We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont read this book by its cover....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #441 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont read this book by its cover....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We had just arrived at the train station in Bangkok, and of course we went to the tourist trap number 1 and booked the hotel through an agent at the train station. We saw a brochure at the hotel that showed a clean hotel with a modern twist and lay at a major road. So that we payed an excessive price is fully our fault, but ...
The hotel was on a back street to an alley and not a hotel but a guest house. The beautiful view from the patio that appeared on the folder does not exist at all (it has to be chilli that has made the folder,and thats just rude) it was full of trash cans outside the guest house, did not feel quite ok. The response we received at the reception was very good, for a start. We got the key and went up to the room, we opened the door and the first thing we saw was a cockroach, although the room stank of insect spray, the room was very small and the ac did not work. We decided to leave the hotel that evening and the response this time was not nearly as nice, even though we were clear that we did not want any money back. If u are clear that this is a guest house and not a hotel that the brochure showed maybe u will find this place ok. But despite the brief moment we were there we still ended up with cockroaches in one of our bags.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    29
    16
    19
See reviews for
3
39
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Clean place with very kind and helpful staff. Location is pretty good - only walking distance from Chinatown and the train station. Free coffee was available every morning.

Only downside - rooms are tiny and had no toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Chilli's google directions are wrong. Its says to turn left at Charoen Krung 28 soi nai loet 2. In fact it should read Charoen Krung 37. A minor detail but when your tired, hot & sweaty an important one. Also there are in fact 2 Hualumphong stations !!!! one is the old central station & the other is the new urban railway. My suggestion is the exit the old station at the front entrance cross the road to your left making your way to the new station go down the esculator & go to exit 3, follow the road which turns slighty left Thanon Mahaphruttaram keep going down this street till you see a white bridge on your right the krung 37 is just past this. Very small room only had room for the bunk bed and an ensuite. Cosy indeed

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susushack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The problem I initially had with this hostel is that the address listed on hostelworld is incorrect so when I searched for the location on google maps it sent me to the wrong place. Then it took an hour to find anyone who had heard of the hostel or the road it was on because it wasn't spelt properly. When I finally found a tuktuk driver who knew where it was I realised I would never have found it on my own as it is so tucked away down pedestrian streets. The hostel itself is quite sweet - pretty small. The staff when I checked in were friendly and he let me know they have a couple of computers with free internet which was cool. The hostel was actually alot closer to Hua Lamphong train station than I had originally thought which was good as I was walking there on my own at 5:30am and it only took about 10 mins. The rooms were very small but clean; perfect for me staying one night on my own. The en suite bathroom was really useful as I was getting up so early. The sound proofing is really bad though so you can hear anyone walking by your room or talking downstairs. I would stay again if I was on my own, or if I needed an overnight stay close to the train station

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Smart, modern hostel in Chinatown with good proximity to Hualumphong station. The staff didn't speak the best english but were really helpful all the same and did their best to answer our questions and they also booked taxi transfers for us. The rooms are equipped with aircon but quite small, the double bed took up almost all of the space but luckily there was room under the bed to put out backpacks. The bathroom wasn't bad at all and provided hot showers. Throughout the hostel, everywhere was really clean. Perfect for backpackers who want to dump their bags and go exploring. Lockers are provided downstairs. Problems like poor wifi signal on the higher floors and one plug socket can be solved by sittling in the nice reception area. Free coffee between 7am-10am!
Chilli is hidden down a dirty alleyway and you get quite a few stares from the locals who live down there. There isn't much on the doorstep in terms of places to eat or see until you go directly into Chinatown or other parts of Bangkok. We found it quite easy to get lost so would recommend a map for the area (the hostel provide them).

Room Tip: Ask for a large room if avaliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in this hostel (it's not a hotel!) For just one night and would not recommend.

Location: down quite a long send dingy side street, but conveniently ten mins walk from Bangkok Hualumphong station and 15 mins from the Sky Bar. There's not much in the direct area to see/eat at.

Room: we had a double room and it was absolutely tiny. The wall touched the bed on three sides, leaving us with about a foots width worth of space. No bedside table, nowhere to hang anything, nowhere to put anything. What's more, the only plug socket was over 6foot up the wall near the ceiling - making it impossible to use. Bathroom was ok.

Despite the size of the room, the aircon took over an hour to cool the room properly.

Granted we only paid £20 - but I'd recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieLouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Nestled down a dark alley in Chinatown, this place is clean, secure, and straightforward. It is also fairly quiet. One useful aspect it the proximity to hua lamphong, BTS, and the ferry. The rooms are fairly small, but clean. What makes this place unique is that it's literally off the beaten path. This part of town is relatively quiet compared to most of the guesthouses near hua lamphong. If you're looking for clean, simple, and secure, this place has everything is a decent choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#734 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Silom
New Road Guest House
New Road Guest House
#75 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Silom
Poste 43 Residence
Poste 43 Residence
#458 of 1,132 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluefin Guesthouse
#154 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#150 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Silom
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#27 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilli Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Property: Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Address: 53/15 Soi Charoen Krung 37 | Charoen Krung Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilli Bangkok Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chilli Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing