We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Bangkok Riverside
Ranked #177 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is the hotel I stayed for last year trip in Bangkok, I stayed at this hotel for 4 days.
It is very nice to stay as the place is very quiet.
The hotel has provide free shuttle to BTS station, it is 15min by walking to BTS.
Overall I can said is very good.
This is the second times I had stayed at Ibis hotel, I will think about Ibis hotel for my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Appsss,

Thank you for staying with us again. We are glad to be able to welcome you again.

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 2,688 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My Thai travel agent chose the Ibis for me and it was excellent ! The Hotel and its grounds sit right on the Chaopraya River in downtown Bangkok. This means you can lounge at rivers edge in the lovely big pool area and watch the facinating boat traffic up and fown the river right in front of you, and then walk a few blocks to the closeby nearest shuttle river taxi. This lets you avoid the crush of Bangkok's street traffic to reach the main temple attractions, the Grand Palace, many of the best restaurants and even new shopping centers all on or close to the river. Then you can have a drink or eat dinner in the very fine hotel restaurant inside or outside right on the river's edge, which is a facinating sight at night. The hotel was very clean and modern, with an extremely helpful, friendly front desk ! They were all great. Any time I visit Bangkok, I will again stay at the Ibis.

Room Tip: I would choose a higher floor , closest to the river for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulAK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear PaulAK2011,

Greetings from ibis Bangkok Riverside,

It is a pleasure to received such positive remarks from a Top contributor.

Thank you for your mentions and this will be share with the team.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We checked in very late, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating (even at 1 am.) It was very clean and modern. The rooms were on the small side, but I feel like that's only because we had 4 large suitcases with us. There was not enough space to open them all up at once. The bathroom was small and the counter space was next to nothing, but we made do. Anything the room lacked was made up for with the restaurant, pool and outdoor patio/seating. Oh yeah-and the awesome view of the river! We had breakfast each morning (about 7$ American) and the buffet was wonderful. Tons of fresh fruit and veggies, breakfast foods like pancakes, hash browns, fresh breads, etc. I loved that they had fried and steamed rice, along with various vegetable dishes, sausages and soup. The deck was a beautiful place to sit and eat a meal, or the outdoor bar at night was a nice place to unwind at the end of the day. It was tucked back from the main street, and a 7-11 was right on the corner for easy access to buy drinking water. The pool was fabulous. The only complaint I have about it is that it was only open from 8 am- 7 pm. We had a hard time making it for a swim before it closed. But when we wanted to swim at 7:30 am, they didn't seem to mind and retrieved towels for us. The view from our room was spectacular, and the price (during May) was only about 50$ US, which would easily go for 200$ in the US!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tumbleweed_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boima H, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear tumbleweed_travels,

Thank you for your recent stay with us while visiting Bangkok. We hope that you have returned safely back to Amarillo.

We are glad to read that you had an almost perfect stay and we look forward to a new opportunity to be able to offer you a perfect stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In summary . . . don't stay anywhere else!!! I have stayed at many hotels of different standards in Bangkok and will never stay anywhere else again. The Ibis is superior to hotels 5 and 6 times the price. From the very moment we arrived (late) the staff were professional and SUPER SUPER FRIENDLY. We were even given an upgrade to a river view room which I was not able to book online so that was a real treat. The river is so full of life, it is a great place to relax and watch the world go by. This welcome was indicative of our entire 5 nights at the hotel. Nothing is ever a problem for the staff and the ladies cleaning the room were also cheerful and professional.

I used to live in Bangkok and know it well. The Saphan Taksin area by the river is great for food and access to all parts of greater Bsngkok. The extension of the train line is making Bangkok so much easier to commute from place to place, and The Ibis Riverside is perfectly placed for tuk tuk free commuting. Tuk tuk's are a bit of fun if you have not been to Bangkok before but the novelty wears thin before long and the ease and air conditioned comfort of travelling on the trains and buses in Bangkok traffic is a pleasure and much quicker at a tiny fraction of the price, specially with a one day, three day or weekly pass.

It is also important to note here, especially for those that do not know Bangkok that this area of Bangkok is SAFE SAFE SAFE!! One of the safest areas to be if any of the problems escalated in Bangkok.

My fiance and I are keen swimmers and we loved the pool and its location by the river. Only equaled at other 5 star hotels nearby, but the pool at Ibis Riverside is more open and has a much more relaxed feel about it to my taste. We love a dip in the morning and also in the evening after a long day of shopping or business. Our only criticism about the pool was that it closes at 7 pm and this is far, far too early we think for a hotel of this standard. We have never experienced this before. It meant that a relaxing swim after a long day was sometimes out of the question as we returned too late.

The rooms were so clean. Felt like we were the first to stay there. But here is the clincher . . . and you will understand if you have ever stayed in Asian hotels very much like we have. . . . the bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced. We even noted the name of the mattresses and obtained the contact details of the supplier to the hotel, again with the friendly and prompt help of the front desk staff. They were so helpful. They all obviously enjoy working there!! The bathroom is small but well designed and well appointed and plenty of room for 2 people.

The opportunities for food close by are plentiful and It is so easy to get everywhere on the BTS train anyway. We usually walked over the bridge to Saphan Taksin (about 10 minutes) as we enjoyed walking over the bridge as there is always so much to see on the river. The choice of food around Saphan Taksin is unlimited, and fits every budget. We had seafood on the street 2 nights because it was just so fresh and enjoyable . . and super cheap as a bonus. That helped though after having just bought my fiance about 100 pairs of shoes while shopping that day!!! There are two 7/11 stores with 2 minutes of the hotel which we found invaluable for snacks etc. We had a busy schedule and we only able to enjoy breakfast at the restaurant by the river and we could have sat there all day. The breakfast was good value, but we would have liked a bigger selection of eggs and bacon etc. The hotel cat enjoys the breakfast sausages though!!!

Before we left we wanted to thank the manager and left a gift for him and the staff to experience, but we were not able to see him and have not heard back from him. We hope he received it OK!!

We are not one to leave reviews generally,but felt so passionate about our pleasant stay that we wanted to do so here. This hotel would also be great for families and is well catered for children.

We look forward to returning to Bangkok and to The Ibis Riverside. We hope the problems will get sorted out in Thailand soon, but I am not at all confident of that.

Here is 3 cheers for the staff (specially the front desk and maid service). Thank you and well done and kudos to the manager for having such a happy and professional team. See you soon :-)

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river, it is well worth it. Most of them do anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Asiawanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Horrible Hotel.
The entire hotel is non smoking.
The rooms feel like dorm rooms. Small & ugly. No feel of a hotel in the rooms. The bathroom is extremely small. Food is ok types in the restaurant. The only plus side is the location which is next to the river. Will not stay here ever again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would come to this hotel specially with kids. There are rooms specially for this and the setting and swimmingpool are very ok. There a very good view from the Hotels gardens and it would allow parents to keep an eye on the kids while still enjoying a drink in an inspiring river view. Nice hotel if you want/need to stay central in Bangkok and have some garden patch and the comfort of a swimmingpool. The hotel buffet is good, and the service very gentle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTPNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

One of the few places that accept small dogs with no hassle. Some areas like the pool and dining area are off limits but this is a good thing. They have a great view of the river, large pool, quiet and walking distance to BTS (although dogs not allowed on BTS). The area is old school Chinese Thai and some good local food - stay clear of the touristy food places just outside the hotel and take a stroll a bit further to get some local treats. If you do feel like Western Food you have a large VillaMart Shopping complex across the street. Will def return and big thank you to the friendly staff for welcoming our pets and making our stay very comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Crumlin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Sukhumvit
Ibis Bangkok Sukhumvit 4
Ibis Bangkok Sukhumvit 4
#230 of 891 in Bangkok
2,007 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#83 of 891 in Bangkok
2,532 reviews
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#85 of 891 in Bangkok
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Bangkok Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Riverside

Address: 27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#139 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £37 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Bangkok Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bangkok Riverside Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing