We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better service than four seasons”
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #210 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better service than four seasons”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I found this place just by walking the area and checking prices for rooms. They had the best price in the area so I stayed and was pleased to discover the tremendous service. The rooms were clean and comfortable although not very large. I was also very impressed that all of the staff spoke nearly perfect English and were very fast and friendly with assisting me in all of my needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter but there is no elevator. Book in advance as they are usually f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    134
    39
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
129
120
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a small guesthouse located near a skytrain railway station for travelling. The room we stayed in was upstairs (two flights of stairs) with no lift. Although the room has a ‘basic’ feel about it, which I suppose reflects the price we paid, it had a TV, air conditioning, safe and fridge. My wife said the room smelt, however, I have a poor sense of smell so I couldn’t pick anything up. I found the bed comfortable, but my wife didn’t like it (the bed was hard) so Max couldn’t win there. The couch was worn and had no support so was uncomfortable to sit in. Its Wi-Fi met our needs although it can be touchy. I found my laptop worked best when near the wall opposite the wardrobe (next to the TV). We didn’t meet the owner Max (we were there for two nights), however, he was extremely helpful regarding taxis, even sending instructions in Thai for the taxi driver. Reading previous reviews, it sounds like it’s a pity we didn’t meet him, however, we were there for only one full day in transit from Europe. The lady working there was very helpful, very cheery and spoke good English. My overall rating of average doesn't appear to correlate with my ratings for location, etc., however, that's because there aren't ratings provided for the quality of the room. I notice, however, that recent reviews give MHC very good/excellent feedback so it may have just been the room we were in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I know MHC Guesthouse very well and visit there quite often. If you are after a very reasonably priced guesthouse in Sukhumvit near Phrom Phong BTS Sky Train (a short 6 minute walk), look no further!

First off, it's a guesthouse so it is intimate and quaint. If you are ok with that, the rooms are well kept, very clean and have everything you might need including Air Conditioning, ceiling fans, a safe for any valuables and comfortable beds.

The staff and manager, Miss Ka (spoken 'Ga') will really go out of their way to help you get the most out of your visit especially if you want to visit tourists spots. They can organise it for you at very good rates or simply offer great tips & advice, never any pressure. You can even leave your bags and travel and pick up later…how good is that!

They have a good range of rooms from small singles to larger suites with more space. Their rooms prices are very cheap by western standards and sometimes they have extra discounts for longer stays etc but they are really already a bargain!

In summary, cheap priced but very good standard guesthouse in a handy and quiet location (very important in BKK!) with easy access to the BTS sky train so you can virtually go anywhere!

Room Tip: I like to stay in the Viscount Room cause it's on the 1st floor! Reya, Shona and the manager Mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The guest house though is small but is sweet and clean!! It is worth the price you pay!!The reception was very warm and quick you do not have to wait for check in.. You have to order breakfast on the previous day .. Overall a very warm and comfortable stay at MHC!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Himanshu3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Location: It has a great location in a relatively quiet neighborhood about 5 minutes away from the Phrom Phong Skytrain station. In my opinion the only better location is Siam square, which is the interchange between the two main Skytrain lines and a lively place.

Rooms: It's not a palace, but the rooms are bright, clean, and comfortable. There are dressers and wardrobes to store your clothes and even a safe for valuables. My girlfriend and i never had a problem sleeping on the beds. There's remote-controlled air conditioning as well. The only rooms in MHC that I would hesitate to live in are the ones on the top (fourth) floor. There's no elevator, and it can get pretty hot up there when the air conditioning isn't running.

Staff: There's a lady who lives in MHC and provides many of the services. I feel bad for not even asking for her name, because she's really an excellent person. The night I arrived I woke her up at 3 am for her to let us in and check us in, and she did so with a smile on her face. She speaks English very well, and always took the time to answer questions and give recommendations. She also provides a laundry service for a reasonable price in a reasonable time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as low as possible to reduce stair climbing and hot temperatures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed (or rather are staying) at MHC Guesthouse for around two weeks and we are thoroughly enjoying it. The named rooms are, for the price, of outstanding quality. Hot showers, plenty of space, furniture for storage, a solid comfortable bed and a fridge. What more could one ask for?

The location is also excellent and the staff are really helpful. Also, Max, the owner, is an interesting character so make sure to have a chat with him. I will certainly stay here each time I visit Bangkok. Perhaps I could wrangle an even better deal out of Max for being a loyal customer... :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great 3 night stay here!

1) Love the beautiful room
2) Very friendly staff
3) good location near Phrom Phong Bts skytrain
4)Good wifi

Take note: You got to walk down the stairs softly and close the door softly as it can easily be heard in the other rooms on the floor.

Over all: Very friendly and helpful staff will assist you as much as possible. Room just nice for a good stay. Will highly recommend this place to anyone who is in Bangkok. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pala123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok 68
#276 of 866 in Bangkok
339 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#289 of 866 in Bangkok
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#335 of 866 in Bangkok
416 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#340 of 866 in Bangkok
375 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#345 of 866 in Bangkok
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Property: MHC-Guesthouse
Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing