We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insulted By Restaurant Staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New My House Guest House
Ranked #431 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insulted By Restaurant Staff”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Please be advised that if you stop by for a drink in the restaurant and ask to recharge your phone, you will be treated as though you were a thief trying to steal their precious resources. I asked for permission to recharge my phone so that I could use it on my upcoming flight. The staff member asked me what room I was staying in. I told her I was a first time restaurant guest having a drink and she proceeded to give me a lecture on how it's rude to order just one drink (I had just arrived) and sit there abusing their electricity for the rest of the day. A little presumptuous, no? At no time did I raise my voice or otherwise give her reason to react the way she did. Great way to treat your guests! Going by the other reviews here, though, I'm not surprised.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parasight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    32
    23
    38
See reviews for
3
36
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for almost a week and we really loved our stay. There is a great vibe and it is full of travellers. They show movies every evening in the chill out area where there are cushions and everything to lay back and read or chill out. The food in the restaurant is good, the staff are friendly and the rooms are basic but clean. Very cheap. Great value for money. Only downside was no wifi but there is an internet cafe next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We only stayed here for one night since the day after we were departing to the south of Thailand. We arrived in Bangkok from Cambodia at 9pm and started to look for a guest house near Khao San Road. This guest house is a few streets from Khao San Road and it wasn't really noisy so its maybe a good option if you are trying to avoid staying in Khao San.

The staff was unbelievable rude, the woman in the desk just answered yes/no to all of our questions, but we were quite tired after the trip and they had a triple and a double room (we were 5) for a reasonably good price so we stayed there.

The rooms are pretty basic, with private bathroom and fan, so I won't complain about the room itself. In my floor (2nd floor) there was a terrace and everyone smoked there, although there were a lot of signs of no smoking.

In the main floor, at the time we arrived, a lot of people were watching a movie in a big screen. I think they have this cinema twice a day, so if you want to see a movie or just chill out you maybe can go there. Also you can use internet in their computers, but you have to pay, no free wifi for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noemiantioquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Chiang Mai
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The title and all the other reviews about the staff at this place says it all really! Awful, awful people.
The fan rooms are cheap, but they're placed on the top floor which makes it way too hot to get any sleep.The one saving grace about this place was that I made a great group of friends here, united by our contempt for the clowns that ran the place, amongst other things :)
Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuPizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Although I agree with the other reviewers that this place isn't pretty, it served it's purpose for a good price. All we wanted was a place to sleep that was in the middle of the action. The rooms are sparse (no outlets!) and no towels in the rooms. We didn't book any trips or tours through the hotel either as they seemed a bit more of a rip-off than elsewhere. The location can't be beat though as it's off of Khao San Road (so away from the ridiculous noise) but literally a 5 minute walk. Right outside are some great massage and nail places, delicious, cheap food, and a close walking distance to the river where you can take a water taxi to visit the temples.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesdnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

If you are travelling on a budget it won't get too much better value, $5 per person buys you a twin room en suite with fan. Bit hot in the rooms but is to be expected. Location is excellent with good bars in walking distance and no major noise after around 1am. Staff arnt particularly friendly but no real problems. No free wifi but a/c Internet cafe downstairs (there is a better and cheaper one next door). Stayed for 7 nights and was ideal for the essentials on our budget

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamnotasextourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The manager assaulted us in the lobby. we told him that we were moving into another hotel, he came at my boyfriend and myself with a baton. If you ever visit Bangkok, go anywhere but this place. the are rude and dangerous and will try to take ever dime from you. don't fall for their friendliness. It is fake. I have uploaded some of the pics of the assault on us

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsedwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Sawasdee House
Sawasdee House
#681 of 861 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Banglamphu
Siri Suvan @ Rambuttri Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#89 of 1,211 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Banglamphu
HIIG Hostel
HIIG Hostel
#623 of 1,211 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Banglamphu
Four Sons Village
Four Sons Village
#429 of 650 in Bangkok
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New My House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New My House Guest House

Property: New My House Guest House
Address: 37 Soi Chanasongkhram, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
New My House Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing