We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, but really small rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #441 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“clean, but really small rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Chilli Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Hua Lamphong (central station) in a small lane, a bit hidden, but there's a sign on the main street. Getting to popular places like the grand palace is easy, as the Chao Phraya expressboat ferry is just a block away. It's one of the fastest way of transportation as you pass the traffic jams.

When I arrived at the Chilli, a nice guy greeted me and handed me the room key.

My single-room (No. 306) was really small. It's basically a bed and a bathroom, so almost no space to store the backpack. At least it had a working AC. Like other reviews mentioned, the power outlet is located on top of the wall, so quite difficult to reach. Just ask the guy at the reception, he will lend you an extension cable.

The hotel is more like a hostel, so there's free coffee in the morning, safes (bring your padlock), free WIFI and laundry facilities.

Stay here, if you need to get to the central station early in the morning or arrive there late.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    29
    16
    19
See reviews for
3
39
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Difficult to find from airport, taxi didn't know where it was. Booked through agoda, contact number for hostel incorrect so taxi could not call for directions. Difficult for them to find booking at first, no particular welcome and staff seemed ambivalent about us. Room was very small with adjoining bathroom. No sheet to sleep but instead they give you a drying towel material instead. AC ok and wifi average. Clean rooms and bathroom. Average stay, nothing to write home about. Very thin walls!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is awful. Horrible service and mean staff. When I asked the one woman if I could lock up my passport and some stuff she told me it would be fine in my room since I have a single room. At that point I just took it all with me for the day because I didn't trust her now that she knew I had a bunch of valuables.
I slept one hour because of obnoxious men in the lobby area who yelled until morning, and the place is loud in general. Not a place i'd want to hang out. Horrible location for exploring bangkok.
Room sucked. I'm short and still had to sit on toilet sideways because it was so close to the wall my knees hit. "Window" faced into reception so it was loud and I had to just keep the shade down. Shower floods entire room.
JUST GO ELSEWHERE. DON'T GIVE THIS PLACE YOUR MONEY.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney_marie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed here at the start of our month in Thailand, The man on the front desk speaks a small amount of English but always went out of his to help us regardless.
The hotel is in a nice location, not central but good if you want to see a bit more of real bangkok. All the locals were friendly towards us and would laugh when we rolled in at 6am stumbling around.
The rooms themselves are clean, very small but basic, perfect for backpackers. Very very cheap, would recommend to anybody!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Location not good at all. Atleast 1.5 km from nearest station, more than 8-10 km from all happening places in Bangkok. Had problem to find out the place even not many tuk tuk driver knew. Infra not good. No window in any room and suffocating. But good thing about this place is people working there. I had booking in a dorm, since all dorm were full so got a single room. Met many nice people there. May be next time stay in any hostel in Khao San.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanensTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel wasn't difficult to find, the taxi driver dropped us off at the end of the road and we followed the hotel signs down the narrow alley.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable the bathroom was also clean so no complaints from the key requirements. But, the room smelt very strongly of the drains, a sweet sickly, pungent smell. Also the room was tiny, the double bed took up almost the entire room leaving only a small amount of floorspace from the door to the bed where the door to the en-suite is. We were here in the high season but the price of this room was the same as we had been paying for a huge room in the previous hotel, we didn't feel we were getting good value for money.

In addition there are no covers for the bed, just two large towels to wrap up in. Never seen that before! The power sockets are almost on the ceiling, I have a 2m USB cable and my phone just reached the top of my rucksack.

The location was good if you want to get to the train station, but not very good for sightseeing in Bangkok.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We only stayed here for one night so we didn't get too much of an idea of the dynamics of the place, e.g. the bar area, the night atmos, laundry etc etc. But, one night here after a very long time traveling was everything we needed. The rooms were air con'ed with a hot shower and the bedding was relatively clean and comfortable.

The location was reasonably close to china town, which was good for food and the like. More importantly for us it was very close to Hua Lam Pong train station, which, if you're traveling internally or heading to Poi Pet in Cambodia, as we were, it is very handy. I can't really comment more on this as we were there for such a small amount of time. I will say this though, the Chilli Bangkok IS down a small ally way/side street which other reviewers have mentioned, this is not uncommon in Asia and we never felt unsafe or threatened at this location or at any other similar guest houses off the beaten track.

My only complaint would be that the double room which my girlfriend and I had was pretty small, there was no room to store our bags without us tripping over them in the middle of the night. Also, the only socket in the room was at head height with nothing for you to rest your phone on whilst it's charging. Luckily, I had a cunning work around, had I not, I might have been a little pissed off. Go prepared. (I've found that poking the prongs of the plug through the top of an old sock and then putting the phone in the sock before plugging it in works quite well).

In short, great stop over crash pad. Clean, Safe with lovely friendly staff excellent value for money. Take your own map of Bangkok though, their's is rubbish. :P

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#734 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Silom
New Road Guest House
New Road Guest House
#75 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Silom
Poste 43 Residence
Poste 43 Residence
#458 of 1,132 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluefin Guesthouse
#154 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#150 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Silom
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#27 of 1,132 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilli Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Property: Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Address: 53/15 Soi Charoen Krung 37 | Charoen Krung Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilli Bangkok Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chilli Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing