We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good budget accomodation”
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #220 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good budget accomodation”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

great service from reception and staff. large sized rooms and clean. great value for the $. good location also near Sukhumvit road close to transportaion. thee bed was very comfortable and they overall good product for the price

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    134
    39
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
129
120
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The guest house is on a quiet street just off Sukhumvit Rd, close to shops and transport - great location and really good value for money.
The place is clean, the rooms have TV and fridge, there's tea and coffee making facilities in reception and the staff are friendly and helpful - Excellent budget accommodation!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Max is a great guy to chat with and Ka, is an excellent receptionist. Both people will go that extra mile to help you with anything you need on your trip.

The rooms are a good size and the place is clean and excellent value for money. I think it would be very hard to find anything as good for less on Sukhumvit road. If you are looking for 5 star hotel, this guesthouse is not for you, but if you want a place in a great central location near a BTS for very little cost, then I strongly recommend staying at the MHC Guesthouse. When we book our 2015 trip to Thailand we will be booking again with Max and his crew. From the two Tims!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWuk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I will say that this was our first stay in a guesthouse. I agree that its location is good and we had a quiet night. However, after staying at some nice hotels we were rather shocked by this guesthouse. The entry/registration/bar area gives a very rundown appearance. It really needs spruced up. I will say that the woman on duty made us a couple of nice strong gin and tonics, which were appreciated. Room was small, even our "superior" room. Bed was uncomfortable, towel threadbare. Price was low, I guess this is what you get...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jplapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHCGuesthouseMgmt, Owner at MHC-Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Sir, I have checked your booking. You did request a Superior room. Unfortunately, at check in we did not have a Superior room available. It seems there was a bit of a mix up for which we are totally responsible. I do offer my sincere apologizes to you.Your room "Comet" is a double room (22.sq.mets) Our Superior rooms are 28 Sq.Mets.
I would like to correct our mistake by offering some compensation plus a refund. Please get in touch. Again I am so sorry. Max Rathan. Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I was in MCH-Guesthouse two nigth 13-15.3.2014 and I have to say that when you go to Bangkok you do not need to book rooms any other guesthouses or hotels. MHC is the perfect location exp. the BTS station, the Emporium and Soi38 street (night food market) are very close. Excellent transport connections (if you use BTS or MRT)to every corner of Bangkok centry and the surrounding areas. From the airport you can reach it also by BTS Skytrain. And most important thing is thst the MHC guesthouse owners and staff are very very friendly. I highly recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaana69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in Total, 2 nights in the beginning of our journey And 2 at the end. Well i can say without a doubt that this is a decent place to stay. Its not really special or anything, but you get good value for your money.
+ Rooms are clean
+ Quiet at night
+ Close to the Skytrain (wich you have to use though)
+ Helpfull staff

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a great stay. Everything including the breakfast, the neat and clean rooms and the service were great. Thank you Ka for guiding us for local sightseeing and shopping.

We called at 5 AM in the morning after reaching Bangkok airport and were able to book a room and avail early check-in facility.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagandeep_Pahwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#288 of 871 in Bangkok
66 reviews
Bangkok 68
#270 of 871 in Bangkok
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#336 of 871 in Bangkok
416 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#343 of 871 in Bangkok
377 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#354 of 871 in Bangkok
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Property: MHC-Guesthouse
Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing