahead of time about travel beyond Bangkok. The gentleman who runs the travel agency in the hotel is very helpful and can set you up with train tickets, for example. We would have had a better (read air conditioned!) train trip to Chiang Mai if we had done that.

One deficiency in the clean if clinically spare rooms was enough hooks to hang clothes on in the bathroom. The rooms would benefit from a little art on the walls.

But the staff were very helpful and we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loraxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just one overnight stay on our way out of Thailand to Cambodia - the complex is nice, the restaurant area / bar is really nice! Rooms are clinical, clean and white with good sized beds, quiet at night so sleep not a problem. Food is good and the staff are very helpful with advice and getting taxis etc booked.

The only (small) negatives? Pillows are rock hard (which, to be fair, I would have asked about if we were staying there 2 nights), the TV signal is bad to the point where it flicks every 5 seconds a bit like a strobe so that didn't stay on long, and double check your bill when you leave as we had one meal and drink added on mistakenly (which was taken off before we left). The strangest mistake though (and other hotels / inns are guilty of this too, to be fair) is they provide a small safe in the room but it's not bolted down anywhere so (if a prospective thief were so inclined) they could just get in the room and run off with the safe!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattAndSamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gippsland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

The hotel has a tiny road frontage, but opens into a four storey building built around an attractive open courtyard. Comfortable and clean accommodation at a very affordable price. Perfect location for sight-seeing . . . a couple of blocks from Royal Palace, Reclining Buddha etc . . . short taxi ride to Khao San Road. Breakfast was plentiful . . . al fresco dining. Service was excellent: helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms are of a muchness, but I don't remember seeing an elevator?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The room was large, clean and the aircon unit wasn't loud. Breakfast buffet was great with rice, fruit, eggs and meats. A 15 min walk to Kao Sahn Road, 10 min walk to grand palace and 10 min walk to the nighttime flower market. Staff were helpful.
A local market and 7 11 is nearby which was great! I would highly recommend. Tip: print out the taxi driver instructions in thai from the website as not many knew where it was.
WIFI was ok

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wuju187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#88 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#37 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 604 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe

Property: Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Address: 29 Soi Feungthong Feungnakorn Rd., Watradchabophit | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the old neighborhood area with historical building and shop houses stand lively along one of the first road in Thailand. Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms and Cafe is a one stop heritage destination and is perfect for tourists searching for a nostalgic experience in old Bangkok. Standing right at the center, it is just a few steps away from many major historical attractions – 10 minutes walk to the Grand Palace and Wad Pho, 15 minutes walk to Khao San road and 10 minutes walk to flower market.Feung Nakorn Balcony itself boasts a mix of Thai and western designs, a 4 story building, which has been converted from a local elementary school but retains many of its classic structure and design. Here you’ll find the main reception area, a cozy open-air restaurant, and a peaceful landscaped outdoor garden. There are 4 suites, 30 standard rooms and even 4 shared dorm rooms to accommodate backpackers. The rooms are decorated with an eclectic mix of Thai styles for a different experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe Hotel Bangkok
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms And Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing