We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible employs and zero atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New My House Guest House
Ranked #431 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Horrible employs and zero atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Granted the hotel is located in a lovely street very close to Khoa San road the employs of the hotel are awful. Simple things like leaving your key at the front desk annoys them. They have a sort of "common room" with a tv were they play three movies everyday. I politely asked them if they could play another and the owner's reply was "I never see you eat in the restaurant. You only pay hotel". Also the shower drainage in the bathrooms are horrendous meaning that their is about 2-3 inches of water in the tiny bathroom for a good 10 minutes. They also don't provide toilet paper, you have to buy it! All in all bad employs, no community feeling and very unclean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldyshenanigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    32
    23
    38
See reviews for
3
36
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The only positive quality I can find about this place is that it's pretty cheap, but if you're willing to leave the insanity that is Khao San Road, you can find MUCH nicer for a similar price.
Just a list of some negatives:

Dirty, stained sheets
Bugs crawling all around the floor
Full trash can in the room when we arrived
Very rude staff
No free wifi or drinking water
Mystery gunk on the bathroom/shower floor

I stayed there only one night after arriving in Bangkok at night, and got out as quickly as I could in the morning. (I moved to the Cozy Bangkok Guesthouse in Hua Lumpur and it was incredible, especially in comparison).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

All the employees are unfriendly and not very helpful, so don't expect anything from them then it's okay.
The single room with fan was really warm and dirty. Their where little cockroaches everywhere.

The location is perfect though, in a nice ally near to Khao San rd.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Finding a good budget guesthouse in any major city can be difficult . My house guesthouse is easy and painless.

Rooms are average but no bugs or mold.

They have a very chilled out lobby with 3 movies a day on a big screen TV. Probably the best place to relax away from the chaos and heat of koh San road.

Staff are firm and don't take any nonsense. Most people complain about them , but like most local business owners near koh san road they don't care much for tourists.

Price is great for the location. Don't know if you'll find anywhere cheaper .

Good base for budget travelers

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

i don't recommend to go there.
you need to climb 6 floors with 25 Kg bags
The receptionist is rude with no patience for questions.
Walls are dirty, sheets with staןnes
Do not leave valuables in the room, they take no responsibility

The shittest place in Bangkok

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here because I couldn't be bothered paying for an expensive rip off on Khao San and couldn't be bothered finding the nice place after 30 hours travelling. Common area was alright, it got a bit hot though. No one seemed chatty at all in the day but of a night it was slightly different. Receptionist was abrupt and rude but the travel agent was fine. The hostel itself reminded me a bit of the Hangover 2. Questionable cleanliness of the beds plus a handy mosquito port on the doors so you could wake up with war wounds (what is the point of putting a net on the window?). Fan had one of those annoying key slots but you can fold up and jam in a bit of A4 to get it working. Lots of overly friendly sex tourists roaming the corridors which may put off some people. Location is great though as its situated a minute or two from Khao San. Rooms with shared shower are on the top floors so don't bother if you are drinking or not used to the heat as there's a strong chance you'll die before you get up at 4am

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsp8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This is always my go to guesthouse in Bangkok. You always meet great people to hang out with, it's cheap and a nice place to chill during the day when they show movies. The only negative thing is how hot the rooms get at night with only a fan, but you get what you pay for.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Sawasdee House
Sawasdee House
#681 of 861 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Banglamphu
Siri Suvan @ Rambuttri Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#89 of 1,211 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Banglamphu
HIIG Hostel
HIIG Hostel
#623 of 1,211 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Banglamphu
Four Sons Village
Four Sons Village
#429 of 650 in Bangkok
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New My House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New My House Guest House

Property: New My House Guest House
Address: 37 Soi Chanasongkhram, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
New My House Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing