We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there if you arrive late at night ”
Review of Bamboo Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamboo Guesthouse
Ranked #439 of 756 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in bamboo several time over the past 5 years. As a couple and (f) single. I always returned inspite of the grumpy owners because the price is good for te location, rooms are spacious, It has a common area, drinks are cheap and so on.
Unfortunately, I cant recommend the place if you arrive late and rely on your booking. It happened the second time now to me that they claimed I didn't book. Despite having free rooms, the grumpy owner turned me down around midnight.
I have been to bkk 15-20 times, so I didn't stress but I certainly would if I was new to bkk.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank MeTheBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

i cannot say much against the guesthouse itself as it is clean, quiet and cheap as well. But i have never been feeling welcome as a guest here. Its almost that you feel guilty to be there. The owner does cooking classes and she has been around the world. But apparently she hasnt learned that much about socializing with other humans in a nice way. All are grumpy, especially the old man.
I have been here several times, just because i like the silence in this place after spending months in india. But everytime i go back i feel the same " not welcome" !! Just follow their 1000 rules that hang everywhere on the walls and they leave you alone.and dont forget to pay every day.
Showers clean,beds clean, fans in the room( not enough during hot season)! Itz could be such a nicce place if they would just make you feel home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forevervagabond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Yes, the owner is 'eccentric', i.e., not exactly gregarious. But what's that matter if you're looking for a good place to sleep and chill. Rooms are great and spacious. Place is kept quiet most of the time. Far enough away from Khao San to enjoy atmosphere of local lifestyle. Access to everything you need. Reasonable prices. And it's situated in Banglampoo (sp.?), which is a much more interesting neighborhood than Khao San, though Khao San is only a short walk away as well.

For all the above reasons, it became my go-to place. Now, partly because of my stays at this guesthouse, I'm three days away from permanently moving to BKK. And I'll likely stay there again for the first few days, while I figure everything out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maven_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Having known the place from 10 years ago as well locaded, affordable, quit and clean we were badly disappointed this time. Not only was the owner more than unfriendly and not willing to support with an easy phone call when we were waiting for the pick up to Cambodia. When we returned from the tour, having deposited our baggage, he billed us a day too much as he had put the wrong date on the receipt ( Arrival insteat of departure). When asking him to correct his mistake and proving our argument by passport stamps and even his own records, he turned angry and refused to hand over the key for the room we had reserved, pretending there was none available. When you don't feel like dealing with customers and you are to old to count to three you should really consider changing your job. This is by far the worst place on our 4 week trip. This attitude should really not be supported. So wie strongly advise everybody to make a different choice!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

If after all previous reviews you still brave enough to go there, be ready to get in a kind of freaky family. The owner is a main gem who influences everybody else, it seems that some guests stay here forever. He will never greet you, talk to you or give you a smile in this land of smiles. Yes, that's true, he has all these strange and even absurd rules only he is able to remember, but please take it easy! On the other hand you will get big, clean and cheap room in a good, quite location.

Good news: on our last stay (October '12) we found a boiler in one of the showers on the second floor. So, let's hope!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellowinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We only stayed one night as we could not stand this place. The bed was rock hard, the showers and toilet facilities were basic and the fan is the room pathetic. But the worst thing about this place was the man who ran it. He behaved as if he was the camp leader and had a whole bunch of strange rules, he would not let us pay until he thoroughly examined both of our passports closer than the immigration officer that stamped it and we had addressed him in Thai. He was upset that we came late but still within the office hours that we scrambled from Bangkok airport to make in time. We sent them an email to confirm a room they said no need there was plenty of room and then they got very upset with us for not having a reservation . Wherever you went in that place he watched you with a withering and disapproving scowl. And he did not leave the seat in the main entrance not early in morning and not late in the night. However if you could put up with that you could stay in a very cheap place, great location, with good free wifi and very "interesting people"... It is up to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Summerbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

location ok
quiet at night , big room
price : very good
rudimentary (no towel, no blanket, no toilet paper, no hot shower)

staff: obnoxious (which is a shame because the place itself could be nice to stay at)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 896 in Bangkok
8,882 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 896 in Bangkok
6,142 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 896 in Bangkok
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guesthouse

Address: Soi Wat Sangwet Thanon Phra Athit Banglamphoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 756 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £0 - £0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing