We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoy Staying Here .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Ranked #52 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Enjoy Staying Here .”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This place ticks all the boxes for me -

Location... Value for Money.. New.. Modern ... Clean .. Well Managed and .. Great Staff..

A very short walk to the Skytrain and all the imprtant little things like 7/11 , Resturants and Pubs, it is also easily accessable from the Airport by taking Tollway onto SOI 2 or SOI 4.

I have been going to Bangkok monthly for years and I have stayed here for my last 7 trips.
I cannot recommend this place more highly , if there is a better place to stay in the Sukumvit area, I would like to know where.

Room Tip: Book a high floor room for the views (Lifts are Fast)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floodric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    152
    32
    12
    11
See reviews for
204
81
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Having spent four nights at the Shama in a 3 bedroom deluxe, I can't say i'm leaving 100% completely satisfied. The apartment itself is more or less what you see in the photos on the website, though the devil is in the detail: the construction of the building appears to have been rushed. There is stucco in the hallways, workmanship is shoddy - open some cupboards (in the kitchen for example) and it looks as if it's still under construction. It has a very low cost, low quality "Meriton" feel about it, for those aussies reading who know what I'm on about. The balconies had no furniture and were 1m deep / 3m wide, so not ideal for entertaining.

We only had wine glasses in our room, no normal tumblers. Also, there were no teaspoons? Upon arrival however there was a small basket of munchies and cereal, and there was a couple of bottles of drinking water and some mini milk cartons also - nice touch. The water was replenished in the daily housekeeping service, which was also good.

Location wise, I didn't have a problem being so close to the crazyness of Soi 4 - it had that trashy red light Bangkok feel, which was quite an experience for my family and I (keep in mind you don't come to Bangkok for lush clean boulevards or hamptons like civility!).

The beds were comfortable but the pillows were ultra soft and didn't offer much support. The amenities in the bathrooms were adequate for serviced apartment facilities.

Check-in was around midnight, and the night shift guy wasn't the friendliest. He forgot to give us back our passports too after scanning them, so after a frantic search for them the following day, we realised that he still had them. We got them back shortly after.

The breakfast is ultra-slim in terms of choices - though one must keep in mind that any breakfast at a serviced apartment facility is a bonus. Still, makes you wonder why they bother if what they put out is the bare minimum and a half baked effort. We had breakfast offsite most mornings.

My *biggest* gripe is the "free internet". It was up, it was down - it stalling all the time. 90% of the time we wanted to use the internet we couldn't. Was the biggest frustration for us. We complained three times and twice we had someone come check out the router, but the person couldn't speak a word of English so trying to explain to him the various different types of connection failures (of which there were many variations) was impossible. No one followed us up when after I rang up completely frustrated and wanted someone to sort it out. Why offer this service if it's completely unreliable? I would much rather pay for a reliable service than get a half baked attempt at internet on a free basis.

Anyway - not 100% satisfied but for the money you get what you pay for. That, and there aren't many other 3 bedroom options with balconies in Bangkok - so this is pretty much it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haydensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The Shama Sukhumvit apartments in Bangkok offer large, modern apartments in a great location. The apartments have a large living room area, kitchen, great bathroom and huge bedroom. There is good security, a gym (not the greatest but does the job), a fantastic rooftop pool and great buffet breakfast. The staff here are also really friendly. I would definitely stay here again next time i'm in Bangkok.
Note: The only downside to the apartments is if you are on a lower level with a window facing soi 4 (Soi Nana) - there can be some noise until about 2am. Also, for those in Bangkok for certain reasons - this is not really a guest/girl friendly hotel.

Room Tip: The back exit leads straight onto Soi 4 (Soi Nana)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is an excellent property, perfectly located in between the JW Marriott and the Landmark. Walking distance to great restaurants, nightlife and shopping. The service was nothing short of excellent, the employees were incredibly helpful and respectful. The room was huge with a large balcony as standard, small kitchen, washer dryer. Spacious bathrooms and the cleaning service was perfect. I travel the world and have become very particular about my accommodations and at the same time believe that you shouldn't have to pay through the nose for quality,Shama met all of my criteria.
This was a business trip and we were able to use the lobby area for meeting no problem, very quiet. I will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, the higher floors 8 and above tend to have a better view as the all have gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in December 2011 ,
New hotel (summer 2010) fabulous surrounding , one side on the dirty scenery of Soy 4 , one side on the classy Soy 2 with Marriot.
Apartment well equipped (micro ' laundry machine , free WiFi in room , LCD TV ) , huge size of apartment , clean.
Great on-roof swimming pool.
Staff extremely helpful and polite.
Will stay here again if possible !
Roni . Israel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at the Sham during its soft launch period - we booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 7 days - we are a family of 3 and like to have a bit of space.

The apartments are spacious, furnishings are modern and comfortable, having a washer / drier in the unit made it possible for us to travel light. The gym is well equipped. The rooftop pool is of moderate size but its location on the rooftop makes an evening swim with the night lights of the city quite an experience.

When we stayed the breakfast offering was limited to a continental spread; would have been perfect if there was more variety and some warm food say omlettes...

The location is very central - although this part of Bangkok is somewhat mixed with 5 star hotels rubbing shoulders with less reputable facilities - I guess thats common with most parts of Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlrBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Located in the heart of the shopping district, in between Terminal 21 on one hand and World Central at the other end, the three bedrooms suite is best for family get away in Bangkok. My children loved the swimming pool located at level 18 which offers a marvelous view of the busy city. Staff are nice though response is a bit slow at times.

Room Tip: The three bedrooms suites are fantastic for family get away. Just be aware that Soi 4 where the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_11_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#53 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Sukhumvit
Majestic Grande Hotel
Majestic Grande Hotel
#163 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#180 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#105 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#61 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Property: Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Address: 39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebration of modern living coupled with Shama’s reputable signature service and renowned Thai hospitality. Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok offers 90 contemporary serviced apartments located in a prestigious residential area amongst fashionable restaurants, stylish shopping and the central business district with nearby access to the BTS skytrain and Bumrungrad International Hospital.This unique “resort within a city” meets the refined standards of business and leisure travellers alike. Tropical gardens awash with flora and fauna combined with contemporary furnishings, extensive clubhouse complete with rooftop swimming pool, fitness centre, kids area, yoga and meditation rooms make this property a true retreat from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amari Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing