We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #211 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The hostel is close to the BTS Stop Promphong and easy to get to the Siam Centre by sky train. Location is good. Staffs are very friendly and helpful?they provide accurate and detailed travlling informtion?you do not need to worry at all about finding ways even when you are a total stranger to this city without any preparation·Although the room is relatively small?if you want to travel with limited budget?this is a very good choice.And luckily?the tv got several Chinese channels to watch?so its easy to kill time at night.Whats more?cheap massage shops are in the neighourhood?enjoy it so much?Will stay again next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycee L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    131
    39
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
128
120
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was City centered, so was easy to find cabs to travel. The train station is walkable from there. For the rate, the hotel has a lot more to offer. Only drawback is there is no one ever at night and it feels kinda spooky to enter as well. Every guest has an entry key to enter the hotel at night as it is locked for security purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishhitmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife got very ill and needed to go to the ER. The staff was very helpful and timely in arranging transportation to the hospital. They ran outside and got a taxi for us while writing down the best hospital we needed to go in Thai so there would be no communication issues. We are very appreciative for their help.

The rooms were a good size, clean and quiet. They have free wifi and a/c. Would definitely recommend this budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The rooms in this place are very clean and for the price reasonably spacious. It is quiet and our check in process was really quick and efficient. It is also easy to find and a short walk to the BTC so well located. The reason I gave 3 not 4 stars is because the shower in our room seemed to be kind of electrified and gave mini electric shocks - which felt pretty dangerous in a watery situation. I meant to raise this with management on the way out but forgot. I am sure this isn't standard though as no one else has commented on it so probably it should get fixed really quick.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth_is_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I found this place just by walking the area and checking prices for rooms. They had the best price in the area so I stayed and was pleased to discover the tremendous service. The rooms were clean and comfortable although not very large. I was also very impressed that all of the staff spoke nearly perfect English and were very fast and friendly with assisting me in all of my needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter but there is no elevator. Book in advance as they are usually f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a small guesthouse located near a skytrain railway station for travelling. The room we stayed in was upstairs (two flights of stairs) with no lift. Although the room has a ‘basic’ feel about it, which I suppose reflects the price we paid, it had a TV, air conditioning, safe and fridge. My wife said the room smelt, however, I have a poor sense of smell so I couldn’t pick anything up. I found the bed comfortable, but my wife didn’t like it (the bed was hard) so Max couldn’t win there. The couch was worn and had no support so was uncomfortable to sit in. Its Wi-Fi met our needs although it can be touchy. I found my laptop worked best when near the wall opposite the wardrobe (next to the TV). We didn’t meet the owner Max (we were there for two nights), however, he was extremely helpful regarding taxis, even sending instructions in Thai for the taxi driver. Reading previous reviews, it sounds like it’s a pity we didn’t meet him, however, we were there for only one full day in transit from Europe. The lady working there was very helpful, very cheery and spoke good English. My overall rating of average doesn't appear to correlate with my ratings for location, etc., however, that's because there aren't ratings provided for the quality of the room. I notice, however, that recent reviews give MHC very good/excellent feedback so it may have just been the room we were in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I know MHC Guesthouse very well and visit there quite often. If you are after a very reasonably priced guesthouse in Sukhumvit near Phrom Phong BTS Sky Train (a short 6 minute walk), look no further!

First off, it's a guesthouse so it is intimate and quaint. If you are ok with that, the rooms are well kept, very clean and have everything you might need including Air Conditioning, ceiling fans, a safe for any valuables and comfortable beds.

The staff and manager, Miss Ka (spoken 'Ga') will really go out of their way to help you get the most out of your visit especially if you want to visit tourists spots. They can organise it for you at very good rates or simply offer great tips & advice, never any pressure. You can even leave your bags and travel and pick up later…how good is that!

They have a good range of rooms from small singles to larger suites with more space. Their rooms prices are very cheap by western standards and sometimes they have extra discounts for longer stays etc but they are really already a bargain!

In summary, cheap priced but very good standard guesthouse in a handy and quiet location (very important in BKK!) with easy access to the BTS sky train so you can virtually go anywhere!

Room Tip: I like to stay in the Viscount Room cause it's on the 1st floor! Reya, Shona and the manager Mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Klassique Sukhumvit
#75 of 858 in Bangkok
699 reviews
Bangkok 68
#242 of 858 in Bangkok
327 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#287 of 858 in Bangkok
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#100 of 858 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Phromphong
Check Inn Phromphong
#138 of 858 in Bangkok
340 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#327 of 858 in Bangkok
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Property: MHC-Guesthouse
Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing