We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but beware bar staff does not speak English”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Bangkok Riverside
Ranked #167 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel but beware bar staff does not speak English”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is in great location, the beds are comfortable, there is A/C - in short it is great value for money.
The only thing I was disappointed about was the staff at the bar. I ordered a fresh pineapple juice - no sugar and received apple juice, which was disgustingly sweet and tasted like one of these bottles from 7/11. My sister's banana smoothie was first forgotten and only after we reminded the waiter delivered. Overall, great hotel but staff at the bar needs to be improved greatly to live up to the standards of Ibis elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Katrin H ,

Greeting s from ibis Bangkok Riverside,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Bangkok. We appreciate you highliting the great "value for money" we offer.

It is regrettable that you were faced with an unpleasant standard experience at the bar. Please accept our regrets and apologies about that instance.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in order for us to avoid this issue from reoccuring.

We hope that the situation you were faced with will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Look forward to welcoming you in order to better serve you

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    1,251
    348
    71
    31
See reviews for
632
918
275
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I booked three nights and got a room that can see pool and river. Lovely.

Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is nice. What I like the most is afternoon in the pool.

The hotel is by the river with nice setting. Unfortunately, cannot get ferry cross to the other side. I have to walk long qay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chorpetk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear chorpetk ,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay.

We are glad to read that we meet your expectation. At ibis we aim to offer the best sleep quality in our class and it it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated it.

Looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next Bangkok visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is very good for the price and better than any Ibis I've stayed at in Europe or Dubai. It's in a great location right on the riverbank with a nice outdoor pool with plenty of sunbeds and some nice gardens with comfy chairs so you can relax and watch all the river traffic passing by. There's a nice reception area with a coffee shop/bar and check-in was quick and easy as we'd prebooked and paid on Accorhotels.com and stayed 3 nights. Rooms were only £25 per night but we paid £5 extra for a river view room. The rooms are small but adequate for a short stay with ensuite shower room, free tea/coffee making and a nice TV, unfortunately with hardly any English language channels. I found the fridge on day 2 in a cupboard! The restaurant was good, we had lunch once and the evening buffet twice which is quite extensive and good value. I recommend the noodle soup bar where a chef will make your preference fresh. There's also an outside bar with seating and river views. There's a nearby 7/11 mini-mart which is actually open 24/7 which was handy for ice cold bottled water and snacks. You can get a massage onsite, however there's several more in the street for less plus many street food outlets and a Mall with food options. There's a small taxi rank outside with cars and tuk-tuks and a free shuttle to the nearest Sky-train station. Overall a very nice stay and I recommend the canal boat trip.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a river view but ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjp099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just stayed in this hotel 2D1N on 26-17 Apr'14. The summary of my review is
Location:
- Easy to access this hotel. You can take sky train and call for free hotel shuttle to pick you from the sky train.
- Close to Chao Praya River, it is adjusted to the hotel

Hotel:
- Big room than other Ibis hotels in Bangkok
- 2 Swimming pool - one for children
- Nice river view

Staff:
- Quite nice but I would like to complain only about the check-in that I have to wait almost an hour ( I arrived at the hotel about 2.30 pm which normally check-in time is 2 pm)

Room Tip: Room no. showing in Even no. such as xx2, xx4, xx6 are parking view. If you would like to get river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikki_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good location, right on the river. We were given a river view room on the 7th floor. Air con, in room safe, shuttle to the BTS. Lots of great street food within walking distance. It is on the other side of the river from most big sights, but if you can get to the BTS, or walk a bit and pay 4 baht to cross the river, it's worth it. Price was very reasonable. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Request a river view. We were on the 7th floor and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinReisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Very simple but clean and good location. Is just on the other side of the river so you'll have to cross it almost every time you leave but only 4bht to cross. Then you get a taxi and is 15min max from almost ervything on the Riverside or just get a boat! Staff very nice and good English I would definitely come back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andreamartens17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#158 of 852 in Bangkok
1,376 reviews
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#217 of 852 in Bangkok
1,183 reviews
Sukhumvit
ibis Bangkok Nana
ibis Bangkok Nana
#250 of 852 in Bangkok
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 852 in Bangkok
1,474 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#258 of 852 in Bangkok
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Bangkok Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Riverside

Property: ibis Bangkok Riverside
Address: 27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#139 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Bangkok Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bangkok Riverside Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing