We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
12
33
29
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
33
29
17
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went back to Bangkok and Chilli. The experience wasn't as nice as last time. We got a different room and this one was even smaller than the last one. We couldn't even pass each other in the room. This time the staff at the desk wasn't very helpfull. 2 of the 3 staff members behind the desk didn't understand English. And when we left there was a strange occurance, we needed a taxi to get to the tour operator and the staff member called a taxi (there were six of us), and then he left the hotel without informing us correctly, 20 minutes later 1 taxi arrived that wanted to take us to the airport. He didn't want to take us to our tour operator because the traffic was too heavy. So we ended up with a very stressy and expensive trip.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

In Bangkok you pay a bit more for your accomodation in comparison with the rest of the country (Phi Phi will be a bit more pricey as well).
Chilli is ok, rooms are small but clean. The place has an industrial look and downstairs there's a nice room where you can hang out. Location is pretty good as well, not too crowded and not far from the action. Service is decent and we found the people to be very helpfull. You can get discounts if you book through airasiago.

So pretty decent but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hostel was very clean, but our room was incredibly tiny. It was a little cramped for two people who both have huge backpacks. We were able to shove stuff under the bed so that was a space saver. We were in room 401 on the top floor and we weren't able to get wifi up that high. We actually had some problems with the wifi. I think they need a second router. We always had to ask them to reboot the router so we could get on the internet. Our room also smelled atrocious and was very hot when we got back to it. There was a loud noise that sounded like it was a water pump of some sort that was constantly turning on and off right next to our room as well. Our friends stayed on the second floor and had a room that didn't smell or the noise AND had wifi access.

The staff are really wonderful and they have a washing machine and a dryer. You can also opt to dry your clothes on the racks on the third floor instead of paying for time in the dryer.

The location is great if you want to be close to Hualampong, the MRT, and Chinatown. Finding the hotel itself can be a bit tricky though because it is at the end of a little alley. While walking to the hotel you always have to pass a group of sketchy looking people who are always drinking beer, betting and playing dominos.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the fourth floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This place not terrible, however it did have quite a few problems.

1. The room we stayed in was by far the smallest one we stayed in during our month long trip in Thailand.

2. The building was located down a dirty alley full of cockroaches

3. Instead of a blanket or sheet we were given an oversized towel

4. The wifi rarely worked

5. We arrived in Bangkok by bus and we had to ask over ten taxi drivers until we found one that had any idea where the Chili Bangkok was (even though we had the address).

It wasn't a terrible experience but you could definitely find better value and we didn't understand why it had such high ratings.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tspwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Chilli Bangkok is a relatively new hostel found down an unlit alley. The private room we had, was very compact - enough space for the bed and little else. You needed to place the key in the slot for power (lights, air conditioning & sockets) so in the heat of the day (and night), the room can be stilfiling on return. We booked here, as it is close to the train station where the train to the Cambodian border departs (at 5:50am) and with a 24hr reception, this was a good option - and for one night, the room size wasn't an issue. Still, it's a bit of a walk to the station when you are carry a heavy backpack...

Room Tip: Rooms are very small - but location is great
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waipounamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews