We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but poor TV channel”
Review of Sivatel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sivatel Bangkok
Ranked #61 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place but poor TV channel”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights. The price is good and it's in a nice location which give easy access to BTS. Room is big. Breakfast and lunch were okay but not exceptional and not many variety as well, but taste is good as most of those were Thai food. After 2 days, they changed the TV channels and discontinued some of common channel, thus we don't have any choice except stick to what they had provided. One can argue that you were in Bangkok, so you should be outside most of the time, but it is always nice to stay in the cozy room and enjoy some of your favorite TV programs after long day under the hot weather..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senjamerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    409
    102
    27
    12
See reviews for
369
582
83
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Sivatel for 2 nights on the way home to UK. Selling point was the price compared to others located more centally.

Initially we were unsure as to the location, but once we mastered the sky train we were able to get around easily.

The real plus point for us was the pool in the late afternoon after touring the sites. Perfect place to unwind after a hectic day.

Rooms were perfect for our short stay, large and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. I know it is what you expect in Bangkok, but we felt they always went that one step further.

I have seen reviews critical of the breakfast. We had no problems with the variety and quality.

Would happily recommend Sivatel to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong, australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed in room 2440 at the end of October for four nights. Had a room with a view over the British embassy. There is building work either side of the hotel at the moment, but we were not affected by the noise in our room. We arrived late in the evening and check in was easy and smooth. Were taken up in the lift to the 17th floor. They took a deposit of 2000b for the room for damage (I think!) but whatever, this is asia so things are done differently.

The room was very clean, the bed massive and comfortable and the pillow like sleeping on a cloud. Was great having the extra space of a living area, I always prefer this than being cramped into the one tiny space.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room (got a really good deal through webjet) and had everything you could want. Service at breakfast was great, the coffee kept flowing! It is served on the 8th floor beside the pool.

The pool is fantastic - infinity over looking the Bangkok skyline, simple stunning. Open from 6am until 10pm and is lovely and clean. There is a changing facility and shower next to the pool. We had a late flight out and spent the whole of the day around the pool no problem awaiting our time to go to the airport.

Location was great, a couple of minutes walk to Ploen Chit BTS. You can walk up to the BTS through the Wave Centre which is beside the hotel, very quick and easy. There is a mini mart on the ground floor of the Wave Centre where you can pick up cold drinks etc. There is a pharmacy on the first floor. If you walk the other way from the hotel along Wireless Road you can get the local river boat for around 10b which is a great experience. This will take you all the way along to the Golden Mount (Wat Saket).

I really enjoyed our stay here, for the price we paid it was excellent. Can't understand some of the average views that are posted - what's not to like?!? Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspeanut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Good hotel with good service, great rooms and in a good location being 2min walk from the sky train.

Bedroom, living room both with large flat screen tv, good internet connectivity

Only down point is that the room service menu is limited and breakfast not fantastic ...but when in Bangkok you should be eating out as much as you can.

For business travel you shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room: 2380 2480 2580 Great view of the city from the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the Sivatel based off mainly online reviews. We have some kind of suite room so it's large and comfortable but lacks any style or sense of luxury (apart from size). The hotel is clean and comfortable. Location is kind of blah, but you're near enough to good locations on either side of this station so it's easy to get somewhere.
Don't pay extra for the breakfast. Poor selection, low quality produce and really not worth it - we've paid for it but after one breakfast have gone out for Thai breakfast since then (always a great option if you're into street food).
The staff are friendly, but then this is Thailand, but a little ineffectual (feel bad saying that when they are so nice, but they could definitely invest more in their staff and their training).
The pool is certainly the highlight of the hotel but I don't know if that is enough to win someone over to stay here. If you find an amazing deal, grab it for sure but think of the Sivatel as more of a business 3-star with some suite rooms and an infinity pool and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice hotel, with beautiful views, a big and comfortabel room, kind and helpfull staff. It's just at the border of the center of the city, with a sky train just around the corner. I'll book it again at my next visit, that's for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The room is huge. With seperate living room equipped with Apple TV and the masterbedroom also equipped with its own Apple TV. The bathroom is also huge with corner bathtub and shower, and it even has small wardrobe / walk in closet that can be used as changing room. The bed is really comfortable. And our room has an amazing view to the bangkok city skylines. There is also free wifi with high speed in the room and public area.

Breakfast was awesome with various selections that keep changing everyday. There was asian chinese and thai food, fresh corner, egg station, dimsum corner, continental breakfast corner, etc. And you can also enjoy great view from the table you're sitting in breakfast area.

The swimming pool is awesome, with infinite style facing the city skylines.

Overall wwe had such amazing experience staying there and would definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: In check out try to request the room that has view facing the British Embassy side. I think it has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#41 of 867 in Bangkok
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivatel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivatel Bangkok

Property: Sivatel Bangkok
Address: 53 Wittayu Rd | Lumpini, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#57 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sivatel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in one of the greenest areas of the city and right in the center of Bangkok's newest prime business and shopping location, the hotel offers an oasis-like escape within the city itself. This boutique all-suite hotel offers easy access to Bangkok’s business district, major luxury shopping complexes and foreign embassies, and is only a 5-minute walk from Ploen Chit BTS Sky Train station. The hotel provides 75 cozy suites with smart & modern amenities. Guests can enjoy facilities such as a lush infinity pool offering a unique view of the city’s skyline, a health club and spa for total wellness, and a cafe and restaurant serving scrumptious meals with the finest organic ingredients. Guests will feel good inside out. Sivatel Bangkok offers its distinctive brand of modern Thai hospitality to both leisure and business travelers, ensuring the best kind of experience this city can give. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sivatel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivatel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing