We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value”
Review of Twin Palm @ 39

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twin Palm @ 39
Ranked #525 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This property is way up the end of Sukhumvit 39, a wacky road that is a combo of one and two-way stretches making a trip to or from the hotel by taxi somewhat of an adventure through a rabbit warren of sois and sub-sois. I stupidly thought I could walk to Sukhumvit Road in about 10 to 12 minutes - but it is about double that. The hotel is far closer to Phetchaburi Road than to Sukhumvit Road.

I got a deal on wotif which included an upgrade from a so-called Deluxe room to a Grand Suite. When I arrived, I was informed that the Grand Suites were all full that night, and they were upgrading me to another class of room. I can't remember ever being upgraded in my life before, so I was stoked, even if it was only going to be for one night.

The apartment had an entrance hallway, kitchenette, living room with flatscreen telly, and a huge bedroom again with flatscreen telly and DVD player, and a writing desk. There was a balcony off the bedroom, although there was no outdoor furniture. The bathroom had a shower and a two-person spa bath.

The head housekeeping lady and one of the front desk personnel were extremely friendly - other staff so-so, but nothing to criticise. Talking criticisms, and the only one I can think of is a common complaint in Asian hotels: maintenance. There were four things that needed fixing, nothing that was going to make a huge difference to my enjoyment of the room, although one I did discuss with them as I thought it was an accident just waiting to happen. Nothing was done about it - but as with most other properties in this region, something has to actually fall down/off/over before anyone will fix it.

I cannot mark down the property on the basis of that criticism as the value was superb. This was a well-appointed apartment for less than $AUD50 a night. Outstanding value - and the best value I've encountered in 17 years of visiting Bangkok. The same rate (1,400 Baht) is still available as I post this review, and you should take it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Make sure you slelect the upgrade option when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We used Bangkok only for transit and stayed at Twin Palm for two nights...we had a pleasant and comfortable stay here. Rooms are far better than how they look in photos, extremely spacious...Staff is polite and ready to help. The location is lil far from the main road but they provided free tuk-tuk service till the nearest Metro Station. Manager is very friendly :-) for a comfortable and good value for money...Stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NehaSaluja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Chang
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Twin Palm @39 serviced apartments was renamed into Palms @ Sukhumvit, located in Soi 39 off Sukhumvit (BTS Phra Kanong/Emporium Mall) and is close to Petchburi Road at the other end. The place has its own Tuk Tuk which I used quite often to get to the BTS and which was free.
Chosed the Palms for its location and great value, booked 4 nights Grand Suite via latestays.com for as less as 1500 Baht per night and am very pleased by the very lovely and friendly staff and the entire place with its amenities. All rooms are modern and stylish have a balcony, kitchenette, huge flat screen tv with lots of int' l channels, a dvd player, the free wifi was pleasantly fast, and the big safety deposit box for laptops etc. was a great access.
The rooms of course have a/c and I will miss the very comfortable beds with luxury linens and the lounge sofa go daybed. I loved the spacious bathroom with walk in rain shower and a spa tub with mood lighting... there was also a hair dryer and cosmetic mirror and all toiletries were complimentary. They have no restaurant but there is such a wide array of cuisines in walking distance for every budget and taste. I recommend this place to every one who likes a more quiet but convenient location, while traveling for business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveKohChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Hotel is located at Shukumvit Soi 39, but most of Taxi do not know how to get there. Until someone has told us to tell Petchaburi, Sukhumvit Soi 39. or Regent Park 3(the hotel is next to Regent Park)

Hotel is great for its price, think it is studio type apartment., with kichen, microwave, frdige and BIG enough safe box. At first we booked for one night stay because cannot see any review of the hotel from tripadvisor. We bet and end up stay over for 3 nights !!

Hotel staff are friendly, everytime they see you would greet "Sawadeeka". They have free tuk tuk service from hotel to nearest BTS station but on second of our stay the driver were having day off, we have to wave for a taxi to get to BTS station, hotel is not near to main road(sukhumvit road), about 20 mins walking. We choose to take a tuk tuk or taxi everytime in and out and being charge 50 baht/way.

The attracting part of the room, it has a seperate shower area and a Jacuzzi bath tab, good soaking in the tab after long day of walking in shopping and sight seeing trip. Room are clean i think it is a new hotel.

No free breakfast but you may order with 210 baht/person deliver to your room. Free WIFI internet but the floor i am staying has very poor reception.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeromeNG_WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#498 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Buritara Resort & Spa
#522 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Chiva Residence Bangkok
#486 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grand President
Grand President
#703 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspira G Sukhumvit 33
Aspira G Sukhumvit 33
#312 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#151 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Palm @ 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Palm @ 39

Property: Twin Palm @ 39
Address: 189 / 1 Soi Sukhumvit 39 | Klongton-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#139 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated on Sukhumvit 39, Palms at Sukhumvit offers three types of fully furnished accommodations, all with balcony, kitchen and state-of-the-art facilities. All apartments have Internet broadband access.The homelike comfort of our apartments and gracious hospitality allow you to enjoy the quality of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Twin Palm @ 39 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Palm @ 39 Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing