We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Ranked #14 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here over songkran - great location for that, but with Khaosan Rd, popular with backpackers, and many of Bangkoks iconic attractions, its in a great spot, with a gorgeous internal garden. A clean, quiet room, fantastic aircon, decent breakfast, and good cheap eats served all day, in a well kept, well staffed hotel.
I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    236
    39
    6
    0
See reviews for
94
236
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jakobstad
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Hello I Did stay In this hotel 3 nights in mid-march this year...together with my wife and her youngest sister...Sleeping three is not a problem there are three bedrooms ,and they are big enough...
Its located in the old part of the city with 20 minutes walk to WITH 20 Khao san rd.. and about the same to Grand Palace..
There are a lot of smaller streets in the area with small street kitchens,so food is never a problemSO..Most of them serve noodles...
You do not hear any noise from the traffic which is noticeable keeping the location in mind ..
THE Personal is nice and friendly.
They run a travel agency so its possible to book tours here...
If there is anything negative to say on this point, it would be that they are somewhat fast in telling people about other peoples dishonest ways.Taxi-drivers etc...

Its as clean as an older place like this can be..

The room-price..... I am in two minds here...1800 Bath for three people is not bad.. In fact its quite good if you are three friends sharing the pay but if it is a family then it seems more...

The small garden with its fishes are very nice..

If I stay in IN Bangkok in and in the area in the future I can very well se myself staying here again..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_johnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Songkran festival and it was very peaceful. Unfortunately due to the New Years celebrations everything near the guesthouse was closed so it was hard to gauge the area (i.e. shops, cafes etc). From reading other reviews on Trip Advisor it seems like it is usually a bustling area within walking distance to Khao San Road. One evening we ventured out for a walk but because everything was shut there was no one around, there seemed to be a lot of homeless people near the canal (about a 5 min walk from hotel) which put us on edge as we were the only other people on the street that night (I'm sure they were harmless but we weren't comfortable walking around in the shadows with everything closed and being potential targets).

The location is very convenient to major tourist attractions such as the Grand Palace. One downside is there is no BTS nearby therefore you're reliant on tuk tuks and taxis to visit other areas of Bangkok. We found getting out of the area to be easy, taxis were happy to take us anywhere with the meter (usually about 60B to Siam, 100B to Sukhumvit) however when wanting to return to the hotel taxi drivers either didn't know where to go despite being presented with the directions in Thai (hotel has a card for taxi drivers) or simply refused to do the trip for anything less than 200B - three times what it cost to leave area. We asked up to 6 different taxi drivers to take us back to the hotel before finally giving in to paying 150B, this happened on more than one occasion and was a bit frustrating.

Room was spacious, breakfast of a reasonable standard. Decent wifi connection in room. Property was once a primary school, large courtyard area is nice for guests to relax in as well as large pond with fish to admire. I don't think there is a lift for mobility impaired travellers or those with lots of luggage. 7-11 close by for snacks and supplies. Reception can arrange transport to the airport for 500B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great little hotel with beautiful gardens. We have chosen it because of its location. It is 15 minutes away from Grand Palace and Wat Po and it is opposite Wat Rachabophit which was a bonus. We also liked the fact that is wasn't near busy street or on horribly loud and busy Khao San Rd. All rooms were facing the gardens and we didn't hear any traffic or other noises. Room and bathroom was nice and clean and had a kettle which was a bonus as we like our tea and coffee in the evening. Huge plus for water and other drinks and snacks which were free of charge - nice touch. We did like the garden a lot, tranquile oasis in such busy city, yes you will get bitten by mossies but hey it is not hotel's fault, just spray some repellent and you will be fine! Bar was nice to sit and relax in the evening. Nearest shop 7/11 only 5 minutes away. Great little street food 'restaurant' next to hotel or you can walk down to flower market where there is an abundance of street food stools selling great tasting super cheap food - don't miss it when you are in Bangkok, you won't get it anywhere else so delicious and cheap. Staff at the hotel was great, emailed us the map for taxi when I have emailed them that we will be arriving late. Also they helped us book taxi back to airport with their special rate of 500 baht, it cost us nearly 900 on a meter taxi to get there in the first place (leave much earlier for airport as traffic is very busy in Bangkok). But the best thing was when they have written in Thai names of some dishes for us to try at the nearby street food vendor - best food we tasted in Bangkok. It is worth checking out the local market in the morning only few streets away. We didn't have breakfast in the morning which I regret as it did look tasty. All together great hotel in great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here twice, for a total of 6 days. The staff is incredibly friendly and very happy to help with anything. The hotel looked newly remodeled and super clean. Nice big rooms and good AC. The courtyard is a great oasis in big noisey bangkok. Location is great for local flavor and an abundance of street food, super cheap. Hardly any tourists in the immediate area, so not a lot of English spoken outside the hotel. Walking distance to Grand Palace and a couple good parks for running or people watching. Just a dollar, 5 min tuk tuk ride to Khao San if you need an evening massage or some craziness.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leafturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Authentic building with small garden to relax. Simple rooms with AC. Very young and friendly reception. Well located next to historical attractions. Be careful: They charged us 225THB (5EUR) for the breakfast as it was not included in the room rate.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlenbachstrasse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had a nice stay at Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe. Having never been to Bangkok before and with only a few days for my visit, this hotel's location allowed me to see many of the major sites quickly and on foot. The staff also gave me a little map which was helpful for getting around.

To be honest, I found the rooms a bit underwhelming. The lobby area is nice, and serves a good breakfast in the mornings, but the rooms feel a bit like renovated classrooms, with a rather institutional feel to them. I was still comfortable, but had higher expectations for the rooms due to the raves on Tripadvisor.

Overall I was happy. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and free mini-bar items are a nice touch. I would stay here again.

Just a few notes:

1. If you plan to take a taxi to the hotel, go to the hotel website and print out taxi directions beforehand. My taxi drivers were uncertain of the hotel location, but the printed-out map and Thai instructions always got me to the hotel in the end.

2. I paid extra for breakfast when I booked beforehand on a third-party website, but it seemed once I got there that breakfast was included for every room. That was definitely strange, but probably not the hotel's mistake. Still, I would be wary of a breakfast charge in the future.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank klwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
1,371 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#15 of 858 in Bangkok
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#32 of 858 in Bangkok
407 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#87 of 858 in Bangkok
2,326 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 643 in Bangkok
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe

Property: Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Address: 29 Soi Feungthong Feungnakorn Rd., Watradchabophit | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the old neighborhood area with historical building and shop houses stand lively along one of the first road in Thailand. Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms and Cafe is a one stop heritage destination and is perfect for tourists searching for a nostalgic experience in old Bangkok. Standing right at the center, it is just a few steps away from many major historical attractions – 10 minutes walk to the Grand Palace and Wad Pho, 15 minutes walk to Khao San road and 10 minutes walk to flower market.Feung Nakorn Balcony itself boasts a mix of Thai and western designs, a 4 story building, which has been converted from a local elementary school but retains many of its classic structure and design. Here you’ll find the main reception area, a cozy open-air restaurant, and a peaceful landscaped outdoor garden. There are 4 suites, 30 standard rooms and even 4 shared dorm rooms to accommodate backpackers. The rooms are decorated with an eclectic mix of Thai styles for a different experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms And Cafe
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing