We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, service & location”
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #198 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great value for money, service & location”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Whenever I'm in Bangkok I always stay at MHC. It's in a quiet, but very convenient location on Soi 28 Sukhumvit Rd. The Soi itself is very quiet and leafy, but it's still only a 5 minute walk to the BTS Skytrain stations at Phrong Phom or Thong Lo at Soi 24 or 36, its also very convenient for the Eastern Bus station at Ekamai, Soi 42 and is on the right side of town for easy access to the airport. There are also lots of good cafe's, bars, restaurants and shops, malls...etc on Sukhumvit Rd, all within walking distance or a 2 minute ride away on the BTS skytrain.
Max the owner is a real gentleman and always fun to talk to, and Ka the general manager is full of great ideas and tips on what to see, where to go and more impportantly the best way to get there.
It's a guesthouse, not a 5 star hotel, so if that's what you're after, you will be disappointed. However, if you want a friendly, family run guesthouse that's clean, safe, well located and good value for money, it's perfect. The rooms are all well furnished, have nice bathroom and are clean and spacious, with AC and a safety deposit box. Max also provides free tea/coffee downstairss in the bar/reception area.
I can't see the point of paying hundreds of $ a night for a posh hotel with a shopping mall underneath it when MHC satisfies all of my basic travel needs.
10/10 from me, I've already booked up again for my next stay in Bangkok

Room Tip: The rooms are all named after aircraft, as Max the owner is a retired airline pilot. I've stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    129
    38
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
127
115
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed in MHC guesthouse during 3 nights in November 2012.
Everything was fine : the room (large bed, silent air con, fridge...), the people of the guest house are kind (they booked our night bus travel to chiang mai for us), and it's quite cheap compared to other guest houses of the same quality level
It's not really in the "touristic" part of the town, so you will need some time (by train, taxi, tuk tuk) to get there

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verane_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed for two nights at the MHC which is friendly, clean, and great value. The location is just down the road from a lively section of town with lots of bars (starting at the Robin Hood), and very close to the tube system which is very easy to master. Its a shame that there isnt enough business for the guesthouse bar to open and be full of people chatting but the staff were great.

Max is a character and after we disturbed his night by messing up the safe in the room, he told us one of the funniest stories of our whole holiday, one we'll not forget (he wasnt laughing though). The information max gave us right from getting a taxi at the airport to buying a ticket for the rover boats was all spot on.

If you need to eat try the yola cafe 200 yards away and you wont go wrong. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norrisg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

MHC guesthouse was a nice little guest house tucked away from the hustle and bustle of sukhumvit while still being very close to everything.
There are no staff on at night when you come in, but after ringing the bell, we were welcomed warmly by a friendly staff member.
It is hard to say what makes MHC guesthouse so special, it just feels very homely. I think the fact that it smells nice is what gives it such a warm feel. Of course the rooms are clean and the staff courteous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexwhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

MHC was recommended to me by my best friend. One of the great things about it were instructions to get there from the airport by subway which despite my best intentions and careful planning, I managed to arrive in Bangkok a single woman after dark...their instructions were great. 

My room was clean, bed comfortable and they were very kind. Ka and Max were fantastic and went out of their way to give instructions to site seeing, recommended places to go and delicious places to eat. One morning even Ka spent a large part of her morning helping and phoning for my arrangements to go to Koh Tao. Unbelievable! I liked it so much I am going back to stay there next month. Inexpensive, congenial, clean two blocks away from a fantastic inexpensive subway system and two grocery stores nearby. Absolutely excellent

!

Room Tip: Single rooms do not have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluejeanlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This guesthouse is something special. Its old but very well maintained ans very clean. The bed in my room is so far the most comfortable I have slept in my Asia trip so far. I have a bad back and still slept like a child without any pain when I woke up! The cabinet was also large enough for even longer stay. The owner and staff is also very welcoming, attentive and helpful. They help you with any information and sightseeing. I even got a instruction on email for the taxi driver to drive me the cheapest way from the airport to the guesthouse. Sukhumvit street is a busy street. But Soi 28 is a very quiet and safe street with some old buildings and some new, and a brand new high end high rise office/condo as the nearest neighbor across the street. Its also close to many nice restaurants and the nearest Sky Train station is only about 5-10 minutes slow walk away. I will certainly stay here when I return to Bangkok. You simply don't get a better bed, management or staff even in a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Svein Arne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel - but the real praise must be about the staff.
My bank had placed a hold on my card causing me much panic and distress - the owner, Max, kindly offered to let me call the bank from his Skype account. The matter was sorted in a matter of minutes and the panic was over.
But it was not just the owner who was amazing - a staff member explained to me how to use the sky train in a very simple way - saving me lots of money.
She also recommended a cheaper shooting range than the one I had in mind - also saving me alot of money.
The rooms were lovely and spacious and my room had a whopper fridge.
I also had a 24 hour movie channel – which was in English – showing a lot of blockbuster films, whcih was handy for the odd occassion I was in the hotel.

Wifi and Air con were excellent also.

Room Tip: On the top floor the room was extremely spacious and all the facilities provided were excellent - ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleJoe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Klassique Sukhumvit
#69 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Bangkok 68
#236 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#282 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#60 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#112 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Phromphong
Check Inn Phromphong
#124 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Property: MHC-Guesthouse
Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing