We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been here on three separate occasions, last time for 3 weeks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamboo Guesthouse
Ranked #375 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Been here on three separate occasions, last time for 3 weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Yes, the owner is 'eccentric', i.e., not exactly gregarious. But what's that matter if you're looking for a good place to sleep and chill. Rooms are great and spacious. Place is kept quiet most of the time. Far enough away from Khao San to enjoy atmosphere of local lifestyle. Access to everything you need. Reasonable prices. And it's situated in Banglampoo (sp.?), which is a much more interesting neighborhood than Khao San, though Khao San is only a short walk away as well.

For all the above reasons, it became my go-to place. Now, partly because of my stays at this guesthouse, I'm three days away from permanently moving to BKK. And I'll likely stay there again for the first few days, while I figure everything out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maven_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
23
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Having known the place from 10 years ago as well locaded, affordable, quit and clean we were badly disappointed this time. Not only was the owner more than unfriendly and not willing to support with an easy phone call when we were waiting for the pick up to Cambodia. When we returned from the tour, having deposited our baggage, he billed us a day too much as he had put the wrong date on the receipt ( Arrival insteat of departure). When asking him to correct his mistake and proving our argument by passport stamps and even his own records, he turned angry and refused to hand over the key for the room we had reserved, pretending there was none available. When you don't feel like dealing with customers and you are to old to count to three you should really consider changing your job. This is by far the worst place on our 4 week trip. This attitude should really not be supported. So wie strongly advise everybody to make a different choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

If after all previous reviews you still brave enough to go there, be ready to get in a kind of freaky family. The owner is a main gem who influences everybody else, it seems that some guests stay here forever. He will never greet you, talk to you or give you a smile in this land of smiles. Yes, that's true, he has all these strange and even absurd rules only he is able to remember, but please take it easy! On the other hand you will get big, clean and cheap room in a good, quite location.

Good news: on our last stay (October '12) we found a boiler in one of the showers on the second floor. So, let's hope!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellowinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We only stayed one night as we could not stand this place. The bed was rock hard, the showers and toilet facilities were basic and the fan is the room pathetic. But the worst thing about this place was the man who ran it. He behaved as if he was the camp leader and had a whole bunch of strange rules, he would not let us pay until he thoroughly examined both of our passports closer than the immigration officer that stamped it and we had addressed him in Thai. He was upset that we came late but still within the office hours that we scrambled from Bangkok airport to make in time. We sent them an email to confirm a room they said no need there was plenty of room and then they got very upset with us for not having a reservation . Wherever you went in that place he watched you with a withering and disapproving scowl. And he did not leave the seat in the main entrance not early in morning and not late in the night. However if you could put up with that you could stay in a very cheap place, great location, with good free wifi and very "interesting people"... It is up to you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Summerbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

location ok
quiet at night , big room
price : very good
rudimentary (no towel, no blanket, no toilet paper, no hot shower)

staff: obnoxious (which is a shame because the place itself could be nice to stay at)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The location, value for money and facilities make this place a budget super-find. I paid 170 baht for a single room with fan and WiFi (on-and-off, like most of BKK, but at times good enough to download a torrent or two). The room and guesthouse are fairly nice and spacious (if in need of a *mop* from time to time), there is a little furniture in the room (chair, shelf, small table), and laundry can be machine washed for 30 baht or hand washed. *HOWEVER* the family who run the guesthouse have obviously never heard the proverb: 'Civility costs nothing'. If you want a cheap crash-pad down a quiet soi near, yet away from, the action in Banglamphu, then stay here. But don't expect politeness, amicability, respect, or even basic civility from these people. Despite being a born penny pincher, I opted to pay a little extra and stay somewhere else this time, where the staff and owners/operators treat me as something a little more tolerable than the brown matter stuck on the bottom of their shoe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed one night in a single room, a second night in a double room. This place is quite nice and good value. In a quiet area but close to the crazyness of Kao San area if you want to go find it. The single room was a bit pokey but for 170B it wasn't bad. I would reccomend to go for a double room (270B) mine was on the third floor and was bright with a bit of a view, it was big and had a fan. No bedding or towls provided. Beds quite hard but fairly comfortable. Shared showers and toilets were clean and functional. Several nice areas to chill sit and chat. It was hot when I was in Bangkok (36-37'C), personally I would reccomend paying a little more and finding a guest house with air-con if it is this warm.

Room Tip: double room on third floor was big and bright with a view single room on ground floor was hot stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#405 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Banglamphu
Viman Guesthouse
Viman Guesthouse
#115 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Banglamphu
Thara House
Thara House
#82 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Fortville Guesthouse
Fortville Guesthouse
#127 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#45 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#360 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guesthouse

Property: Bamboo Guesthouse
Address: Soi Wat Sangwet Thanon Phra Athit Banglamphoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing