We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Bangkok Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis Bangkok Riverside
Ranked #165 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

It's pretty far from the main tourist district, and the staffs are mostly worked up with the taxi drivers. You will never find meter taxi under staffs assistance. I didn't taxi shuttle to BTS so I don't know about that.

The bed was comfy, but the tv was too small. It happened to me that my door lock was malfunctioned, it took them 30 min + to get the door open and switch me to a replacement room.

Breakfast selection was ok, but not my appetite.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NY917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear NY917

Your feedback is much appreciated,

Our location is along the Chao Phraya river which is within an easy and scenic reach of the historical and cultural alley Bangkok.

Our proximity to the BTS is facilitated by our complimentary shuttle bus that runs every half hour.

On the matter of the taxi that you mention, we only allow metered taxi to enter our property. If a taxi refuses to turn on the meter we can request another one. Apologies as it seems this did not occur during your stay with us.

Additionally kindly accept our further apologies for the inconvenience relating to the door lock. It seems a particular and unusual situation. We nonetheless thank you for your feedback.

We hope to be welcoming you again.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    1,208
    332
    68
    30
See reviews for
611
873
269
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Easy on your wallet and great location. This hotel is right on the river and only blocks away for the Penn Hotel. The room have a european feel with simplicity and clean esthetics. Free wi fi, bar, great food, drinks served at pool side. Need a cab? No problem. You want to take the public transportation train no problem. Ibis have a shuttle takes you right to the train. The staff is very friendly and they always have a smile. Tour operator on site and price not too bad. The also have Hotel to Airport transportation available. car around 900 baht and Van 1300-1500 baht. I been to Bangkok many times and stay at the Shangri la hotel , Penn Club and many other fine hotels. Love this place! Oh did I mentioned they have a pool? You'll thank me later!. Also make sure you sign up with ACCOR hotel website to receive your points before you book!

Room Tip: Ask for a straight on river view room. 702 was my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dj-ernesto-chandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Dj-ernesto-chandler,

Thank you for your glowing review and title.Your feedback is much appreciated,

It is generous of your to share your secret with the tripadvisor community.

We hope to welcome you again.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Riverside for 5 nights. We had a river facing room. Our room was modern and bathroom was modern, clean albeit a bit small. The flat screen tv had a few English channels. Tea,coffee and water were supplied on a daily basis. One day they forgot to refill the tea bags and I phoned reception to request more, these were delivered within 5 minutes!
Ibis has a policy to sort out any customer queries or complaints within 15 minutes!
Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit and Asian, Eastern and Western breakfast. We ate ate the restuarant and the food was lovely although the portions were not large.
We used the shuttle service that operates almost every half and hour after 8am to take us to the BTS. We walked back to the hotel from the station when we got back. The hotel is very close to the ferry crossing which costs about 4 Bhat or you can walk over the bridge. Under the bridge is a park consisting of a running area, soccer filed, basketball court, Muay Thai fighting area as well as gym and running area that the locals use. All Travelling on the tourist ferry is fast efficient and very cheap. It costs about 45 Bhat to get to the grand Palace from the ferry a few minutes walk from Ibis. One can also visit the flower market, Chinese town, Wat Pho along this same ferry for less than 45 Bhat one way.
All staff were friendly and could help us with our queries in English,
We used a massage pallor on the other side of the main road near the road bridge/walkway. They were efficient and friendly. A foot massage/Thai/relaxing massage cost 200 Bhat, far cheaper than Phuket!!!!!
The local mall has a Starbucks, grocery store and many fast food places. An easy walk from Ibis.

We didn't know but this hotel does allow dogs by prior arrangement. Not that we had any bad experiences.

Room Tip: I emailed ahead and asked for a quiet room. They certainly did assist by giving me a room with very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear JeanetteFox,

It is a pleasure receiving such a glowing review from a tripadvisor contributor.

Thank you for all the detail you have provided other travelers with. We can assure you that it is useful information.

We hope to welcome you again and hope you have made it back home safely.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is a short ferry ride and walk from the river crossing at Sathon Pier (or you can take a taxi) and is simply delightful. The format is standard Ibis yet the location is wonderful. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gordon2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Gordon2507,

Greetings from Ibis Bangkok Riverside.

Thank you for your strong recommendation and five star rating.

As you highlighted our location is very accessible making all POI reachable for our guest within a short 20 mins train ride to downtown. The cultural alley with all must see temple is only about 10-15 mins away by boat.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
179 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a scenic view of the Chao Phraya River Ibis Riverside fits your requirements.When checking in request for a river facing room .However there is an additional minimal surcharge to enjoy the magnificent scenery. WIFI is free. The rooms are as per Ibis standards.....clean,self contained but small.The bed and pillows are comfortable to enable you to have a good night's sleep.There is a medium size swimming pool ( plus a small kids pool) Breakfast buffet was above average,with a wide spread considering the price we paid for.The hotel offers promotional prices for in-house guests dining in their restaurant for lunch and dinner.There is no BTS (monorail) link to the hotel. The hotel provides free shuttle services to ferry guests to the nearest BTS station which is located 7 minutes away.Service by their staff is excellent and proactive.There are many small food stalls and convenience shops located within walking distance from the hotel.The only drawback of Ibis Riverside is that there are no big shopping malls in the area.

Room Tip: If you are requesting for a room with a river view try to get room 4th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chan_pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear chan_pup

Greetings from Ibis Bangkok Riverside.

It is a pleasure receiving such a review from a senior contributor, thank you for your strong recommendation.

Happy Holidays & we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

If you are travelling with a budget, ibis hotels are a good choice. Nothing fancy, what they offer is decent and reasonable. You get good value from what you pay for.

Among the four ibis hotels in Bangkok, we ended up choosing this one because, as the name points out, it is right next to Chao Phraya (major river in Thailand), and we thought it would be lovely to enjoy the riverside view. Also, it seems to be the only one among the four that has a swimming pool. Bangkok is known for its humid and hot weather. So although it’s December, we still thought a pool would be necessary.

We did enjoy the riverside view, especially in the evening when all the lights were up. As for the pool, unfortunately there was an event scheduled while we were there, and the pool was closed for a day.

While you stay here, do give two things a try.
1. There is a small pavilion next to the pool, where they give massage sessions to the customers. I’d personally prefer a much more private setting, but it is lovely to feel the breeze from the river while getting your body pampered. (And no, I don’t think the river smells.)
2. The concierge recommended us to visit Asiatique The Riverfront. It is a well-organized night market by the riverside, opened less than 2 years ago. You can find restaurants, shops, cafes, bars, and even a ferris wheel here. I’d say it’s probably a more modern version of Chatuchak.

The only criticism I have for ibis Bangkok Riverside is its location. Leaving the hotel is easy, as they provide free shuttle to the closest BTS station Krung Thon Buri. But to get back from the station, it’s a 15-minute walk or a 50-baht taxi ride. It is not unacceptable, but in comparison, other ibis hotels are probably more convenient in terms of traffic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear warren_tw

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate the extended feedback you have provided as it will serve as useful information to other travelers.

It seems you enjoyed your stay with us with the exception of our location. If we may highlight, we are easily within reach of all major POI. As you mentioned the complimentary shuttle bus is very convenient.

As there is no parking space on the service street, the shuttle bus is only on drop-off basis. It is nonetheless a short 8-12 mins walk from the BTS to our location.

Our scenic location provides a relaxing atmosphere along the river away from the bustling Bangkok city.

Happy Holidays & we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
ibis Bangkok Nana
ibis Bangkok Nana
#250 of 845 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#215 of 845 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#157 of 845 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#52 of 845 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#261 of 845 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Bangkok Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Riverside

Property: ibis Bangkok Riverside
Address: 27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#115 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#125 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your ibis Bangkok Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bangkok Riverside Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing