We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting experience all round...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suphan Lake Hometel
Ranked #385 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting experience all round...”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

As obvious a comment as that is, I can't find a better way to describe this stay. We booked online direct via the hotels website, but received no confirmation. My wife (Thai) had to call twice a few days before we departed to BKK and still I needed to email our flight arrival details, which the hotel claimed I never sent them. When we arrived in BKK, there was no pick up as promised, so we called several times and an hour later a minivan finally arrived (beware the seats in the van, which aren't actually fully fixed to the floor). I think the 15 minute drive time advertised is very generous; it took us 25 at least.

On arrival we were shown straight to theground floor room (so no lake view) and were dealt with well. We explored the park with our kids (6 years and 10 months) then went to find somewhere to eat; there aren't to many options nearby so best take advice from the hotel. Mosquitos are a problem, but a coil was provided. The small gardens of the hotel are lovely, especially at night. It's a pretty quiet location, which is a great plus.

The room was pretty basic but clean and functional. A rudimentary minibar with sensible prices. A/C was pretty powerful; be warned! Hot showers a nice bonus. Had a strange enclosed patio area at the back with no furniture in it.

Breakfast was pretty funny; basic and not really for non-pork eaters. Self-serve instant coffee from a kettle; that's the 'Home in Hometel'. eating area has views over the outdoor exercise area of the park, which is nice.

In summary, it was OK; a lot more personable than general airport hotels in BKK and that's it's selling point. The rooms did the job. If the transfers were arranged right and breakfast edible it would have been a much better experience. On that basis, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SillyHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
34
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed in the Suphan Lake Homotel for 5 of my nine nights in Bangkok. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The facility is very nice and the garden is lovely. Breakfast every morning was delicious and served with a smile. When I return to Bangkok in the fall I will definitely be staying at Sufan Lake again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IconTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Ideally located only 10 minutes from Suvanabhum airport and adjacent to park and lakes constructed to commemorate The Queen's 60th birthday.Cool breezes blow across the lakes making the garden area a pleasant place to sit and relax.
Excellent English language is spoken at this family business and their aim is to provide a positive experience for all guests.
I've stayed here 4 times since its opening 8 months ago, the last being in March 2011. The airport pick-up and drop-off service is efficient friendly.
I would recommend this Hotel to all as a first stop in Bangkok or pre-departure point to relax before a long flight.
As an added bonus the already modestly priced rooms are also offered on a monthly rental basis for as little as 4800 B.
Don't take my word.....book in soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menorah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Hidden Gem
This family run hotel is just minutes from the airport and miles from the frantic aspect of travel. For a quick layover, an early departure or an even longer stay, this hotel cannot be beat. The hotel sits perfectly within what appears to be a planned community around a tranquil lake. I think all the rooms have a lake view, which features a path around that was being used by people running or simply strolling the evening we arrived. A children’s playground nearby offered up laughter that would relax even the most battered traveler (us). The gardens are spectacular and relaxing.
The host speaks great English, having been to school in the US for a while. The staff is charming and helpful, the rooms CLEAN and beds are SOFT with lovely white clean sheets.
Don’t be put off by the drive through the area surrounding the airport, and if you miss your pick-up (which we did and was our fault but was included in the room rate) make sure your taxi driver calls for directions, as the hotel is a bit difficult to find.
There are some good street food and some restaurants within walking distance.
Perfect for business travelers, or just travelers of any kind.
Domenica and Michael USA
info as follows:
Suphan Lake Hometel
106 / 999 Soi 31-5 Keharomklo Klongsongtonnoon Ladkrabang Road, Bangkok 10520
Tel: +66 2543 9440-1, +668 1697 5085 Fax: +66 2543 9373

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank devinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potejam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here our first 2 nights after getting into Bangkok and it was exactly what we wanted. The price can't be beat (around $20 a night) and it is quite close to the airport (15 minutes with their free airport pickup). The rooms are very clean and sharp, and quite comfortable, and ours came with a balcony overlooking their small but nicely landscaped garden and a city park. From our balcony and adjacent park there were quite a few species of bird to be seen (~ 30). The park is accessible by going around the block through a market place area. Quite interesting and a genuine Thai experience as this is not a standard tourist area. The hotel staff are very friendly but speak very little English, while the owner/manager is both chatty and understandable. I couldn't think of a better place to spend a few days and get over the jet lag.

Only disadvantages for some would be:
- Not close to anything touristy. This is a Thai neighbourhood!
- Hotel restaurant is overpriced by Thai standards and has few options. We just ate breakast there, as their balcony restaurant is very comfortable in the morning. Everything else we bought and ate in the Thai market.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank potejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Airy Resort
#412 of 852 in Bangkok
316 reviews
Wallada Place hotel
#356 of 852 in Bangkok
36 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#275 of 852 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok 68
#239 of 852 in Bangkok
308 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#318 of 852 in Bangkok
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suphan Lake Hometel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suphan Lake Hometel

Property: Suphan Lake Hometel
Address: 106/999, Soi 31-5, Keha Rom Klao Road | Khlong Song Ton Nun, Lad Krabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suphan Lake Hometel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel near Bangkoks international airport Suvarnabhumi, Suphan Lake Hometel offers the perfect stop over location. Over looking a beautiful park with lakeview restaurant, easy access to Bangkok city using the new sky train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suphan Lake Hometel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing