We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #165 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stop by Bangkok often and I've satyed in various area (silom, kao san road, etc) and so far MHC guest house is my all time favorite. it's located on the sukumvit, along a very quite street, within walking distance of the skytrain and many restaurants. The owner, Max, knows the city really well and will help you in every way he can, he welcomes you like friends and makes you feel like at home. the staff is very helpful and friendly, the room we had was roomy and comfy, wifi, A/C, a fridge, a kitchenette and a big bathroom, for 1100 baht ! we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    126
    38
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
126
113
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is definitely a budget option. Very close to the sky train which makes it easy to get around. Rooms are very simple, but the hot water and air conditioning are reliable. Host is very knowledge-able about the city.

I agree with the other review -- avoid the single rooms which have the foul odor and go for a double. Worth the extra money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhc-guesthouse, Owner at MHC-Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
This Guest Mr. Kevin Greenhouse stayed on 2 occassions at the Mhc. I don't really understand why Mr. Greenhouse returned if he was not completely satisfied. On his check in form it states quite clearly I offer a money back if guest are not saisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I found this place and the people very homely. The guesthouse is very well located and the staffs are very helpful. Not to forget Max, the owner of the house; who is a retired pilot and surely has to share some story with you. Don't expect the luxury of a hotel; you need to pull your suitcase up the narrow stairs (Of course in Asia the staffs help you). But you have the luxury of brewing your own coffee and enjoy the Bangkok street life from the hotel courtyard. We were there on the Christmas Eve and Max had thrown a party where we were also invited. Bangkok is wonderful through his eyes.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayantan_Ghati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Located at Soi 28, Sukimvit, MHC is just steps from the Sky Train and the Emporium shopping Mall. The rooms are large, bright and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Do note, as with most guest houses in Thailand, your room is only cleaned if you put in a request.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I know that this is a guesthouse so the standards are not a high as a hotel should be, but after this being my guesthouse experience ill be sure to steer clear of them in the future. I had a single room which had no window and the smell of the room i cant even describe, very very musty and the odor actually stuck to my clothes and suitcases. My room was also infested with mesquitos i actually smacked 10 in a row but still woke up with bites on my face.

If all you essentially need is hot water, wifi, and a place to put your head then this place is fine, i would definietly suggest getting the upgrade to the double then.

the location was very convienent to the sky train just a short walk up the street in front of the emporium.

Room Tip: double room has more space to keep everything in and defintely would have a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank JillyBean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhc-guesthouse, Owner at MHC-Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Big Spender. I would like to remind you that you spent only $25 for your room. Please tell me where on Sukhumvit you can find a room in my location for this price!!!
On your check in at the top of my check in form there is a note which reads "DEAR GUEST YOU HAVE 15 MINUTES TO CHECK YOUR ROOM. IF YOU ARE NOT COMPLETELY SATISFIED YOU RECEIVE A FULL REFUND.
Which hotel gives you this option? If the smell was so bad, why did you stay? Why didn't you complain? I would have given you your money back. Did you just want to complain? Write directly to me with your complain. Next time try the Sheraton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South U.K.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Great spot on very quiet Soi 28 off Sukhumkit main road. Nine en-suite rooms run by Cap'n Max (aka Maxyboy) and his very helpful Thai staff. Easy to get around and just minutes from all the usual tourist hussle and noise. Max will give you great advice for all things around Bangkok. Great value and highly recommended. Google MHC and book direct.
Max's tip #1, Arriving at the airport, go to LEVEL 4 Departures. Taxis dropping off will take you to city on the METER without the airport charge from arrivals. 200 bahts +70 bahts freeway to Sukhumvit area. Easy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phuqnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korcula Town, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

MHC is ticked at the mouth of quite SOI.5 min walk to BTS and bus station,no need to hire taxi.Experiencing problem with THAI spicy food there is great super market just across the road.MAX proprietor,an English gentleman makes sure that you will have memorable holiday in BANGKOK.He mailed to us instructions for taxi driver written in THAI,what road to take from airport to MHC avoiding being deliberately driven around cutting the bill in half.His staff is very kind and fluent in ENGLISH,always ready to provide advice and know-how in scam prone BANGKOK.They gave us detailed advice how to travel chiply to CAMBODIA and took care of our luggage during trip there.Upon return our room was waiting for us giving a feel coming back home.Taking in consideratio what you pay this is really jewel.Thanks MAX

Room Tip: All rooms are large and quite being located in quite SOI
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratko020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Klassique Sukhumvit
#68 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Bangkok 68
#243 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#109 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#286 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#120 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Property: MHC-Guesthouse
Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing